We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff- Nice place- Economy Priced”
Review of Chateau Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Hotel
Ranked #116 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great staff- Nice place- Economy Priced”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We loved the central location of the Chateau, and it is a nice place to stay as well. The courtyard was our meeting and gathering spot as we were traveling with friends also staying there.
The front staff, vallets, breakfast server, and house keeping was all so nice and friendly. They work hard to keep the place up, and customers happy and directed.
My room didnt have black out curtains and that was a bummer, and the shower curtain fell down on my last day! Is this place perfect, well no it's not. It's old but showing it's age well in a New Orleans kinda way. There are perfect hotels in NOLA but all ers forgivin here cause everyones nice and the keep the place clean. I will for sure consider coming back to The Chateau again.

Room Tip: It's a small hotel and all the rooms I saw were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Love your review! Perfect description of our little property.

We do not use black out curtains on some rooms. Next time you stay, please request a room with heavier shades or curtains. We have been phasing out the older, heavier curtains to a lighter look.

Thank you for taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    261
    130
    78
    75
See reviews for
126
370
52
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I were escaping from the aftermath of Hurrican Isack and stumbled across this hotel. This place seemed more like a Bed and Breakfast than a hotel, which we loved! Everyone was totally accommodating and eager to please. The bed was so comfy and plush and the whole environment was wonderful, and so peaceful and quiet, which was an added plus. We plan to visit again, just because. The cost of the room was more than reasonable. We weren't expecting that either, concerned that hotels might take advantage of the situation. But not this place. It was all a wonderful experience. We definitely have NO affiliation whith this hotel. I'm just speaking the honest truth!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roydkorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Sooo glad we could be your Hurricane Isaac escape! Because the French Quarter didn't lose power, we were able to help locals catch a cool nights' sleep and enjoy a little bit of the Quarter.

Our rates fluctuate according to season and our next discount season is Papa Noel Rates during the month of December.

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and stayed here for our 25th anniversary, room was great, staff was all helpful, courteous and were quick to recommend places to eat that were all great. This was our first time in New Orleans and we had a great time, checking in and out was a breeze and cab was ready and waiting for us to take us to the airport. We walked everywhere and felt safe and secure even late at night. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to New Orleans!! Also if possible ask for room 221 - it was really great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Firstly, we are happy you chose the Chateau Hotel to spend your 25th wedding anniversary. And even happier to hear you enjoyed yourself and would come back!

Thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Sleepless night in a hot room. Shower might as well be a faucet. Front desk put us in an already occupied room and then wanted to argue about it. Mattress also bad, my feet higher than my head. Finally fell asleep at 6am kutdide the covers with head at foot of bed. I can't speak for any other room in the hotel but that's room 105. I won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
I must apologize for your sleepless night at our property. We had been experiencing water pressure issues in that section of the hotel but we are confident we have located the issue and have had it resolved.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Bradford
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just a two blocks from 'Borbon', less from the Spanish Market , (and with parking too!), this hotel has everything! The breakfast is brought to your room, the pool is great and the staff friendly and welcoming.... what's not to like? (prices are good too!)

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, in a beautiful and larhe room - breakfast on the patio outside our roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanGBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reesrvations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for such a kind review! Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

very nice room very good location THE BEST STAFF we were lost in traffic. the desk clerk guided us in turn by turn and upon our successful navigation of one way streets in heavy traffic we were greeted in the street by the valet and bellman. All this for less than we would have paid at a bargain motel ang right in the FRENCH QUARTER. What a lovely courtyard! The roon was quiet and secure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you so much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor!

Glad we were able to guide you in correctly, our streets can be a bit confusing. Come back and see us soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

just back from New Orleans and wanted to recommend this hotel to everyone. its in a great location, very friendly staff, good price for what you get. if i come back to New Orleans i would definatly stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyjamesgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
We hope to see you again soon! Thanks for taking time out to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#92 of 163 in New Orleans
551 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#35 of 163 in New Orleans
2,262 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#66 of 163 in New Orleans
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#47 of 163 in New Orleans
1,741 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Helene
Hotel St. Helene
#118 of 163 in New Orleans
313 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#18 of 163 in New Orleans
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Hotel

Property: Chateau Hotel
Address: 1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Chateau Hotel can enjoy an afternoon relaxing by the pool, set amongst a beautifully landscaped courtyard with classic statuary and fountains. In the evening, the courtyard transforms into a romantic setting for guests to enjoy evening cocktails at the Patio Bar before a night out on the town. The Chateau Hotel is perfectly positioned just two blocks from famed attractions such as Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, the Old French Market and the Mississippi River.We invite you to stay at the Chateau Hotel where you will be treated like royalty in a timeless and intimate setting as a visitor to our exciting city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel New Orleans
Chateau Motor Hotel
Chateau New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing