We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #22 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Breakfast was great. Accommodations were clean, comfortable and spacious. Staff was helpful, pleasant and prompt. Downtown location adjacent to Canal Street and the streetcar line. We will definitely use this hotel again on our future visits to NOLA!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    526
    123
    32
    17
See reviews for
321
499
59
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel 6-8 times on business. I go 3-4 times per year to visit a customer and enjoy all that is New Orleans. Being a Hilton Diamond member, I always seek out Hilton properties and when I found this one, I fell in love. The location (about a block and a half from Bourbon - actually, Carondelet becomes Bourbon when it crosses Canal St) is extremely convenient, though lower floors can be loud if you're above the street cars. Higher floors are fine.

This is a neat hotel. It's been nicely renovated and the rooms are spacious and modern.

My stays, however, have gone consistently downhill. Early January of this year I was there and my room wasn't serviced one day. No big deal. I was back for JazzFest in Late April/Early May and the same thing happened. I asked that it be serviced when I went out that evening, and it was. I can only imagine that a hotel in a city like this MUST run into challenges servicing rooms with people sleeping late and such. I keep fairly regular hours and always try to vacate my room by 10:00 and stay away for at least 2-3 hours. That seems like a large enough window to pick up a few towels and drop off a few clean ones.

Apparently, that's too much to ask. My last visit was a few weeks ago. On Saturday morning, I left my room by 10:00 and was back around 3:30. The room hadn't been made up. When I left to go out for dinner, I stopped at the front desk and asked if it could be serviced. The staff offered no apology but merely checked the records and told me that my Do Not Disturb sign was out when Housekeeping came by. I explained that I was gone by 10:00 and they seemed disinterested. Since they offered NOTHING and it was getting awkward standing and looking at each other, I then ASKED if I could have my room serviced. They begrudgingly agreed. I told them that if I could just get some fresh towels, that would be fine.Indifference. When I returned around midnight, it was just as I left it. Nothing. I guess the indifference was worse than I imagined.

I hate that this place has gone downhill. I love the location and the high ceilinged rooms. Perhaps I've just been unlucky, who knows.

I'll be returning to the Hilton Garden Inn or another property while in NOLA. Heck at this point, I've met my Diamond status for the year... I'm sure Marriott has some nice properties in NOLA. Hopefully, they don't see a request to have a room serviced as an inconvenience.

I would check out other options if you're looking to stay in NOLA. While you could do worse I'm sure, for the prices this Hampton charges, it's not a very good value at all. $300 a nite (during JazzFest) and I have to ask to have my room made up? I don't think so. Throw the 'tude on top of it? I really don't think so.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Buzz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViseTricia, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, August 26, 2014
First I wanted to thank you for staying with us when you visited New Orleans. I apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered while you were here. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention, and I will definitely speak to my Housekeeping Manager and my Front Office Staff regarding these issues. If you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to call me directly at the hotel at (504)529-9990.
Again, thank you for bringing this to my attention because without help/suggestions from guests such as yourself, I could never begin to address many situations.
Sincerely,
Tricia H. Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I wish we could have stayed longer! We were only in NOLA for one night, but I could have stayed much longer. Although there wasn't any free parking, the valet guys were great and super prompt. The hotel staff was nice and eager to help if we needed it...we weren't sure where to go for dinner and they had great recommendations, then in the morning, I lost my room key, and they gave me a new one, no problems! Speaking of morning, the breakfast was AMAZING! Make your own waffles, there were omelettes and sausage and oatmeal and cereal and yogurt and bagels. SO GOOD! We will definitely be staying here if we come back to NOLA. The bed was a key part of this great experience. So comfy after a long day of driving.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level room...not as long at the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikayla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

I loved staying here!! The staff was so friendly and breakfast was great after walking in from bourbon street at 6am. The front desk was top notch. We walked in and there was only one person working the desk. She was more efficient and friendly than if there were 5 people working there. I don't remember her name but thank you for being a sweetheart and making my first NOLA encounter a great one.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey3nickpick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We have stayed at this Hampton for several years. The staff is always helpful. Located in the Central Business District, it is close to all you want to see or do. After a busy day, you can sit back in your quality room and take a break from all the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

This location is great. The St. Charles trolly picks up right out front. The street turns into Burbon St. and all the Burbon action is within 3 blocks. Free breakfast and the building has a food court and Chase bank. Rooms were really nice and clean and big.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Great staff!! Very nice and helpful!! Clean hotel and clean room and balthroom!! Close to Bourbon street. Only down fall is no place to pull up and load and unload. Have to valet park no self parking. Great breakfast. Also, good security to get up in the elevator to the guest rooms

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 851 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,679 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#30 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Carondelet Building, noted as the first "skyscraper" in New Orleans, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter area) artfully combines the city's rich history with modern conveniences. Just one block from the French Quarter's Bourbon Street, famous restaurants, antique shopping and top attractions, our Hotel in Downtown New Orleans gives you easy access to the best this world-class city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing