We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avenue Plaza Resort
Nearby Hotels
New Orleans Marriott(New Orleans)
$243
$229
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$243
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$215
$179
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$392
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$188
$170
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$149
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$158
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
French Market Inn(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$209
$196
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$296
$249
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$185
$161
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (788)
Filter reviews
788 results
Traveler rating
306
323
105
30
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
323
105
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharegarden districtashley housewyndham ownerstrolley stop cafetimeshare presentationstudio roomwyndham resorttimeshare salesmini kitchenstove topwashers and dryersrooftop deckday passfrench quarterpots and panspool and hot tub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
493 - 498 of 788 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Perfect location on St Charles Avenue, streetcar is literally at the front door and takes you directly to Bourbon Street. We didn't eat in the hotel, but Mr. John's seemed nice. We liked walking to the local restaurants (breakfast at the Trolley Stop two blocks from the hotel)
The room was great, had a king efficiency, modern kitchen, marble tile bathroom. I would recommend this hotel to anyone,

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duchessvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback including trolley information for future guests. We are so glad you enjoyed our resort location and the unit accommodations. We look forward to your next visit. Happy Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed here for a week, we were greeted right as we pulled up front, we were helped getting checked in and with or luggage. Street parking is very limited and the streets are narrow so I selected to have the valet park my vehicle in the private secure lot. The lot costs $22.00 a night or owners for $11.76, you can get your car out at any time. To me this was well worth the security and peace of mind to have your vehicle taken care of. Check in was a breeze and the girl up front was very nice and pleasant. We were approached about time share, I said no right at first, no pressure and they never mentioned it again. ( I am already an time share owner and love it). I was given maps of attractions, street car line, food locations etc.
The next morning, we got up early, it was raining and cold, we went right out front and was on street car in front. $3.00 per person for an all day pass, you can ride the street cars all day as many times as you want and I think they work on buses too.
After a very long day we returned to our room, Our room had stove top, refrigerator, dish washer, and was a good size except for the bathroom that I felt was very very small. I am a big person and it was difficult to move around.
Every one at Avenue Plaza was very pleasant and nice, greeted you with a smile. We did have a small issue with one person who worked there, it was taken care of.
all in all this was very good place to stay, clean well kept and quit (except for the people who stayed across from us the last night we were there and wanted to yell and slam doors) there are always people like that were every you go though.
I loved my week in New Orleans and at the Avenue Plaza Resort!!!

Room Tip: stay away from rooms by elevator
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank papa-oklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback including parking and area transportation information for future guests. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in New Orleans while staying with us. We look forward to your next visit. Happy Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This was our fifth visit to Avenue Plaza in 6 months because it is a convenient location, the rooms are nice, and the front desk staff during the day shift and the doormen are very welcoming and delightful. This makes wanting to come back every month to this hotel. The major problem is that this hotel appears to be aging and it only shows when the engineering fails. For example, the toilet continued run all night probably because of a leaking plunger. It kept us up most of the night for four nights. I informed the front desk but they never sent an engineer. It was even worse the month before this when we could not sleep because the heating did not work and we stayed cold every night for three nights. I called the night clerk three times to have it fixed but the engineer never came. The unresponsive engineering department and the night shift at the front desk are the weakest links in the hotel. Unfortunately, I doubt if management will read this review so things will remain the same. Other than this it's a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rochonuscg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Spent a week here....and it was glorious. There were three couples and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Handy streetcars just outside the hotel; they run late and frequently, so no problem getting out in the evening. Good restaurants nearby if you don't fancy travelling far. Enjoyed the coffee available in the mornings, and the comfortable outdoor patio for the smoker in our group. The kitchenette facilities were well outfitted and it was nice to have breakfast in the room from time to time....some of us were slower to get going in the mornings than others. Can't think of anything that wasn't perfect....even the weather was a treat!

Room Tip: We were just steps away from the elevator, but it wasn't a problem.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jem50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time for providing this feedback. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. It’s so great to hear you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the fully stocked unit amenities available. We look forward to your next visit. Thanks again for reaching out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I stayed for five days in a very comfortable and quiet room at this Wyndham Resort. Because it is on the Streetcar line, travel into the CBD and French Quarter is easy. The convention center is within walking distance if you are fit - as is the WWII Museum (worth seeing). Quaint architecture in the Garden District is nearby, and a pleasant way to spend a spare hour or two. Staff were helpful and happy. The kitchen in my suite was excellent. Bathroom was clean and functional. I would recommend this location strongly for anyone visiting New Orleans who does not want the noise and bustle of the French Quarter when trying to sleep at night!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentFrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to reach out along with providing some suggestions for future guests. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the quiet room and location proximity to area activities. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews