We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fully satisfied stay at Sully Mansion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Fully satisfied stay at Sully Mansion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our first to New Orleans; found this beautifully preserved craftsman home in this Garden residential district a very convenience location in the midst of the popular Garden and Cemetery tour destinations, also it's only 1 or 2 blocks from the inexpensive and convenience street car/bus transportation to the French quarter and beyond.

Street parking is also free and unlimited and to top it off, we found the hosts Guy and Nancy to be very hospitable, helpful and knowledgeable; they take their time to prepare uniquely delicious breakfast daily and making themselves available to all guest to ensure that our needs are met. We highly recommend it. Thanks again, Guy and Nancy, God bless!
Samuel,May and Allison,
Los Angeles.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    65
    19
    16
    14
See reviews for
131
287
62
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

The location of this fine establishment was very handy. The home is very pleasant, comfortable, and inviting. Bedroom spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast most enjoyable. We had some questions as to where we wanted to walk which were answered in a knowledgeable and friendly fashion.

The porch and the dog were super!

Why "conflicted" - initial interaction with the landlady was not positive. Her attitude was somewhat between disinterest and mildly abrasive to a concern we had. But the remainder of the stay was excellent and we all got on with it!

I would recommend this B&B to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

My friends and I stayed at the Sully Mansion during Voodoo Fest weekend. This B&B is charming, eclectic and economical. It is situated in the Garden District, a lovely, quiet area of NOLA, away from the noise and action, but it's just a block from the trolley and bus line making it extremely accessible to all parts of the city. Our host and hostess were fabulous. The breakfasts were phenomenal...Eggs Benedict one day, quiche, lemon-ricotta pancakes and lots of home-made bakery and fresh fruits and yogurts. The accomodations were luxurious, but not "frou-frou feminine", the artwork is bold and reflective of the New Orleans jazz scene. We enjoyed every minute and look forward to returning again someday!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room at Sully!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I very much enjoyed our stay at The Sully Mansion. The room upstairs was spacious for two, good size bathroom, lovely and clean and furnishings and art work a delight. Breakfast was more than adequate and talking with our hosts and other guest started the day off well. Nancy was more than happy to arrange a tour of the city for us and direct us to restaurants and transport. Catching a bus in and out of the city is more convenient than driving and finding parking space, Particularly when New Orleans was partying on Halloween. Should we be returning to New Orleans again I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The Carrollyn room was adequate for two people
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmfenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our first visit to New Orleans and the USA, so we were looking for accommodation with charm.
Sully Mansions B&B was perfect. The street scape of the house and garden with the wide lazy verandah was inviting. Inside the entrance was large and perfectly furnished. Our room was the Carrollton. It was furnished nicely with plenty of room for our large suitcases. The queen bed was very comfortable and the ensuite bathroom spacious, plenty of ventilation and natural light. Everything was clean. Freshly brewed coffee and tea was available each morning for an early riser. Nancy and Guy are welcoming each morning and Nancy is the chef who catered perfectly to our savoury tastes for breakfast. Breakfast is in the large dining room and provided continental to hot. Nancy and Guy were the perfect hosts and provided information and suggestions of the local area and New Orleans. Sully Mansions is close to St Charles Street, where the streetcar runs down. This takes you into downtown New Orleans.
We loved the garden district with lots of mansions and wonderful gardens. There are daily walking tours of this district which are popular and they give an interesting insight of the houses and history of this district. At the end of the day, the large front verandah of Sully Mansions, was the perfect place to sit, write post cards, have a cold drink and talk to other guests. Of course Gracie, the four legged host, was also wonderful company. We would go back and would thoroughly recommend this place

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KandD4061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham,AL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

October 29, 2012: We came to New Orleans to run the Jazz Half Marathon on Saturday and we stayed over three days to enjoy the city. Guy and Nancy could not have been more accommodating. They were warm, friendly, and very knowledgeable about the area. Their recommendations for activities were right on target especially the walking tour and Tipitinas. In addition, the breakfasts far exceeded our expectations including but not limited to: Eggs Benedict, quiche, fresh fruit, muffins, and plum pudding! The room was lovely, clean, and quiet. We never heard the other guests even though the hotel was full. The walls are so thick that sound does not seem to penetrate through them. I am confused by a couple of the negative review below because our experience was so wonderful. I did not want to leave Sully Mansion and I hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KKG_Birmingham_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were in New Orleans to celebrate our daughter's 60th birthday and she couldn't have picked a better place. Our hosts were gracious and enjoyable, and couldn't have been more helpful in arranging a catered dinner in their back patio, in suggesting things to do and places to visit, and very especially, restaurants at which to dine. All in all, a most enjoyable visit.

Room Tip: The room on the second floor facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ignacio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#19 of 139 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
#39 of 139 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#22 of 139 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Garden District
Garden District B&B
Garden District B&B
#53 of 139 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 139 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2631 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-5903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by magnolias and live oaks the neighborhood is filled with grand mansions and beautiful gardens. Guests are steps away from the shops on Magazine Street and St. Charles Avenue which puts the French Quarter and Tulane and Loyola universities within easy reach. Rooms range from intimate doubles to grand king suites. Home made breakfast included in rates. Come enjoy New Orleans and live like a local. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sully Mansion b&b
Sully Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing