We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #28 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2005

We had 8 people travel to New Orleans for a reunion in November, 2004 and this was a great choice! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful-they gave us adjoining rooms as well as travel directions to the plantations we wanted to see. The continental breakfast is more than rolls and coffee: hot entrees every day, with fruit and cereals galore. The rooms were large and very clean. The location is 2 blocks from Bourbon Street and the Quarter, and within walking distance to the casinos and riverboats. It also is right on the St. Charles streetcar line. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would return there ourselves!

7  Thank Rosenbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,023)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,909 - 1,915 of 2,023 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2005

We recently stayed at Hampton Inn from Jan 31, 2005 to February 5, 2005. The lobby is very classy, and the receptionists are courteous and professional. The elevator could only be operated with your room key, which makes you feel safe and secure.

The room we reserved was a King Study; however, we were upgraded to a King Study with Whirlpool Tub. When we checked the room, we found out that we got a corner room on the 9th floor. The room was incredible. There are four huge windows that give you a great view of the city. The windows are double insulated; therefore, you will not hear any noise from the outside. The room includes a study table, a sofa, and a chaise lounge. The bed is nice and comfortable. The bathroom is huge with a Whirlpool Tub that could fit two people. They also offer free internet service in your room

The breakfast buffet at the Carondolet Room is great plus. The breakfast table has an abundant array of food. They have muffins, breads, fruits, cereals, eggs, sausages, bagels, and king cake in honor of Mardi Gras. They also have coffee, orange juice, hot tea, and hot chocolate.

The gym is also clean with machines that actually work. They all seem to be new.

The hotel location is a great plus. There is a food court connected with the hotel that serves lunch Mondays to Fridays. The streetcar also stops in front of the hotel. The hotel is only 2 blocks from Bourbon Street. There are a lot of restaurants that are within walking distant. There is also a bank connected with the hotel and a drugstore/supermarket (Walgreen) is just a few blocks away from the hotel.

If you are staying during Mardi Gras and you need to leave the hotel during the parade, fear not because you will be able to leave the hotel.

Overall, this is a great hotel and much kudos to the people who works here.

  • Stayed: February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank maximus217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2005

This was my first trip to New Orleans and was not sure where to stay, but after reading the high reviews on the Hampton Inn - French Quarter I decided to give it a try. I arrived at 11 a.m on Monday the 24, after returning to port from a cruise. I was aware of the 3 p.m. checkout time but decided to get a try anyway. The front desk was extremely helpful and allowed us to check-in early. The front desk suggested that we attend the Managers reception. The reception consisted of beer, wine and a great bowl of red beans and rice. The room was nice and roomy, very clean, and the service we received from the front desk was excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel.

8  Thank KyMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2005

I've been to New Orleans twice in the last two years and stayed at this hotel both trips. After a disasterous first night stay at the NO East Hampton Inn in Feb. of '03 I moved to the downtown location for the remainder of my stay. No knock on the first hotel, but it is way out on the outskirts of town, near the Six Flags park. I was in town for the first parade weekend of carnival, before the big rush, and I wanted to be near the French Quarter. Hampton East is a long and expensive cab ride from the Quarter, and on busy nights during peak season cabbies were reluctant to go all the way out there for one fare.

The downtown Hampton is just two short blocks walking distance from Canal and Bourbon Street. A great place to stay if you plan to hang out in the Quarter or watch the parades as they come up and down Canal. The rooms are clean and quiet and the service was adequate. I also liked the complimentary breakfast, which is a step above typical Continental breakfasts that I've had at other Hampton Inns.

For the price it couldn't be beat. If there was only one criticism I would say that being ACROSS Canal from Bourbon Street (Carondelet actually turns into Bourbon Street when it crosses Canal) it can be a challenge getting across Canal when parades are in progress. Not a major issue but I though I would mention it.

  • Stayed: February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tehuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2005

We stayed here twice during January 05....Great service. Nice rooms..The king delux suite was really nice (had a living room plus a desk area)..A great breakfast (free) plus a boxed lunch every day and a paper delivered to your door for free. Add to this baked cookies at the desk every evening and you have it all. The rooms were spacious with old world charm (huge windows- tall ceilings and beautifully decorated) with high speed internet in your rm for free....The location was great. We were one block from Bourbon street and all the activities and only a few blocks to the riverwalk....It was on the trolly line if you needed to go any further but for us it was central to everything and we could walk to most rest's and attractions...Will stay again if in town...

10  Thank Briarwood010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
634
Reviewed January 21, 2005

Great location and reasonable price. The only problem was that the air conditioner in the rooms was not able to keep the room cool. I stayed two nights and after the first night I asked for a different room. The staff was helpful and politely granted my request. The second night was better, but during the day the room was kind of muggy. Full disclosure, I was visiting during the first week of August. Maybe the air conditioner will be able to manage the heat in less brutal weather. I plan to stay at the same hotel this coming March.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2004

The previous excellent reviews are still accurate. We spent 3 nights here the first week of December, and the hotel is just as good as our first stay here about 4 years ago. The entire staff was great from the moment we arrived, and throughout our entire stay. Our room was a large corner room overlooking the street, yet very quiet. The Manager's afternoon cocktail hour was one of the best we've ever had, with beer, wine, soft drinks and included a hot soup with all kinds of crackers, which was great enough to be our dinner the day we arrived. The breakfast buffet also was great, with a wide variety of items, and two hot dishes every day. which varied depending on the day. The days we were there included eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, and french toast.

The only caution about the hotel is that some of the rooms are not as large and bright as the one we had. The first room we were offered was very small and overlooked rusty cooling towers of the building next door, with almost no sunlight. When we pointed out to the front desk that we were there for three days and needed something more cheerful, our room was changed without any problem.

We definitely would stay here again.

4  Thank like2travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,580 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $134 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing