We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, Great Location - Will be back for sure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bon Maison Guest House
Ranked #45 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Bon Maison the week of October 21st, 2013, for 3 nights. It was everything that you read about in the reviews and more. The location cannot be beat - the quiet end of Bourbon Street. The rooms though small were very accommodating. The kitchenette was great for any leftovers from the great restaurants in New Orleans. Overall the place was very clean. Chuck, one of the owners, was very gracious and helpful during our stay. You are very secure in their locked courtyard and we never heard any crowds or loud music. The only interruptions could be a semi-truck that has to pass nearby to deliver products to the numerous restaurants and bars.

Great place. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boydmc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 182 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

It is New Orleans! As long as the Bon Maison is there and has availability, we will continue to stay here. Thanks Chuck and Butch for your great hospitality! This is probably our 10th time. Love it!!! All our friends from Oklahoma stay here. Great guest house

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chuckmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We four Ausiie's that had a great time in NAWLINS as they say there, Bon Maison is the place to be, forget the hotels and Motels, stay here in the French Quarter, in the French home, your own key to the front gate, Very Secure for all , and it is on Bourbon Street, you can walk to everything from here, 5 and half stars here, we will be back again........ Blake

Room Tip: Taxi from Airport not the shuttle, you are right on the edge of all the a action, your own gate key...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nutcracker44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Location,location,location. Bon Maison is in the middle of all the action, but quiet enough to make y ou forget the wonderful craziness of Bourbon. Chuck met us at the gate and helped us with everything we needed. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable, plenty of towels. The kitchenette was perfect. We will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teddybears38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My fiancé and myself, along with our friends, stayed in the two room suite. When we arrived, Chuck was right there to greet us and to help us carry our luggage while the guys parked the car. He was wonderful! He gave us tips for good bars and who had great prices on drinks. The suite was perfect for us! The location of Bon Maison is what sold us....quiet end of Bourbon street. The courtyard is wonderful. We found The Clover restaurant, only across the street, to be a great breakfast spot! It's a little dive place, but the food is great and it's close! We highly recommend The Bon Maison. The price and experience...well worth it! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ssmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were only one block from the nightlife but could sleep without hearing the noise. The rooms are great and the courtyard was an oasis of peace and beauty. There is a friendly all night diner across the street and a
laundromat next door. The price is very reasonable and the owners are wonderful. We will be coming back and recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: Room D is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucile F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Chuck and Bruce were so helpful for our first experience in the "Gay New Orleans" area. Upon our arrival they invited us up to their private quarters for a cocktail and assisted us with plans for our stay. They provided a map of the "best" gay bars and information on places to eat nearby. Having your own concierge for New Orleans is priceless. We stayed in the two bedroom suite and it was on the courtyard and very quite. The courtyard has a beautiful fountain and is filled with flowers and plants. The courtyard itself should be on a tour. I enjoyed having my morning coffee (which they provide in your room) in the courtyard. In the evening, the courtyard can be fun. We met the nicest "straight" couple from Kenya and they asked us to join them for a glass of Malbec wine (he is a bush pilot for the tourist industry in Kenya). Chuck and Bruce live upstairs and have a great security system in place. You will feel very safe and secure. Being on Bourbon Street did not present any problems. In fact it was so convenient if you want to stay in the Quarter. Thanks for a convenient, helpful and secure stay. Robert and Michael from Florence, Alabama

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Cornstalk Hotel
Cornstalk Hotel
#38 of 166 in New Orleans
604 reviews
French Quarter
Lafitte Guest House
Lafitte Guest House
#23 of 142 in New Orleans
571 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Barracks Guest House
Royal Barracks Guest House
#35 of 142 in New Orleans
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
#38 of 142 in New Orleans
171 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 142 in New Orleans
766 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#43 of 142 in New Orleans
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon Maison Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Maison Guest House

Address: 835 Bourbon St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3106
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $130 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Bon Maison Guest House during your next visit to New Orleans! The 1833 Historic Town House and Slave Quarters are located in the heart of the French Quarter on Bourbon Street. Relax in our beautiful Courtyard. Shopping and restaurants are only steps away. All of our updated suites are furnished in New Orleans style, offer Private Entrances, Queen-size beds, Private Bath, Cable, Heating and Air Conditioning, Kitchenettes (small refrigerator, microwave, toaster, and coffee maker), and Iron/Ironing Board. Smoking is allowed in the areas of Courtyard and Balconies only (not in rooms). Accommodations are not suitable for children. No pets allowed. Open year round. Great for small groups! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bon Maison Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bon Maison Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing