We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We always enjoy our stay at Bon Maison nice clean rooms and great hospitality.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bon Maison Guest House
Ranked #45 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Chuck always makes us feel welcome at the Bon Maison, Nice clean rooms and you can access the heart of all the bars and resturants by foot. You never have to drive anywhere. The best place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tupeloboyms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 182 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bin Maison. Rooms are very comfortable. We will definitely be back. Chuck was is very helpful and a gracious host. Our dear friends from Birmingham, AL recommended the Bon Maison and we are glad they made such a fabulous recommendation.

Mike Dameron & John Gosselin
Spotsylvania, Virginia

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grovecub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

The rooms were wonderful. The courtyard was a delight. The staff was friendly and helpful. All in all a great place for a great price.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wreko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Just returned from another stay at Bon Maison during French Quarter Fest. Chuck is a great host and we enjoyed our daily conversations with him. The room was very pretty and the courtyard where we have our morning coffee is lovely. The birds (parakeets) and fountain give a delightful sound. Having a location right on Bourbon, but down in thequieter end, is perfect. We look forward to our stay next year

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Chuck and the assistant manager were as nice and helpful as they could be! The room was beautiful, authentic New Orleans, and right on Bourbon Street, minutes from everything. The courtyard was gorgeous and easily accessible. There was coffee, sweeteners and creamer with a working coffee pot, VERY important in my book! The beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean, the water in the shower was hot, and the water pressure was great, I would ABSOLUTELY recommend Bon Maison to anyone I know planning a trip to New Orleans!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie34678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

I travel to New Orleans several times a year. I have stayed many times at the Bon Maison over the last five years, attracted to the location (Bourbon Street and the gay section) and the relatively reasonable rates. There has been a recent and sad decline in both the property and the management, so much so, I would not stay there again, nor can I recommend it to any of my friends.

I love the general sense of decadence and decay that pervades the French Quarter- but this place is in ruins. The interiors are filthy, with an inch of dust over most everything. I had to wear shoes inside the room, otherwise my feet would be black with dirt. The cute little kitchenette has mold in the grout, and spilled food in the refrigerator. The mattress smells funny, the linens have stains, and I have found personal items from previous guests in my room.

The shower head was broken, and I had to get a new one myself. The air conditioner looks and sounds like it has never been serviced, and makes more noise than a diesel engine. My neighbors' drain backed up with raw sewerage, and they had to take showers in our place until the drain was fixed: the next day!

The "maid service" is a guy who will change your towels if you ask him, but doesn't do anything else. He was drunk by noon each day and would make passes at the guests- offering "special room service". Make sure and pay for your room in something that gives you a good record (credit card or check) because they lost my deposit once, and you never know if they are sober enough to keep track of the money.

I have started staying at other places in the quarter, and have had excellent experiences with both cheaper and more expensive places. This is not the "French Quarter experience", this is just a poorly run guest house in it's fast decline.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaywolford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonMaison, Owner at Bon Maison Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2011

Dear Future Guests:

Contrary to this recent review, we at The Bon Maison Guest House pride ourselves in providing our guests with the best accommodations possible during their visit to New Orleans. We offer clean rooms, personalized service, and an incredible location on Bourbon Street in The French Quarter.

We assure you that if anything during your stay is unsatisfactory, we will address the situation immediately. If you have any questions or concerns please contact us.

Sincerely,

The Bon Maison Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

I have yet to stay at this hotel; however when I called to book a room, the attendant was extremely rude. I thought about it and called back to ask to for his name and to speak to a manager. He hung up on me. Therefore, instead of a simple apology that would have been sufficient, I am posting this. I will also tell all friends/co-workers to NEVER book here!!!

Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
5  Thank weltiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Cornstalk Hotel
Cornstalk Hotel
#43 of 166 in New Orleans
604 reviews
French Quarter
Lafitte Guest House
Lafitte Guest House
#24 of 142 in New Orleans
571 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Barracks Guest House
Royal Barracks Guest House
#36 of 142 in New Orleans
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 142 in New Orleans
766 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Lakeview
Oakview Bed and Breakfast
Oakview Bed and Breakfast
#29 of 142 in New Orleans
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon Maison Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Maison Guest House

Address: 835 Bourbon St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3106
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $130 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Bon Maison Guest House during your next visit to New Orleans! The 1833 Historic Town House and Slave Quarters are located in the heart of the French Quarter on Bourbon Street. Relax in our beautiful Courtyard. Shopping and restaurants are only steps away. All of our updated suites are furnished in New Orleans style, offer Private Entrances, Queen-size beds, Private Bath, Cable, Heating and Air Conditioning, Kitchenettes (small refrigerator, microwave, toaster, and coffee maker), and Iron/Ironing Board. Smoking is allowed in the areas of Courtyard and Balconies only (not in rooms). Accommodations are not suitable for children. No pets allowed. Open year round. Great for small groups! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bon Maison Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bon Maison Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing