We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Love the Sully Mansion!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
“Love the Sully Mansion!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at the Sully Mansion, both for visits to our daughter studying at Tulane. Nancy and Guy are thoughtful hosts, who anticipate the needs of visitors and make you feel so welcome in their beautiful B and B. We love the free wifi, the restaurant tips, the sumptious breakfasts and the stories/news that Nancy and Guy tell about this fabulous city that they clearly love. All this and extremely professional from a business standpoint. We'll be back!!
S, J, M, and L.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    65
    19
    16
    14
See reviews for
131
287
62
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manitou Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

In NOLA for 4 days we enjoyed every aspects of Sully Mansion. Located under the massive trees of the garden district it is only one block away from the tram stop heading to the Quarter. This neighborhood is not only gorgeous but also quiet, which made for very restful nights. The rooms are superb and the beds quite comfortable. I like the charm of the old decor but appreciated sleeping on an updated mattress :-) The veranda and private garden around the mansion were perfect for gathering time and chats with friends picking us up. As for the hosts, friendly, smart and gracious, they provided us with a delicious array of treats every morning. I just wish I had enough appetite to try them all!

Room Tip: Try the 1st floor room with private entrance for extra privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Sully Mansion is a beautiful spot, in a great location with welcoming hosts. Located in the Garden District, you get an entirely different--and enjoyable--feel for the Big Easy. Sully is a short walk from Commander's Palace, a few blocks from Magazine Street's developing restaurant and shop scene, and two blocks from the St. Charles streetcar and a quick ride to the Quarter, the WWII Museum or Tulane. Nancy and Guy are perfect hosts...they know the city, it's restaurants and nearby places that are worth a visit. We enjoyed the breakfasts...great variety with a personal touch. We loved the Mansion...beautifully furnished with a virtual art gallery on the walls; the landscaping is wonderful.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rpmc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Sully Mansion is a lovely home. It is clean, well-appointed and full of personality. Nancy and Guy are warm and helpful.
I like the location: away from the rowdy French Quarter but still close enough to restaurants and Tulane, where my son is a student. On a nice day it's an ambitious but pretty walk up to the Tulane or Loyola campus.
I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enthusiasticexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our 3 night stay at the Sully Mansion B and B was one of the best get-away weekends we've had. The B and B is perfectly located in the heart of the Garden District, in a magnificent Sully designed home from the late 1800s, and has one of the most beautiful porches peacefully protected by a magnificent spreading oak. Nancy and Guy, the detail oriented proprietors, served delicious breakfasts and had spot on recommendations for restaurants, bike rentals, transportation options, and Jazz Fest must see musicians. We loved the vibe from the get go, enjoying the other clientele, sitting in the lovely side garden, and starting our days of New Orleans adventures well fed and rested.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSSoloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I can't say enough about Sully B&B in New Orleans - delightful, knowledgable hosts/owners Nancy and Guy; delicious breakfasts; lovely rooms; and the perfect location in the Garden District, two blocks from St. Charles St. and the streetcar for easy access to Downtown or Uptown. Two of us stayed in the Royal Suite for five nights in mid-April for the French Quarter Music Fest, a wonderful, free festival of all genres of music. We rode the streetcar to the end of the line at Canal and Bourbon streets for easy access to the heart of all the festivities. We also loved walking all around the Garden District with its beautiful, stately old homes; dining at Commander's Palace, a short walk from the Sully; and walking along Magazine Street with its eclectic shops and wonderful little restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarciaArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our first trip to NOLA couldn't have been more memorable. We spent 4 nights in Nancy, Guy and dog Gracie's lovely Garden District B&B. We stayed in the spacious suite downstairs and even though it is next to the front door, it was quiet and comfy! Nancy and Guy are wonderful hosts, knowledgeable in all areas of visitation to NOLA & the Garden District; with tips on sites, tours and great restaurant recommendations (both in Garden District and French Quarter). We parked our car and either walked or took the St. Charles St. trolley everywhere (only 1 block away from B&B).
Special features included the honor bar for beer, wine, sodas; large ice machine for a B&B and jug of filtered water in the room daily. The breakfasts were delicious, with many extra baked goods, yogurt parfaits, fresh fruit and breads available to accompany the main dish.
Staying at the peaceful Sully Mansion is the best alternative to hotels in the hectic downtown area/ French Quarter. We plan to return to this wonderful home the next time we explore NOLA!! P. S. Miss you Gracie!! Dave and Janiece

Room Tip: Downstairs suite was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveandJaniece1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#18 of 139 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
#38 of 139 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#22 of 139 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Garden District
Garden District B&B
Garden District B&B
#53 of 139 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 139 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2631 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-5903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by magnolias and live oaks the neighborhood is filled with grand mansions and beautiful gardens. Guests are steps away from the shops on Magazine Street and St. Charles Avenue which puts the French Quarter and Tulane and Loyola universities within easy reach. Rooms range from intimate doubles to grand king suites. Home made breakfast included in rates. Come enjoy New Orleans and live like a local. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sully Mansion b&b
Sully Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing