We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, service and comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Plaza Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avenue Plaza Resort
Ranked #60 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, service and comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Avenue Plaza for four nights during a tour of the southern USA, and were made to feel very welcome by all the staff. The room was spacious, although the bathroom was cosy, and the level of service was excellent. There is a neat pool area at the back of the hotel which is like a little oasis, especially after having been our sight-seeing all day. Complementary drinks are provided inthe garden room, where there is also computer access.
We used the valet parking service for the four days of our stay (street parking is not advisable) so we were able to use the public transport around the city. Unfortunately there is construction work taking place on the trolley system at the moment, so the trolleys do not run past the hotel; instead a bus takes passengers for part of the journey, but this is only a temporary blip and nothing to do with the hotel.
I have read other reports about the Avenue Plaza and can only suppose that guests were not staying at the same place we did. If we were to return to New Orleans we would definitely stay at this hotel as is was lovely

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Parsonknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    272
    80
    25
    17
See reviews for
114
307
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookhaven, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went 4 days for our honeymoon. We had a one room suite and it was wonderful, clean, & the staff were amazing and helpful. The bed was very comfortable also the sofa bed no bars sticking into you. Our stay was amazing and would definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

First of all the staff was the best. other then that everything was some what off. The bath room was so small only one person could barley fit. We had a one bed room, nice bed, nice kitchen, but no way could 4 people fit. The pool looks big but the photo is the whole pool, smaller then our pool, we did not use it. The street car was to stop in front of the resort, that was one of the reasons we picked this location, but its not running and you have to take a bus 6 blocks to catch it. Per the door man it will be down for mounts. We made do, but next time we will stay in the French District. So many great resturants, and things to do. We flew in from Chicago and took the train back in a sleeper car, try it its part of the fun.

Room Tip: becuse of the construction ask for a top floor not on the street, looking at the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blair l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My wife and I what was described as a studio apartment. Adequate for two people and was well appointed for a weeks stay. Staff could not be more helpful, and the valet staff were great for pointing you in the right direction to make your stay very enjoyable. The bathroom was quite small but had the greatest pulsating shower I have ever found. Having visited a number of Wyndham resorts around the USA this one did not disappoint.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room too close to the elevator shafts they can be noisy during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton
Level Contributor
153 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed here for a week in June and were very pleased with our stay. The hotel staff are wonderful , helpful and very friendly! Special thanks to the valet guys who went out of their way to accommodate us, our truck and our motorcycle, which they do not park for you but have to accompany you to the lot each time you want to get it out, which they did always with a smile...the pool area was nice and refreshing and our room was comfortable. We are Wyndham owners and were quite pleased with our first trip and stay in NOLO. This resort is right on the trolley line, but there is construction going on with the track so they provide a bus to ferry you to the trolley further up the line. Easy to navigate, and the valet guys are helpful pointing you on the right direction. Have correct change for the bus..$3 per person for a 24 hr pass!

Green Features: This is a green resort so they provide special recycling bags in the rooms.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husband and I took the kids for spring break. We stayed in a 1 bedroom--it is just big enough for a couple with two small kids. I cannot imagine sharing the space with teenagers or two additional adults. The bathroom is very small and the shower leaked so badly we had to line the outside of the shower stall with towels every time we took a shower. The hotel kept us well stocked with towels rather than move us.

The hotel was working on the front walk in front of the property so two mornings we woke up to the sounds of jackhammers.

The kitchenette was handy when we needed to reheat leftovers and we were able to do some grocery shopping because of the nice-sized fridge.

The hotel is about a $12 cab ride to Canal Street. The hotel is on the street car line, but for some reason, we were regularly asked to depart the street car after just a few stops and asked board a bus or vice versa during our trips. This was a royal pain with two little kids being that you had to cross St. Charles Avenue to accomplish these transfers. Double check to see if this is still the practice before you choose this as your mode of transportation.

If you don't want to go to far from the hotel to eat, there are plenty of walkable options. There is a huge 24-hour Walgreens two short blocks from the hotel. Also about a 4-block walk to shopping on Magazine street.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper do not pick the St.Charles side of the street unless of course you get th...
See more room tips
Green Features: I tried to read the policy, but I keep getting an error code saying that there isn't one available for this location.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCfoodie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Illinois
Level Contributor
236 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We were given a room in this time share as a gift from friends that were unable to use it this year. We've been to New Orleans several times, but never stayed at this resort or in the Garden District. We had nothing invested and had no idea what to expect. The staff at the Avenue Plaza Resort was charming from the word "go"; kind, patient, polite, and so helpful. I love that fact that they continued to ask if everything was OK or if there was anything we needed. The room/apt. was a bit small but very nicely appointed. We love it when there is a separate bedroom with it's own TV. We had trouble getting the loud air conditioner set at a comfortable temperature. We were either warm or cool. We finally settled on being a little warmer rather than too cool. Also, we found the bathroom to be one of the smallest we've ever had. It was not possible for both of us to be in there at the same time. We had absolutely not problems with the internet. There were three elevators. It seemed as though only two of them were working at one time. They also seemed to be extremely slow and a bit noisy.
The neighborhood has a Walgreens, bars, restaurants is very walkable and right next to the beautiful Garden District with huge, ornate, historic, old homes that will take your breath away! It was a short walk to Magazine St. where there are an abundance of bars, restaurants, clothing, furniture, antique and other unique shops.
Unfortunately, the streetcar tracks are currently under construction so we had to catch a bus to take us to a trolley to get to the French Quarter. It was the reverse coming home. Cost was $3.

Room Tip: The higher up they put you, the quieter your room will be and the nicer the view of the city. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#97 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#73 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#83 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Plaza Resort

Property: Avenue Plaza Resort
Address: 2111 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-5320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Avenue Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Avenue Plaza New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing