We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden District location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avenue Plaza Resort
Ranked #68 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonds
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Garden District location”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

The Avenue Plaza is located on the edge of the Garden District a few miles from the French Quarter. It's quieter in this area of New Orleans with some neighborhood restaurants within easy walking distance. You could also purchase RTA passes at the Walgreens to make use of the public transportation system that runs along St. Charles Avenue to get to other areas of the city. The only problem at this time is that the St. Charles streetcar which normally runs right in front stops about 6 blocks short because of construction and doesn't seem to be ready to resume the normal route any time in the near future.

We found the staff at the Avenue Plaza to be very helpful and courteous. The room and the common areas were well maintained and clean. The room itself needs some basic redesign. The space seems roomy enough but there's not enough storage to unpack your bags. The only furniture in the room is a small dining table with 3 chairs. There is no comfortable chair for reading or lounging in the room. There is a small kitchenette with a refrigerator, cooktop, coffee maker, and microwave along with a sink. This came in handy since the bathroom was very cramped so we needed the counter space here for our personal items.

The shower takes up half of the bathroom and is large enough but lacks any shelves for your shampoo and bath soap. Where do you put these items?

The laundry room on the 2nd floor has lots of washers and dryers for guests to use at no charge so we were able to do a load while we were there.

We also took advantage of the Ashley House tour provided by the staff. Plan to take this in during your visit to learn about it's haunted history.


Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WarrenMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    302
    95
    27
    21
See reviews for
131
362
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I absolutely LOVE the Avenue Plaza. Say what you will about the rest, THIS resort is #1. The staff is friendly and caring, the place is clean and secure, it is in the GARDEN DISTRICT so you are away from the drunks in the Quarter at night (but it is a GREAT place to explore in daytime if you don't drink). This will be our seventh year. I have NEVER been dissatisfied with the service, accommodations, or anything at this hotel/resort. The prices are fair - not too high, not too low. This place is an upscale vacation buy for mid-scale money. In all these years, not one complaint from me. Great places to eat nearby, too and RIGHT on the trolley line, too. You can go just about anywhere you'd want to go in the French Quarter/Garden District/Downtown on the trolley for less than a buck. Oh, and the trolleys have been restored and are up and working again.

Room Tip: Try to get above the fourth floor and on the outside of the building, if possible. Just a nicer vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We chose the Avenue Plaza due to owning a timeshare & this location being one of the choices. We are a family so we took in the consideration of nightlife, pool/hot tub availability & the reviews on this site. The pool & hot tub won the vote from our son so we booked it. We called ahead of time to request a higher room and one away from the elevator. There are 12 floors and we were on the 8th floor. We loved the location of our room (817) end of a hallway away from any noise. The reason this resort receives a very good rating is due to the cleanliness of our suite. I did the dust check (sweeping hand over the top of wall hangings, checked the bed, etc.) and it was very clean. We did end up writing a review to the resort about the long time to wait for extra bedding & an unexpected thing we saw in the hallway that took 4 days for someone to address and we received an email back from the manager. The pool was not heated. Being from Maine, we just kept telling ourselves it was like swimming in the ocean. The hot tub was clean & a good temperature. The timeshare meeting is okay. Our person was 10 to 15 mins late due to staffing shortage (per the person that came to our room) but if you stated politely that you were interested in raising your timeshare the person was polite. The roof & the balcony were great areas (good views & relaxing). If you want to use the internet, you may want to go somewhere else. The internet in the room was worse than dial up and in the Garden Room it was slow too. Staff stated it was being worked on but it was the same for 7 days. Picking up the bus (across the street from the hotel) and then getting a street car was a piece of cake & very convenient. Overall, this resort would be recommended to others, with the above information pointed out.

Room Tip: It was helpful to ask for a room away from the elevators (especially if you are a light sleeper) (e...
See more room tips
Green Features: They have recycling; which was a pleasant surprise. They provided a sufficient amount of towels for a week (e.g. family of 3 and showering daily if not 2x a day when using the pool).
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

We've stayed in timeshare accommodations from Arizona to St Kitts. We really liked it here. Obviously,as a city location you won't get all the extras that are available in larger resorts. This resort though had a lot of charm and the people working there are terrific.
It's also a great location for getting around New Orleans because the bus service and trolley service are right on the street.(even though we walked). There are also very good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank urple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I am a Wyndham owner and pay dearly every month for the opportunity to stay somewhere in cities such as New Orleans once or twice a year. First of all, the recent reviews who claim they caught the "trolley" right outside the door are lies. The STREETCAR has NOT been running down here for a while now because they are working on the ramparts. Secondly, the restaurant is overpriced crap and staying here gives you no advantage for getting a table in the on-site restaurant. Beware of people lurking around the hotel lobby, or of "giveaways" such as the cheap crap camping chair during Jazz Festival. They will rope you into a sales pitch and try to put the hard sell on you (even if you are already an owner). I am really pissed off about the restaurant though. Spend your money at one of the fabulous restaurants around town, once the novelty wears off at this place, they will be scrounging for customers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pasogurl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Situated 2 miles from French Quarter but right on the route for trams and buses. We walked into town on a couple of occasions through what is a highly regarded area. Great to visit all the action and then go back to the hotel for a peaceful night. The room was of a very high standard and typical of time share accommodation which of coure it is. Because of this...keep in mind that you will need to endure the normal time share sales approaches...i.e. a special breakfast meeting or a meeting to pick up your prize voucher. Having made this point - there was no serious pressure and my polite refusals were accepted without problem. We would definately revisit this very good hotel in an excellent area..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdyboy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladd M, Resort Manager at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you Birdyboy12 taking the time to provide us such positive feedback about your most recent stay at the Avenue Plaza Resort. Your comments will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort both operationally and with sales. Please let us know if there are opportunities to make your stay better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Just got back from a stay here and everything was wonderful! The location is perfect, away from the craziness and crowding of the French Quarter. But the streetcar stop is right outside the hotel so it is just a short ride away. All the staff were extremely nice and courteous. They always asked how you were doing and would even open doors for you! I was extremely pleased with the fact that they allowed us to do an early check in after a 16 hour drive. We stayed for JazzFest and I would highly recommend this location to anyone coming for subsequent JazzFest's. We were able to take a bus steps from the hotel to the fairgrounds and back. Overall great stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelodyS977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladd M, Resort Manager at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you, MelodyS977 for taking the time to post such kind words about our resort. We take pride in our associates as they do such a fantastic job of taking care of all our guests; we are people taking care of people. I am happy to hear that you found our location so convenient to travel to and from the fairgrounds where the Jazz & Heritage Festival is held. We will share your comments with our staff and look forward to the opportunity to see you next year when you return to New Orleans for Jazz Fest 2015. Again, thank you for your post and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#101 of 163 in New Orleans
237 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#5 of 163 in New Orleans
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Plaza Resort

Property: Avenue Plaza Resort
Address: 2111 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-5320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avenue Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Avenue Plaza New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing