We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping there is impossible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #29 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2010

At first sight, when we entered the room, we found it huge and quite comfortable. It was room 713, a corner room. There is a safe, a small fridge and a microwave. Then we realised that if we left the curtains open, everyone using the parking opposite the building could see into the room so we closed all the curtains and left for a walk. When we came back and went to bed, we heard a noise and in fact there are 2 huge things for the airco probably just opposite the window (see my photos). These stop only during the day and start again at night so we had this noise all night long, with some vibrations too, a real nightmare. On the second day, they started around 21H30. Then there is this small fire alarm in the room which also makes some noise from time to time. Not the best nights I have ever had so if you go to this hotel, ask to be away from this side of the building. The hotel offers free wifi but the connection is not stable so you have to reconnect several times and it’s really slow. (connection lost +/- every 10 to 15 minutes) Housekeeping is cleaning the room so quickly that our bins where not emptied and there were still some crisps on the carpet near the beds.
Otherwise the hotel is close to the French Quarter, there is a CVS on the corner where you can get something to eat and to drink. We took a cab from the airport to the hotel: 33 dollars for 2 persons and it took only 15 minutes so it’s worth the price.
Breakfast is really not good but I suppose that it’s because I’m European … I prefer to have fresh croissants than having these pancakes that we usually eat for desserts in the afternoon instead of having them at breakfast.
That’s not the first Hampton Inn that I try, again I’m disappointed and really prefer the ‘classic’ Hilton hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Londinium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,977)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,778 - 1,784 of 1,978 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2010

We enjoyed several days at the Hampton Inn in New Orleans earlier this year. The hotel was great with nice rooms and a very good breakfast. The service at the hotel was excellent...especially the valet and bell service. They all made us feel at home. The hotel location is also pretty good. However, with our younger children, we found it not quite close enought to the French Quarter to walk. Therefore, we still drove most places. This is the only reason we might stay elsewhere next time. However, if your business will keep you more on the west side of the French Quarter or north of the convention center, this hotel would work very well.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texas_Traveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

From the time we were greeted by the front desk, we were made to feel like a valued guest. We arrived at the hotel a bit early and had to check our bags. We requested a room on a high floor and got it. There were no negative remarks to our request or going in the back room to discuss. When we finally got to our room, it was clean and larger than I would have guessed for a Hampton.( front desk staff member called to see if everything was ok). The breakfast area is located in the 4th floor dining area as well a computer and large screen TV. The hotel also has free wi fi throughout the hotel. Breakfast is the typical Hampton Buffet Breakfast. There is a gym on this floor also but I did not use it. Parking is costly, we did not rent a car. We took a cab which is $33.00 flat rate to the city(plus tip). Cabs are plentiful in front of the hotel if you need a ride to the airport. I think there is a Shuttle for $20.00 per person from airport, since there were two of us, it was cheaper to use a cab. Hotel is located 2 blocks from Canal Street..cross it and you are at the beginning of the French Quarter. There is a CVS on the corner to pick up odds and ends. On week days the hotel opens up to an office building with shops and fast food places to eat on the second level.. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveling_Lady_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Enjoyed a great stay at the Hampton Inn Downtown New Orleans. The location was great - very close to Bourbon street, but without all the noise and craziness. The manager's reception on Wednesday's was beyond all expectations - nice spread for appetizers and drinks. Would highly recommended and plan to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinyFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We wanted to be in a conveniently located hotel and not have to move the car once we got there. The Hampton Inn near the French Quarter was just right!! We had a park-and-stay package that was worth every penny. The hotel is just a few minutes walk to the French Quarter and all the terrific dining options in that area. Can quickly walk to the casino and to many of the museums. The trolley line is right outside. The buffet breakfast was very good with lots of selections. The staff was so friendly and helpful. They tried to anticipate your needs and questions. Next time we head to New Orleans this will be our stop

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamcog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

This is my second visit to this Hampton Inn, The first was on business, this one with my wife.

The down side is the expensive valet fee, but when you consider where you are and what the lot's charge it is not bad, just a bit pricey. I was able to book a stay and park rate so this offset the price.

The service is very good, from the doormen to the front desk.

Being a historic building the layout has a nice vibe, the rooms are not cookie cutter, but rather charming.

I would like to see housekeeping clean the carpets better, but that is the only thing I can point to as an issue.

The location is great, very close to everything and the staff is great to point out things to do,

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 16weekayeartraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We stayed at this location for two nights while traveling for a wedding and weekend getaway.

The location was easily found by our GPS and the hotel only a few minutes walk straight down the street from all the action of Bourbon St. But being across Canal we did not experience the crazy noise of Bourbon. (Turn right out of the hotel lobby and you are on the heart of Bourbon in 2/10 of a mile) The only parking associated with the hotel is valet service, but is about the same price as all other hotels in the area. The valet was always very prompt and courteous. (Though I found it odd the valet was not tall and always left our seat way too close for me to get into the car!) Check in was rather disorganized. The clerk could not find our name and then they had reassigned us from the pre selected room to a very poorly laid out room where the elevator lobby looked right into the room. After some persistence and argument with the clerk, and threatening to invoke the 100% Guarantee, we finally got a hold of the manager who moved us to a smaller but much better located room. Still not the service I expect as a HHonors Diamond member.

There is a small but nicely decorated, inviting lobby with a small front desk. They have a large nicely appointed common area. (Breakfast area) on the 4th floor that is only accessible to guests but is open 24/7 with coffee, tea, and fruit. Fresh cookies were available each evening at the front desk. The hotel has a non-typical layout as it is a historic building. Each room is somewhat different it seems.

The hotel does not have a pool, but that is not a problem given we were not expecting one. They have a small gym, but we did not have the opportunity to check it out. They do not really have a business center but have one computer and printer in the breakfast area. The hotel has free internet access for guests in the common areas and rooms. We found it to be of acceptable speed.

The rooms are typically decorated, and comfortable but a in need of updating, but were clean. The beds are acceptable. They have large but old style CRT TV's with sufficient channels. The climate control works and you can leave the blower motor on for white noise while the climate control is still functioning. The room had no discernable noise from nearby rooms. Even though our second room was on the 5th floor, the second set of windows on the room kept out the majority of the noise, but as with any city hotel, you could hear some traffic. I imagine higher rooms have less noise. Room included a work desk (though you could not see the TV from the desk), microwave, fridge, and chair / ottoman. Some rooms have fold out couches. Bathrooms are well equipped with plenty of storage and counter space, but rather dated. Some rooms have a tub / shower combo and others have a shower only. The blow dryer in the room was a bit of a pain since you had to hold a spring loaded handle to keep it in the on position. The first blow dryer broke, but maintenance quickly brought up a temporary one and then replaced the built in one that day.

Of course this location lends itself to quick and easy access to the street cars, Bourbon Street, the French Quarter, and even Jackson Square. The night time walk from the heart of Bourbon to the hotel was well populated and felt safe. (Of course always watch out in any big city!)

The breakfast area appeared to have plenty of seating in the morning, but we never had the breakfast....decided to eat out one day and slept in too late the other. The day we looked in they had typical Hampton breakfast, scrambled eggs with cheese, biscuits, sausage gravy, waffle maker, pastries, cereal, juices, coffee, etc. They did not have the "on the run bags: with an apple, muffin, cereal bar, water, and mints as it was the weekend, but I am sure they have those on the weekdays.

The staff was cordial, though the one night desk clerk must have been new as he did not seem to have his act totally together.

The real highlight of the staff was the bellman Bryan. He was absolutely great. Provided great late night dinner, breakfast, and lunch recommendations whenever we asked. He really seemed to enjoy his job and as lifetime local really liked to share tips about his hometown.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcsanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#64 of 166 in New Orleans
1,480 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $121 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing