We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good location, very nice hotel!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avenue Plaza Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avenue Plaza Resort
Ranked #66 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hammond, LA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good location, very nice hotel!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Location not too near downtown but also not far away. Plenty of things within walking distance pending what you feel like doing (clubs/bars, restaurants, shops, churches, etc). Cab ride to downtown was around $11, not too bad especially if you aren't from here and do not feel like driving and parking, just take the cab as its soooo much easier. We actually live 30 min from New Orleans and had a mini vacation and still took cabs, just easier.

Hotel has some seriously impressive amenities on site. Pool and hot tub, workout area, game room-ish place (was in the "lounge", and only had a wii and no idea where you got games from? Front desk maybe?), and the aforementioned "lounge" was really impressive with fresh coffee each morning.

Valet service was kind of odd. The guys were super nice and polite, but each room is only allowed to valet one car. So if you are in more than one car, good luck. They recommended us parking across the street but said it would be wise to have the car moved by 8am as that's when the city comes out and starts ticketing. No good. We ended up driving to the casino (Harrah's), parking in garage, playing for 30 min and getting free parking and took cab ($11) back to room.

Right next door is Igor's, a 24 hour bar room, but I couldn't hear one bit of noise from there so no need to worry. Just a heads up in case you want a late night! 1/2 block away is Copeland's Cheesecake Bistro, seriously good food!!! Right past that is a Walgreens in case you forgot anything.

The trolley tracks outside hotel were under construction this past week, but odds are by the time you read this, book room, and go, it will all be done.


Rooms were nice and very clean. All sheets were clean and pillows were just fine. Overall pretty nice place in a cool part of town. Def worth checking out!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David5131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    289
    91
    27
    20
See reviews for
124
338
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I like this location on St Charles, it is just far enough out of downtown and the trolley is just out the front door. The rooms a very comfortable and include a kitchen. The staff if very friendly and helpful. They have some great suggestions for close by restaurants and sightseeing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank standingj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cajun country usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Full disclosure: I didn't pay for this room, i attended a convention in N.O. with a time share owner. Arrived by car, had to go around the block to wait for a valet spot to open. Valet was quick, though. I'm paranoid about my luggage so i loaded 4 people's luggage on a cart while the owner checked in. Very nice lobby, fast check in. We got a room on 4. Hallways, elevators were nice and clean, lift was fast. Two room suite with *kitchen*, microwave, fridge/freezer, coffee pot, dishwasher (and dishes!), and a stove. Opened the blinds, the view could have been better, but not bad. Married couple that owned the timeshare got the bedroom w/big screen TV, 3rd guy got the sofa bed and i brought my bedroll to sleep on the floor (why do i get the short straw on these things?) Plenty of plugins for cel phones, laptop, PS3, and another big screen to hook it to. Bathroom was tiny, but nice. No tub, but big shower, which is where my only complaint comes in, those swing out door for the shower? They never work right, and its not like we were having a group shower (lol), but we got water everywhere. I was usually the last to take a shower, so i mopped it up. Climate control ran like a top, though we had to adjust it when we got there. Very quiet, lots of channels on the TV, pool and hot tub were clean, though i never got a chance to use them. Sundeck on the roof, 12 floors up. No wheelchair access to that, so bear that in mind. Gym was well equipped, didn't use that, either, though. WiFi was bordering on terrible, but still ok. I had my laptop and had trouble, someone else in the party had a Nook and reported no problems, so maybe it was me. At the time of the trip, Dec 1 2012, the street cars were being renovated and not running down ST Charles, so that was sort of lame. Valet was prompt with the car when we left, though the desk crew was a bit slow collecting the parking fee. Good times were had by all, would stay again.

Room Tip: Get a room about halfway up facing Downtown or St Charles Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hurricane567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

It is a great value in the Garden District. Streetcar stops in front of the Hotel and is a cheap way to get around.It is a time share property but we were never approached about buying a time share.Staff was friendly and all and all it was a good experience.Room was spacious and included a full kitchen.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J11209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a short trip to New Orleans and had a good time. The front desk was very helpful and the bell staff was superb. The only problem was that the streetcar line directly in front of the hotel was under repair, however we could catch the bus and then connect.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank piglet52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

....I would not stay here again.Its a Wyndham time share property. They rent available rooms to tourists,You are not treated as an "owner".Front desk told me that the coffee/breakfast area and gym etc were for owners.Nothing about that when reservations were made.We used all that stuff anyway but it felt funny.Front desk service was uneven. Some helpful/some not.The property is more like a nice Interstate hotel than a New Orleans resort hotel.It is aging some and hot water was scarce for one day.
A tip off I missed - I learned of the place through an email from Cooking.com!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 9paintcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here a week. After having a negative experience at another Garden District hotel it was heaven to move here. The staff are very friendly, the room is large with a full size kitchen, and it is very convenient to transportation. Additional goodies are themes every day. There is a nice restaurant attached to the hotel and other good restaurants nearby. I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letscruise33914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#102 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#81 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#101 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Plaza Resort

Property: Avenue Plaza Resort
Address: 2111 St Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Avenue Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Avenue Plaza New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing