We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in NOLA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avenue Plaza Resort
Ranked #68 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First time in NOLA”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple nights. Went to New Orleans for the first time for Monday Night Football. The only bad part of my stay was that my Miami Dolphins lost.

Everyone at the resort was amazing. The hospitality was some of the best I have ever encountered. The location is ideal, being just a couple minutes away from everything. Plus, the St. Charles street car stops right outside and takes you straight to the French Quarter. And the view of the city feom the roof top deck is amazing!

I can't wait to visit NOLA again. And I will most definitely be staying at the Avenue Plaza!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    302
    95
    27
    21
See reviews for
131
362
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oreland, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The moment we arrived( 10:30 fruday 13th of sept.) we were made to feel at home. Obryan the desk clerk was fantastic and had us checked in in less than ten minutes. hotel staff were always cheerful and full of great suggestions on things to do in town.One should bear in mind that this is a wyndham timeshare resort so daily maid service is not figured into the rate. Our one bedroom unit was on the third floor and was spotlessly clean, and much more spacious than i had expected.Again i must comment that the staff at this resort were the most engaging and pleasant ive encountered in a long time. if you go there say hello to christian the doorman par excelance. Gave me the tip of the week recomending jazz in the park for thursday evening. The desk clerk obryan also does evening tours of the ashley house adjacent to the resort. It is reported to be the most haunted house in N.O.Close by is igors the 24 hour laundrymat / bar/ best burgers in the nieghborhood and very entertaining place.be sure to have breakfast at the please u restaurant a few blocks down, say hello to mr. nick the owner.loved the resort, loved new orleans going back many many more times.

Room Tip: anything poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hi Jerry,

Thank you for providing this feedback. It’s so great our friendly staff was able to fully address all your needs. We are so glad you enjoyed the resort amenities and area activities. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimini, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in Nola for 3 nights at the end of our honeymoon and we generally liked this hotel.
We had a small apartment with kitchenette, automatic air conditioning (would have preferred turning it off when needed) near elevators (we were told that so we can't complaint, we slept well because after 15 days travelling around the Us we were too tired even to hear them...)
The only thing I didn't like was that daily room cleaning was not included (had to pay 55$ if you wanted/needed to). However towels were changed everyday.
As for the swimming pool, it's not very big and the spa is maybe too hot but we liked them.
To sum up, it's in a very good position, streetcar stop just in front of it and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near elevators, too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica_Lauteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had a good stay here. It's very close to the French quater. Has a great full size gym. Lots of restaurants around. Room was a great size with a kitchen. We had one bedroom with queen size bed and foldout couch. Only negative a was a man on the front desk that wasn't the most friendly. everything else was good though. Would still return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Always a friendly face and pleasant greeting-every time an employee of the resort sees you! We had a one bedroom unit. It was beautifully done, every space being used. Even the elevators were fast! No complaints. And the St. Charles trolley stops right out front to take you to Canal and Bourbon Streets in the French Quarter. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halloweenfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mableton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a great location for a family in New Orleans! This was my 2nd use of my timeshare, the first was at LaBelle Masion for 2 days prior to going to Avenue Plaza. Great city views from the roof top.

The street car/ trolley is the best way to get around. We thought that we didn't even need a car once we got there. The hotel has several great activities, pool, ghost house for touring. There is a central laundry facility or a time that you can exchange towels. The location was great to take street car/trolley to Audubon Park/Zoo.

The hotel was excellent. We had 2 studios which were a good size for 2-3 people. 2burner stove, microwave, refrigerator. But didn't really use because the food was so good and affordable in New Orleans.

Room Tip: Get room away from elevators No really great views from hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O' Lakes, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great location, nice rooms, but NO CLOSETS in the one bedroom suites??? friendly people, a lot of patience with the "visitors". Just a little weird that there were no closets, my husband ended up keeping the cart for luggage in our room on order to hang up our clothes.

Room Tip: if you pack light, perfect for you, and corner suites are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PapaJohn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#101 of 163 in New Orleans
237 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#5 of 163 in New Orleans
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Plaza Resort

Property: Avenue Plaza Resort
Address: 2111 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-5320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avenue Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Avenue Plaza New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing