We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint hotel with great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau Hotel
Ranked #120 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
528 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel with great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Chateau hotel. Location is ideal as you are 2 short blocks from Bourbon Street and Jean Lafitte's Blacksmith Shop, one of the best bars in NO. 2 short blocks the other way and you are on Decatur Street, very close to Cafe Du Monde and the delicious beignets! As for the hotel itself, my fiancee and I had a room on the ground level which was basic but nice. We were traveling with family, and they had suites across the street which were very spacious and very nice. The staff was friendly the whole time and always accomodating. The only negative if you have a room on the ground level near the pool is the staff tend to congregate there in the mornings for their cigarette breaks, which woke us up a couple of times. Other than that we really liked this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjmoney44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Maybe next time you'll have a suite! :)

Since your stay, the Chateau Hotel has taken action concerning the noise in the carriageway.

Thanks for taking the time to review us!

Sarah I Drake
Reservations Manager
Chateau Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    240
    108
    67
    62
See reviews for
95
321
43
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel on and off over the last 20 years. It used to be an average/cheap place with a great location, a little quirky, but it seems times have changed, and not for the better at Chateau. The last time we stayed here (April 2011) there were too many things that disappointed us. Some of these things could be overlooked, but all together made for a not great experience.

1) They advertised free Wifi - but sadly, the wifi was unusable, had to go to local coffee shop to do business.

2) Parking is expensive and right across the street - which would be fine if the desk guy would radio for your car for you. He said he would, but 20 min later, no car came. We walked across the street and told the valet guys which car was ours and they drove it 12 feet to us - they said the desk guy doesn't know how to use the radio and that happens all the time.

3) They assigned us the loudest, smallest room (115 right across from the office) - this could happen to anyone, someone has to stay there I guess.

4) Room dirty, wallpaper peeling, broken mirror, towels not exactly white.

5) We left 4 items of clothing in the closet and remembered when we got home (the same day). We called and they said they found the clothes and told us to send them a check for $12 so they could mail the clothes to us. We did right away. 3 weeks later we received a beat up box of clothes that were not ours. I called and explained to the desk guy who told me to call the next day, i did, then he told me to call on Thursday, which i did. He then told me that they didn't have our clothes. (???) What the heck is going on at this place? They didn't offer to refund the shipping $ we sent to get our stuff back either.

6) If you're still reading, this is the worst of all. This hotel still uses metal keys, which is fine, except: My husband went back to our room to grab a beverage, he opened the door... only to realize that he was in the wrong room. Mistakenly he entered the room next to ours, using our key. So are all the keys the same? Huge security problem for me.

Pros: Courtyard very pretty, unheated pool nice, great location, breakfast is nice (IF you get the hang tag for your door, which we only got half of the time). The woman who brings the breakfast is very nice.

Room Tip: No clue, chatting on FB with them didn't help
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IsAirren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Rzeszow, Poland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

spent 5 nights here at Easter with my 76 yr old mother in room 227 (very large double room with wonderful external balcony - our request to people watch) while the carpets may be a bit worn, the room had charm and was well stocked with towels and toiletries. extras like a daily continental breakfast, newspaper, a refridgerator (none of which the Ramada Bourbon gave for a higher price) were appreciated. not a chain hotel - felt cozy. the pool, tho small is lovely. perhaps the bar opens up later in the season. you can walk everywhere from here - several times a day. would definitely stay here again having seen the competition. was very comfortable. only drawback no wifi.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatinRzeszow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

Well I am not sure where I need to start. I was very excited when I booked this place because it seemed like a great location and cute and cozy. NONE OF THE ABOVE! I rented the suite up at the top. It's the one when you go all the way up the stairs to the left. Don't get me wrong I understand these places are old but this was way too much.. When we got up to our room there was cobwebs all over. The smell inside smelled like burnt flesh if that is even a smell. I had to call them 3 times to come and see about the smell because it was THAT bad. They had to put "air" cleaners in the room. They had 3 hooked up. They said we could keep them the entire weekend if we wanted, because that is a relaxing vacation. The air didn't work, it was HOT AND STICKY. The bathroom was DISGUSTING. There was hair all over the counter and the towels were stained and nasty. Let me go to the bed. It STUNK so bad that I refused to lay in it. I was actually scared that the sheets were not even clean. LONG story short, I was planning on staying here for 3 days and after 5 hours there I checked out and went to the HILTON, where I had a clean room and NICE people. BTW, did I mention that when I explained to the lady that I wanted to check out because of all these reasons she REFUSED and said I was LYING. I still had to pay 300 dollars because she said now they wont have a chance of getting anyone in the room and I caused them to LOOSE money. NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohmygod60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

We wanted a cozy place to relax. At Chateau you get a more one on one then you do at the big hotels. Donna who brings you breakfast in the morning is the SWEETEST person we have ever met traveling. We had a great stay and we are already talking about going back in May.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmorales1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

I have traveled to NOLA many times and stayed at dozens of its hotels, but now that I have found The Chateau, it will be the hotel I return to again and again. The location is fabulous; in a quieter part of the Quarter but within walking distance of it all and close to Faubourg Marigny. A cinch to get in and out of by car and the free (AAA) parking was very appreciated. I felt well cared for by all of the staff, from the front desk to the valets and maids. Everyone was just plain nice and kind to me, even when I could tell they were having a hectic day. Breakfast was more than adequate. The muffins and danish fresh and warm; the coffee and juice delicious. Donna, who brought it to us every morning is a real sweetie. Our room was upstairs in the interior courtyard (overlooking a nice pool) and was quiet except for our neighbors who partied a tad bit hard one night. But, they were young and apologetic about it so we just smiled, remembering those days ourselves. Our room was very clean and well appointed with the "worn around the edges charm" of the Quarter. There is a refrigerator which came in handy and the beds were unbelievably comfortable. I would avoid the street rooms, though, as I would think them to be noisy. I just could not have been happier with my stay at The Chateau.

Room Tip: Go for the interior rooms on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rokbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

This hotel is in the heart of the city; it's very well taken care for, the rooms are small but tidy and clean, breakfast was simple but lovely, surrounded by flowers, birds and happy people (in particular the very welcoming cook)
I suggest it for a short stay

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hello2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#104 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#40 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#88 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel St. Helene
Hotel St. Helene
#122 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#49 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#69 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Hotel

Property: Chateau Hotel
Address: 1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Chateau Hotel can enjoy an afternoon relaxing by the pool, set amongst a beautifully landscaped courtyard with classic statuary and fountains. In the evening, the courtyard transforms into a romantic setting for guests to enjoy evening cocktails at the Patio Bar before a night out on the town. The Chateau Hotel is perfectly positioned just two blocks from famed attractions such as Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, the Old French Market and the Mississippi River.We invite you to stay at the Chateau Hotel where you will be treated like royalty in a timeless and intimate setting as a visitor to our exciting city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel New Orleans
Chateau Motor Hotel
Chateau New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing