We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need in a compact space” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Plaza Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avenue Plaza Resort
Ranked #60 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Everything you need in a compact space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This location seems like it was hotel that was converted into a resort. The rooms were small - but really it was all we needed. If you are looking for a location to cook dinner for your family while on vacation in New Orleans - this isn't it. However - if you're looking for a place that you can make breakfast for your family before going out to experience the city - and then a place to store and re-heat your left overs - this is it.

The pool area is nice - but they have remodeled and the pictures of the pool do not accurately reflect what is there. Its even nicer. It is just different than the pictures.
The property is well maintained. The entire space was just freshly scrubbed and repainted top to bottom.
The staff was friendly and helpful.

If I had to make one complaint - the air conditioning was loud. However - not loud enough to stop us from sleeping. I've read complaints about the hearing the elevators moving - we were near the elevators - and didn't hear it at all.

I listed room service as poor only - because there wasn't any.

Room Tip: request one that over looks St. Charles St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janigrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    271
    78
    25
    17
See reviews for
114
302
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I spent the last week being treated like royalty! Great service, extremely clean, and close to everything, this hotel has it all!! Valet parking is so fast, we never waited more than 10 minutes for our car. Public transportation at your doorstep is a huge plus too!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 12th floor so you are close to the roof top deck!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbeckstrand766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great resort and location. Easy street car ride to the downtown area. The pool area is nice and relaxing. The haunted Ashley house tour was interesting. The room was comfortable but the WIFI did not work rain or shine even though the front desk blamed it on the rain. We had no problem finding street parking a block away to avoid the parking fee. My husband had the best French toast ever at the trolley stop just a block away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willmarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Avenue Plaza was fun! The location was ideal in that you could get to everything from a simple trolley ride. $3 all day on and off. The location is a couple of miles from the French Quarters so that was great especially if you didn't want to be in the hustle and bustle of the quarters. The resort staff were friendly. The bathroom was small but since it was just me and my hubby it worked out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJ5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Avenue plaza resort has a very attentive and friendly staff. Upon my arrival I was scheduled to be in a studio room that was in the rear of the "resort" with not a bad but not a great view so I asked the front desk if they had any rooms available facing the street. She told me that they only had one bedroom suites with the street view and before I could say no problem can I get a studio suite with a better view she informed me that they had the room and she would upgrade to the one bedroom suite at no additional charge "AWESOME". The "resort" was in the perfect location in the nice and peaceful garden district right on Saint Charles Ave with access to the trolley right in front of the resort. No need for a rental car just save your money because the trolley is only $3.00 a person for an all day pass and that includes there simple routed and easy to understand bus system. The trolley dead ends right at Canal & Bourbon street in the heart of all the action and all you have to do is tell the trolley or bus driver where your trying to go and they're very helpful making sure you get there and thats if you need to because the concierge breaks it down as well. Now after you go on Bourbon street and raise all kinds of hell you jump on the trolley right where you got off and go to the peace and quite of your beautiful resort at the Avenue plaza get some rest and do it all over again the next day. I like to go to the party but I dont want to live in it. I could go on and on about this place so I'll just stop here. Hopefully this helps you in making your decision. P.S. I'm not easy to please so trust me.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This resort is a couple of miles from the French Quarter, which is good beacuse it is much more laid back area,and getting down there is easy as the street cars stops outside the door. My wife had a one bed unit. The bed was comfy, the bathroom small but adequate and the lounge/dining/kitchen area was great for a week. We had a problem with the air con but did not realise it for 2 days when reported the guy arrived within 15 minutes, at 10pm, it was fixed within 2 hours (complicated problem but the guy was great).

There is a balcony over the front door andnice courtyard great for sitting outdoors and complimentary cold drinks and coffee were available all day. There was a buffet breakfast one day and a BBQ lunch another. The pool is very small but ideal to cool down in. There is an internet room and wifi in the rooms. There is a laundry in the building and valet parking.

This was a good place to stay but I want to add that the staff - all of them, cleaners, reception staff, valets, security, admin and maintenance people could not have been more pleasant, cheerful or welcoming. They all made me smile whenever I encountered them and there are a lot of them!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelnutGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Friendly staff, clean, beautiful rooms, close to good New Orleans restaurants and a streetcar ride away from the French Quarter or Audubon Park. the streetcar connects to another to go to the Art Museum and Botanical garden at City Park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#94 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#34 of 161 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#84 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#72 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Plaza Resort

Property: Avenue Plaza Resort
Address: 2111 St Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelClick, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Hotwire so you can book your Avenue Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Avenue Plaza New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing