We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to get around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avenue Plaza Resort
Ranked #65 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Clara, Utah
Level Contributor
245 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Easy to get around”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed at this timeshare after a cruise. After an inside stateroom, the 1 bedroom seemed quite spacious. This is an old building so you can hear your neighbors and noise from the hallway. There is a small grocery at the end of the block that carries wine, milk, etc. There is a good restuarant (Cheesecake Bistro) just down the block. The street car stops across the street so it is easy to get around. We did the tour of the Ashley House that is done twice a day. They have a nice area for coffee, etc. (Garden Room). We arrived in the morning after getting off the cruise ship so we hung out in the Garned Room watching TV, reading and talking to others until time for lunch and our afternoon tour.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DesertGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    300
    94
    27
    21
See reviews for
128
361
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
190 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Avenue Plaza. The location is up St. Charles Avenue, at the border of the Garden District which is quite nice and I recommend the Historical Tour. The biggest problem is the trolley service which is irradic at best. Yes it looks quaint and is nice if it is not packed and comes when you need it. However, the reality is that it can be packed in the mornings and evenings, and they tend to get bunched up so that there will be 3 in a row and then none for a long time. Also there are no benches or awnings to cover you if it rains. When you get on, each person has to pay $1.25 or $3 for a day pass (a good deal) or scan their pass. This takes a long time because the machine isn't very good and often doesn't take some dollar bills or read the legitimate passes.

As for the resort, our king room was nice with a well equipped small kitchen and was quiet. It was not located on St. Charles St. and overlooked the pool, which looked fine but was small and we didn't use because it was cold when we were there. The bathroom was tiny, and only had a small 18" by 24" mirror at best. So don't think about seeing how you look before you go out. Also the shower head is directly over your head, so you will need to bring a shower cap if you don't want to wash your hair that day (they do not provide one). You could hear people in the halls once in a while but that was not really a problem because that was not too late at night or too early.

As for some great things to do in New Orleans. Eat of course. Also, the Jean Lafitte Historical Society's free tour of New Orleans is excellent, as is the Garden District tour by Historical New Orleans Tours. We also enjoyed the Natches Riverboat cruise and the Sculpture Garden in the City Park area. There is also a museum and botanical gardens at City Park, but we didn't have enough time, since we were enjoying the food at Cafe Degas down the block, excellent but pricey. I would use the 91 bus to get to City Park rather than take the St. Charles trolley and Canal St. trolley that everyone will recommend that you take. The Canal St. trolley to City Park only runs every 40 minutes. The one to the Cemeteries runs very frequently but that is the wrong one for City Park.

Room Tip: I am guessing that rooms off of St. Charles St. are quieter, since the trollies are very noisy. Our...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank golfslw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

My sister and brother and I met in NO to celebrate my sister's birthday. The three of us stayed in a one bedroom unit and didn't feel crowded. My sister and I shared the bed (which was comfortable and plenty big enough) and my brother slept on the hide-a-bed. Everything was clean, we didn't notice anything unusual or badly constructed in our room, and the staff was quite friendly (except one guy that we only saw once right before we left). Didn't have any problems with the elevators, and never saw the staff in them. We heard a little bit of construction noise once or twice during the day, but nothing serious. There was a full-length mirror in the bedroom in addition to the one over the sink in the bathroom (other reviews complained about lack of mirrors - perhaps this was in a studio room?). Also had no problems connecting to the internet from our room.

The only real complaints we had were with the water temperature in the shower, and the shower set up in our room. The temperature rarely got above barely warm (although it was not ice cold), and only once or twice did it get anything close to hot. Also, we somehow ended up in an "accessible" room, and there was no separate shower in the bathroom - there were drains on the floor and the shower head was on the wall - not even a shower curtain! It would have been OK except no one else could be in the bathroom if someone else was showering - modesty aside, you would get soaked from the spray! My sister and I usually share the bathroom and one can use the sink/mirror while the other is showering, but this set-up slowed us down when we were trying to get ready and out the door for the day.

We liked the neighborhood - it was kind of nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of the French Quarter. We also really appreciated having the streetcar right outside the door - saved a lot of money in transportation costs! You do need to be a little patient with the timing of the streetcars (especially late at night) and be prepared to stand when it's crowded. Zara's grocery store (a few blocks away) was the best one we found (more selection than the one St. Charles, which I think was Williams Market). Zara's is not a "supermarket," but had a better selection than the other one if you are planning to do any cooking in your room. There were a few restaurants within walking distance on St. Charles, but we didn't get a chance to try any of them (we mostly ate in the French Quarter). There's also a Walgreens nearby (easy walk for an able-bodied adult).

We got a nice little packet from the concierge for a self-guided walking tour of the historic Garden District homes, and this is a great option for the budget-conscious who don't want to pay for a tour. Note that only one home is open for indoor tours, and it's only open on Mondays (New Orleans Opera Women's Guild Home on Prytania St, $7 pp). Lafayette Cemetery is within walking distance and seemed perfectly safe during daylight hours (it closes at 2:30 pm). We rode the streetcar to the end of the line toward the Upper Garden District/Uptown neighborhoods, and if you go at a time of day that's not crowded so you can sit down, it was a great way to see the architecture - we thought many of the homes we saw were more impressive than the ones near the hotel that get so much attention. We took a walk in the residential area at the end of the line and saw some really cool houses.

Highly recommend booking Charles Ritz Enterprises for transportation to/from the airport - same price as a cab but his vehicle is much nicer/cleaner. We were running late on our way back to the airport (and it was at the start of rush hour), but he knew the shortcuts and still got us to the airport in just over 30 minutes. Also: Our mother is a Worldmark owner, and in other Worldmark stays we've been pressured to attend a presentation, but that didn't happen here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MrsCJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed here for a destination wedding 2 weeks ago. On the positive side, the location is great. Its just a short walk to Magazine Street. It's near the trolley and really in the center of the Zoo and the French Quarter. The rooms are nice and clean BUT the only mirror in the room was in the bathroom and could not have been larger than 24 inches. We heard some members of the wedding party had a full length mirror installed so we called and were told there were no more. We had to go out to the elevators to use the large mirrors there!!!!The other surprise to us was that there is no housekeeping service during your stay unless you want to pay 94 dollars extra per day!!! Overall, we found the room comfortable , clean and located well.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This is the second time i've stayed here as a guest of a family member who has a time share. Our rooms were more updated than last year, which was a nice touch. We had to switch rooms our last day, be were moved up to a one bedroom. The studio is perfectly roomy for two people. Very quiet and dark in room for sleeping. Quick ride to quarter on streetcar, when it comes. Otherwise jump in a cab for less than $10. Or go uptown on the streetcar or by bus on Magagzine. (go to Surrey's on Magazine for breakfast. If you like beer at all, visit the Avenue Pub on St Charles for over 20 beers on tap and funky art and balconies) We see a lot more of the city statying here since it's a more central location. Service was just fine. Nice to have a kitchen to use! Check out the roof top deck, nice view of the city. I priced a lot of hotel and B & B's, seems like a very good rate for what you're getting!

Room Tip: Our room this year was on the 9th floor and we saw a great sunset. The rooftop deck is nice no matt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LKS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed a week at the Avenue Plaza and found it to be a perfect location to explore New Orleans. The hotel is located in the Garden District just a quick cab ride to the French Quarter or take the trolley that stops right in front of the hotel. The hotel is quiet, clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Mr. John's Steakhouse is located on the property and offers a great place to eat and have some cocktails. The staff at Mr. John's are some of the greatest people I have ever met! Be sure to say hello to Paul, Manny, Alex, Tom, Desi, his mom Barbara and his dad Ronnie behind the bar. If you are looking for something a little less high brow, try Igors next store. They are open 24/7 and offer washers and dryers...true!

Don't miss the cocktail walking tour with Joe Gendusa. He is a wealth of information about the Big Easy and can get you into places you would otherwise never see. Also be sure to stop in and say hi to Stephanie at Jonnie Whites on Bourbon street. Plan to try some of the best pizza I have ever had at Slice on St. Charles Ave. Stop in for lunch or dinner and say hello to Caroline and Juan at Mia's on St. Charles Ave. Plan a Sunday brunch at La Petite Grocery on Magazine Street and be sure to have a Corpse Reviver #2. Catch the house band at Krazy Korner and walk a little further past the French Quarter and wander down Frenchman's Street, just be careful of any pirates you might see.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Demonsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

The hotel is very nice. The staff always helpful. We love Mr. John's Steakhouse which is just off the main lobby of Avenue Plaza.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flashfried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#101 of 162 in New Orleans
236 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Plaza Resort

Property: Avenue Plaza Resort
Address: 2111 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-5320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avenue Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Avenue Plaza New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing