We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but .....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avenue Plaza Resort
Ranked #64 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value but .....”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We live in Louisiana so we are very familiar with New Orleans hotels. Compared to CBD hotels, this hotel is a great value. It is in a beautiful area of New Orleans just a few miles from major attractions. The studio suite is larger than most hotel rooms, and the kitchenette was very nice and included a full size fridge. However, the check in process was tedious. There was one clerk (Ashley, I believe) checking in patrons. She was very pleasant to the couple she was working with, but she was slow. Another clerk came up to wait on us, but she appeared to be preoccupied and disinterested. Two other staff members at the other end of the counter just waited to present the guests a "welcome packet" even though there were 6 guests behind us waiting to check in. Another concern was the extremely small bathroom. There was no space in the bath to keep toiletries, but there was a small counter outside the bath. Our major complaint was the stand up shower which had an awful smell, and the lack of hot water in Room 423. The shower had the smell of a old sour mop, and the odor did not dissipate until the shower door remained open a day. We did call the front desk about the hot water and were told the hot and cold controls were switched. By the time we realized that didn't work, we had cold showers a couple of times.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chinesebandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    300
    94
    27
    21
See reviews for
128
361
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Our first trip to New Orleans ever! Met my brother and sister-in-law for a week of fun and history. Our experience at this place was very good. A comfortable efficiency room with kitchen was made available right down the hall from our travel companions. Comfy bed, very clean, and everything I needed. A friendly, welcoming staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. The streetcar stop was right outside the door making our daily outings so easy. By midweek we pretty much had a lay of the land. Good times, good lodgings!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lucas1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hi Lucas,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such great feedback. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your unit accommodations and our friendly staff. It sounds like you and your family had a wonderful vacation. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

From the moment we entered the lobby we were greeted with big smiles, the entire staff was friendly and helpful all week, anything we asked for, more towels, extra toilet paper and tissues they did not charge extra or deny. They knew how to get around, what to point out to see. I just can't tell you how nice and helpful they all were. As for clean, we thought the pots and pans were brand new, the carpet was vacuumed even behind the night table, I saw when I dropped my glasses back there. We had a studio room two queen beds, very comfortable, the room was a good size, and the bathroom a little small but the stall shower was large. We were three in the room and did not feel crowded. It was a pleasant place to stay. I definitely recommend it . No one bothered us about time shares after the first question; we told them we were not interested We ate in the restaurants close by and even ordered in food, the staff had good suggestions and if they didn’t have a menu they printed one for us. . The tram was across the street, travel was easy we visited the French Quarter where we dined and shopped, one day we took as bus tour around the city and a steamed boat ride on the Mississippi.

Room Tip: we were facing one of the courtyards, it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laser4992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback including transportation information for future guests. We appreciate your kind words regarding our resort staff and we're so glad we were able to fully accommodate your needs while on vacation. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this one bedroom condo. The streetcar makes frequent stops outside your front door, valet parking was extremely reasonable, the rooms were very clean, the front desk was overly nice and we had a great view of the city & the Superdome. If only the elevator didn't make enough noise to make you feel like you were under the streetcar all night. It was loud! No other way to describe it. I would definitely stay again, but I would have to insist on a room that was not next to this cursed elevator.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank therockof89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. We’re glad you enjoyed our resort location to area activities. We are sorry to hear you experienced some difficulties with the elevator noise during your stay. Please know this is not our Wyndham standards. We strive to provide a home away from home to all our guests with satisfactory facilities and accommodations. We will ensure we check on the issue to eliminate any future occurrences and enhance the guest experience. Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxborough, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Just spent a week with a family of four. Plenty of room in a one bedroom and very nice kitchenette. The pullout couch was very comfortable and the bed was great. The staff is first class, very friendly and helpful. It was too cold for us to use the pool but the courtyard looked lovely. The location is great. The street car is right across the street. Its a 15 minute ride to the French Quarter, Arena and Superdome. The Garden district is lovely. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1203. Corner unit overlooking St. Charles street. Some street noise even on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This hotel was just fantastic the rooms were massive and i think ours was just a standard. It had a huge fridge and kitchen, dining table and massive comfortable bed. Very good value for money and location was terrific, we never had to catch one single cab in new orleans. Why pay triple to stay in the french quater when you can stay here which is 5 mins on the street car which runs all night. It's a very safe street, the staff were awesome especially the man on the front door at night he's hilarious. My only complaint was also regarding the elevator noise we were right next to it and i was glad i brought my ear plugs. I would still definitely 100% stay here again but request another room as i am an extremely light sleeper. Thank you for such an unexpected surprise wonderful stay, we love this city. (check in receptionist was a tad rude and unfriendly which was a shame as we were very tired on check in, luckily the other staff picked up the slack for her and were wonderful)

Room Tip: away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tequilasunrise4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your unit space and amenities. We are disappointed to hear your interaction with the one of the front desk staff members did not meet your expectations, as this is not part of the Count On Me service we take pride in. We know that while on vacation it is imperative that our guests are treated well. Please rest assured that we will be taking action to ensure that this is not an issue in the future. We are sorry you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing with the noise from the elevator. We know there is a certain level of satisfaction expected when staying at our properties. Please rest assured we will address these concerns moving forward to avoid any future occurrences of this nature. Again, thanks for reaching out. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, LA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Second time staying here, wife's parents have a yearly timeshare here so we tag along for a few days and have a mini-vacation.

The room this time was much smaller than the one we previously had. Even though was smaller, still a very decent size and nothing to complain about!!

Location is top notch, St. Charles is a safe place and easy to get to. Didn't park a car there but know they have valet service for i think $11 a day? Similar to my last review, we knew to park our car at Harrah's casino (play for 30 min on your card and get 24hr free parking) and hope a cab down to the hotel when we are done with the "tourist" thing. Think the cab was about $10 per trip, including tip so not too shabby.

Hotel ground were well kept. Pool/hot tub area is very nice and good to relax. Especially b/c it was so cold when we went, the hot tub was even more nice!! Plus the heated pool was a plus. The "entertainment" room downstairs is still something special. Coffee each morning for free, couches, computers, games, brochures, etc.

Street car stop right outside, was under construction last time we stayed, is all complete. Was easy to hop on the car and ride down to canal street, then get a transfer to take the canal street car up towards the river.

Place is nice and wont let ya down!! This is our 2nd time staying and im sure we will be back next year!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David5131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback including transportation information for future guests. We are glad you enjoyed our resort location and the property grounds including the hot tub. It sounds like you all had a wonderful visit. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#101 of 162 in New Orleans
236 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#100 of 162 in New Orleans
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Plaza Resort

Property: Avenue Plaza Resort
Address: 2111 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-5320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Avenue Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Avenue Plaza New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing