We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avenue Plaza Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
$299
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$240
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$371
$296
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$238
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$381
$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$280
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$233
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$286
$247
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (803)
Filter reviews
803 results
Traveler rating
311
330
108
30
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
330
108
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharegarden districtashley housewyndham ownerstrolley stop cafestudio roomtimeshare presentationwyndham resorttimeshare salesmini kitchenrooftop deckwashers and dryersstove topday passfrench quartersmall kitchenettepool and hot tub
Filter
Updating list...
596 - 601 of 803 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the unit we rented at the Avenue Plaza Resort in New Orleans !
Everything we needed for a great stay was at our fingertips !
This is a time share so there is no daily maid service...but, the staff were overwhelmingly helpful.
The location was right on the Trolley car route....and we could walk right out the front door into the beautiful garden district. We would definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Excellent hotel close to Basin St. right on the trolley route in the heart of the garden district. Easy access anywhere. Hotel is well laid out with a beautiful pool and garden area in the back side. Great gym and reasonably priced spa services.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Enjoyed the renovations. Really nice to have a cooktop. I couldn't connect to internet. I was instructed to walk my computer around the room to find a connection. It's not supposed to be that hard. Staff was friendly & helpful. I could hear the elevator coming up and going down ALL NIGHT LONG. I had the front desk call me a cab every morning and it would take about 15 minutes or more for them to get there. I suppose I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RapunzelProductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

If you read the other reviews here, you will see that even the 1-bullet and 2-bullet reviews rave about the location of this place - right on St. Charles between Josephine and Jackson, thus easy to board the St. Charles streetcar (or the buses that currently run in its place while the tracks undergo renovation) for Lee Circle (WW2 and Ogden Museums) or Canal Street and the Quarter, or for Louisiana Street in the other direction (where there is a Fresh Market grocery for anyone interested). As noted elsewhere, Trolley Stop Cafe is a block away and there is also a Subway nearby and a corner grocery at Jackson that has most of what you might need (ground coffee, milk, peanut butter, snacks, beer, even a small selection of fruit), mostly at marked-up prices, but you can't beat the time saved. Mr. John's Steakhouse is in the lobby - we did not eat there, but we saw plenty of diners there every night.

We stayed a week on a timeshare exchange. The units are renovated hotel rooms with kitchenettes, so if you think you are going to squeeze more than 2 people into a unit, forget about it. However, for a couple like us, it was great. The kitchenette was fully supplied - coffeemaker, toaster, microwave, cooktop, dishwasher, refrig, blender, dishes, glasses, silverware, knives, pots - everything but an oven. There is a table with 3 chairs with placemats for eating. The bathroom is a little small, but certainly OK with a fairly big shower enclosure. Closet is adequate with a safe in it.

The building has a terrifically well-equipped workout room with 3 treadmills, 3 ellipticals, stairclimber, free weights, and at least 15 Cybex machines. This room opens with a room key - other reviews say it is restricted to "owners" and maybe, as an exchange guest, I was considered an "owner," but my key worked all week for the gym and the laundry room. They also have a spa near the workout room, but neither of us made use of that (extra charge, and we had no time). Behind the lobby is a patio area and a great room where there is always coffee and plenty of chairs and tables and couches and two big TV's. There is also a small roof deck that you must climb one flight to access.

To address some of what I see in other reviews: We never saw a roach at any time anywhere (granted, we visited in late December when perhaps they were hibernating). The staff we encountered were terrific - we checked in way early and they accommodated us well before check-in time, opened the door for us and other guests whenever we entered or left, fixed the thermostat when we were not getting enough heat, told us where to catch the St. Charles buses, got us a good taxi at a frightful early-morning hour for our trip home, and were generally friendly and helpful. All the bathroom and kitchenette fixtures appeared to us to be no more than 5 or 10 years old. You can request one midweek cleaning, and there is towel exchange for an hour or more every morning and every afternoon, so there's no excuse but laziness if you have to use towels more than a day or two. They also have recycle bins and a garbage drop-off at the towel exchange area accessible essentially 24 hours.

A tip: We rented a car for a few days and just parked it on the street (Carondelet St runs right behind the Ave Plaza) rather than pay the $20+/day for valet service. I'm sure the valets will tell you "it isn't safe" to park on the streets, but I guess we chose to be ignorant and cheap, and saved a few bucks.

So, if you are expecting the Ritz, or have 3 or 4 people in your party, you'll be disappointed. But if you are 2 people and just want a clean, decent-size studio unit with kitchen in just about the best location in NO, this works just fine.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank F00lishTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were moved here when the other Wyndham Resort was still in renovations from August storm. Not happy at first, as wanted to be walking distance from Quarter. Also, the trolley was not running due to renovations. And the line for check-in on Friday night was long. But that was all the "bad" about this Resort.

The staff were wonderful. Our rooms were spacious and clean. The bed was a little more firm than I like, but still very nice. Closet in bedroom, and small coat closet in hall. Shower in bathroom - no tub. Kitchen had full fridge, which was great for breakfast, snacks, drinks. Ate all lunches and dinners out - so many restaurants we wanted to try all the food. Never disappointed! Neighborhood safe for walking - right in Garden District. Walk to shopping and eating galore on Magazine Street. Check with Concierge before heading out for recommendations and discount coupons. Cheesecake Bistro just up St Charles Street (free pumpkin cheesecake, with purchase of two lunches, was such a hit that we later ordered an entire cheesecake for our holiday dinner at friends' home). Trolley Stop cafe also a great little place for lunch or breakfast.

We stayed a week and did not rent a car. Our cab fare to Quarter or Frenchman Street clubs (best place for music) was $10-12 (extra dollar for each person sharing cab). This is cheap when you see the limited parking, and that it costs $20 to $25 just to park in a lot close in the Quarter.

Room Tip: We had two rooms, both on 8th floor looking down on St Charles St. King beds. Rooms both very quiet. Close to elevator, but still no noise.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LoveToTravel32389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews