We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Old New Orleans”
Review of Chateau Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau Hotel
Ranked #116 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Old New Orleans”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

In my many visits to New Orleans, I never had such a unique room. My room opened directly onto the sidewalk through a shuttered door. I've seen many of these old buildings, but had never ventured into one. The room was small, tidy, and outdated - but that's part of the ambiance. Really cool layout with a beautiful courtyard, several balcony rooms on Chartres, an adjoining cottage, and CHEAP VALET PARKING (many of the boutiques and guest houses have NO parking) in a lot just across the street. Creole cottage rooms on the sidewalk have optional adjoining rooms on the courtyard side.

If you want glitz, try the Ritz. If you want to take a trip back in history, you can do it here.

Cool place, nice staff, great location. It's easy to recommend this one for travelers with historic tolerance for the ancient structures.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nedntxk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thanks for posting a review and pictures!

It looks like you were in the Creole Cottage building. To some, this is odd, but to us, its just how some flats are in the quarter now. We are delighted to here you enjoyed your stay with us.

Next time, book earlier and you may be able to request a location!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    260
    126
    75
    73
See reviews for
120
362
50
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

If you are driving into New Orleans, stop at the Louisiana State visitors center at the roadside stop. They have great discount coupons and free phones for making hotel reservations. These discounts are only available if you have the coupon. Our hotel, the Chateau, on the corner of St. Phillip and Chartres had free parking and very reasonable room rates...$69 with the coupon, $79 other nights. Nicely maintained pool. Walking distance to everything. Parking, if available, at other hotel, was $28 or more a night! Lots of smokers in the courtyard around the pool, unfortunately. Other than that, and a slightly moldy smell in the room, we liked it. We'd return. Lillian, at the desk, gives great advice on restaurants and music. Listen to what she says.

Room Tip: We had, I'm sure, the cheapest room in the hotel. There were larger suite-type rooms around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Remi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Our Welcome Center rates start as $69 and are based on availability.

We are currently putting new flooring in the rooms and almost all have been updated with new bathrooms.

Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

If you're looking for comfortable accommodations in a great French Quarter location at an affordable rate, this is the place for you. My priorities were a clean room, comfortable beds, AC, pool and prime location. No other place in the Quarter beat the Chateau in terms of price. This place has traditional spring mattresses, if that is important to you. Our closet space was limited by a mini-fridge, but we were able to work around it. The daily continental breakfast is a nice touch, but don't expect a gourmet selection. My friends and I loved walking through the quaint courtyard every morning and coming home to an air-conditioned room every afternoon. We cooled off in the pool or napped before getting ready for our nights out. The Chateau is across the street from Irene's restaurant, something of a local Quarter institution. It's down the street from the Beauregard-Keyes House and the Ursulines convent, both worth touring.

Room Tip: Our room had windows on the balcony, but they did not open and we did not have access to the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 21Tanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us!

Great pictures! You caught Mr. John's great balcony across the street, he will be so happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The staff was great, friendly and very helpful! The room was small but affordable for being in the quarter. The carpet was not real clean but everything else was. If you are wanting to party and hang out in the quarter this is the place. Great places to eat and fun things to do!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonWhaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
So glad you stayed and sounds like you had a blast! This week we bagan replacing the carpet with ceramic tile and slate. Come back and see us soon!

Thank you for writing a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

If you're looking for historic accommodations off the Main stream but still in the heart of the French Quarter, consider the Chateau Hotel. Recently refurbished rooms have patios overlooking the streets and the pool and courtyard are centrally located in the center of the hotel.

My boyfriend and I stayed in an upstairs, King Room facing the pool and courtyard and it was lovely. Take in consideration the doors are narrower and taller, and the ceilings are 16' with separate shower and toilet accomodations. A Continental Breakfast is all inclusive and can be ordered at bedtime for the next morning. Parking is available and is conveniently across the street with an attendant. You can walk the entire French Quarter from this location.

The Front Desk staff very helpful with that famed Southern hospitality.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for those who want to experience authentic French Quarter accommodations.

Room Tip: Second Floor rooms have balconies that overlook French Quarter streets. Ground Floor rooms can walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Skipperose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thanks for posting pics!

We appreciate you taking the time to write a descriptive review. We are off the mainstream "touristy" parts of the Quarter. The Chateau definitely has a more local feel.

It sounds like you were in the Honeymoon Suite, next time you are here the suite will have a new bathroom!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

A lovely place to stay. A very quaint hotel with a beautiful private courtyard. Rooms are smaller but decent size considering everything in the French Quarter is so compact. They have everything you really need in a room. A shower w/a small tub, a mini fridge, two nightstqnds, a dresser, a desk, a tv & a closet. The bed was very comfortable and our room was very clean. The local newspaper at your door every morning & a small beakfast delivered to your room in the morning if you would like. Onsite valet parking for $20 per day which is cheap compared to the other parking in the area. Hotel staff was very friendly and helptul. Will definatly stay here when we go to New Orleans again. Great times here!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mspunk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Glad to hear you had great times at the Chateau Hotel. Please come back and see us soon!

Thank you for your kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

During Spring break 2012 had confirmed reserved room, not multiple rooms. Came back the evening before departure to find room vacated without prior notice or permission. Found suitcases, which had been moved to another room, packed willy nilly with dirty clothes and street shoes packed in on top of clean cloths. Brochures we collected from the different art galleries we visited were not to be found. Never in our lives have we ever felt so violated by such unwarranted action. Even in communist Russia we were always better treated.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry you feel we "violated" you. You were informed upon check-in of the room move and the upgrade your party received due to the fact we had to move you to a courtyard balcony room on your last night with us.

The Housekeeping Supervisor, who has been with the hotel since 1976, and myself moved your items. When we are faced with moving guests, we always strive to use the highest standard of professionalism.

We did move your party back to the second floor deluxe room after your party stated you would not be able to climb the stairs to your new second floor standard room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#98 of 162 in New Orleans
526 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#36 of 162 in New Orleans
2,249 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#63 of 162 in New Orleans
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#47 of 162 in New Orleans
1,654 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Helene
Hotel St. Helene
#118 of 162 in New Orleans
306 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Hotel

Property: Chateau Hotel
Address: 1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Chateau Hotel can enjoy an afternoon relaxing by the pool, set amongst a beautifully landscaped courtyard with classic statuary and fountains. In the evening, the courtyard transforms into a romantic setting for guests to enjoy evening cocktails at the Patio Bar before a night out on the town. The Chateau Hotel is perfectly positioned just two blocks from famed attractions such as Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, the Old French Market and the Mississippi River.We invite you to stay at the Chateau Hotel where you will be treated like royalty in a timeless and intimate setting as a visitor to our exciting city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel New Orleans
Chateau Motor Hotel
Chateau New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing