We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“At home in New-Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Genthod
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“At home in New-Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed two days at the great B&B of Nancy and Guy in the Garden District of New-Orleans. We received a warm hospitality and the place is perfectly furnished and maintained. It's an old house with a soul, lovingly and warmly opened by their owners to their guests. Breakfast, with home made cakes and pastries, is simply fabulous, with plenty of friendly encounters and discussions around the table! The Sully Mansion is close to the heart of the city, which can be easily reached on the historic tramway and, at the end of the day, the comfortably porch and patio offer a heaven of peace to comfortably relax, chat, read and sip a glass of wine!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernarddevalence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    65
    19
    15
    14
See reviews for
130
283
62
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh PA.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

As so many other's have said, this is a wonderful B&B in a perfect location! We loved being able to easily get to the French Quarters (you can walk there in around 30 min. or ride the street car found right around the corner) but we found we especially loved the restaurants and relaxed "vibe" in the Garden District (Magazine St.) right in the neighborhood. Nancy and Guy knows their restaurants & food and headed us toward several amazing places (thanks!!!). The breakfast each day greeted us with some wonderful homemade pastries & goodies which gave us energy for hours of walking. For those of you looking for the "southern hospitality"; although they are wonderful host and hostess, Nancy has a little more of a "east coast hospitality" charm instead. Her upfront manner is what I think people have felt in old reviews but she is quite nice and helpful. The only thing I missed...cookies in the afternoon after hours of walking. Hey, what can I say, homemade cookies at a B&B are my favorite! Would we stay here again? In a heart beat!

Room Tip: The Royal Room is perfect for two friends traveling together for a fun week-end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank offto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper2631, Owner at Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
We are so glad the ladies enjoyed their stay and agree we are in the perfect location as a base for exploring the city. We are both from the east and have lived in New Orleans for eight years and call it our home and do our best to offer the best hospitality we can. We used to offer cookies in the afternoon but found guests tend to enjoy all our great restaurants all day long and they were not eating them, the price you pay for being such a food rich city!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a lovely time again at Sully Mansion. Our room was very comfortable. The front porch is divine and great place to watch things in the Garden District. Breakfast was most enjoyable with a great selection of tasty food and nice conversation with the Innkeepers and other guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was my second stay with Nancy and Guy at the Sullly. It could not be in a more perfect location, as the St. Charles streetcar is a block away for going Uptown, to Audubon Park, or downtown to the French Quarter and Esplanade. At the Sully you are surrounded with beauty, in the restored old mansion itself, on the broad porch gazing at a magnificent huge old Live Oak, walking around the Garden District and enjoying gorgeous old historic mansions. Nancy and Guy are very gracious, knowledgeable, fun hosts, and they make great breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank rubyhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stay in B&Bs all the time (for over 30 years) and I can say without reservation that the Sully Mansion is terrific!!! Great location. Friendly staff. Wonderfully warm and accommodating owners who have a special touch. Clean. Great breakfast. I had a huge case of very expensive and heavy photography equipment and the owners were happy to store it safely in their personal living quarters on the first floor. Nice of them to do so.

Room Tip: Room 6 is quite small but economical. Good for a solo traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

my wife and i spent three days at sully and enjoyed our stay. the convinent location allowed us to leave our car parked. our room was clean and made up while we ate breakfast. the friendly dog made for a homey feel. the street car was a block away and inexpensive. so,stay at sully and leave the car behind.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fogbelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Met a friend in New Orleans and had a great time. The Sully Mansion only made it better. A beautiful home in the Garden District on a quiet street a few blocks away from the street car. So much nicer than staying anywhere near the French Quarter. We stayed in the Royal Room (two queen beds) and although there was renovation going on outside our windows, we didn’t hear a thing. The only negative comment I have is after breakfast on the day we were leaving, when we went upstairs to finish packing, the girls were already in the room taking the linens off the bed. It would have been nice if they had waited until we’d checked out. It felt very intrusive. However, don’t let that sway your decision. It’s a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hope t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,222 reviews
Avenue Plaza Resort
#61 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2631 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-5903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by magnolias and live oaks the neighborhood is filled with grand mansions and beautiful gardens. Guests are steps away from the shops on Magazine Street and St. Charles Avenue which puts the French Quarter and Tulane and Loyola universities within easy reach. Rooms range from intimate doubles to grand king suites. Home made breakfast included in rates. Come enjoy New Orleans and live like a local. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sully Mansion b&b
Sully Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing