We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad I picked this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #27 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I wish we could have stayed longer! We were only in NOLA for one night, but I could have stayed much longer. Although there wasn't any free parking, the valet guys were great and super prompt. The hotel staff was nice and eager to help if we needed it...we weren't sure where to go for dinner and they had great recommendations, then in the morning, I lost my room key, and they gave me a new one, no problems! Speaking of morning, the breakfast was AMAZING! Make your own waffles, there were omelettes and sausage and oatmeal and cereal and yogurt and bagels. SO GOOD! We will definitely be staying here if we come back to NOLA. The bed was a key part of this great experience. So comfy after a long day of driving.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level room...not as long at the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikayla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,953)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,213 - 1,219 of 1,953 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

I loved staying here!! The staff was so friendly and breakfast was great after walking in from bourbon street at 6am. The front desk was top notch. We walked in and there was only one person working the desk. She was more efficient and friendly than if there were 5 people working there. I don't remember her name but thank you for being a sweetheart and making my first NOLA encounter a great one.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Tracey3nickpick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We have stayed at this Hampton for several years. The staff is always helpful. Located in the Central Business District, it is close to all you want to see or do. After a busy day, you can sit back in your quality room and take a break from all the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

This location is great. The St. Charles trolly picks up right out front. The street turns into Burbon St. and all the Burbon action is within 3 blocks. Free breakfast and the building has a food court and Chase bank. Rooms were really nice and clean and big.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank Brayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Great staff!! Very nice and helpful!! Clean hotel and clean room and balthroom!! Close to Bourbon street. Only down fall is no place to pull up and load and unload. Have to valet park no self parking. Great breakfast. Also, good security to get up in the elevator to the guest rooms

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

I had two enjoyable stays for a total of eight nights at this location, interrupted in the middle with a weekend road trip. First mention definitely should go to check-in desk staffer Latrenda, who cheerfully gave me a free upgrade as a military veteran upon each arrival. Many thanks!

My trip to New Orleans was mainly for gastro-tourism, and the hotel is perfectly situated about a block across Canal Street from the French Quarter, on Carondelet Street, which becomes Bourbon Street once you cross Canal. Excellent walking distance (other hotels in the FQ may actually result in a longer walk) but no exposure to the nightly partying crowds.

There are also plenty of good restaurants in the Commercial District where the property officially lies, including being well-centered around the John Besh ones, for which the hotel (and Hilton) were running a “Taste of New Orleans” room rate which gets you a 20% discount off your dining bill. This offer was well-used and much appreciated.

The corner mini-suite I was given (819) was very clean, quiet, spacious and made for a great home base for all my dining, music club and tour outings on both sides of Canal. If you’re also going to the Garden District, the St. Charles trolley line runs right out front. Its rumble sounds like distant thunder at first, but adds to the local charm once you’ve figured out where the noise is originating. There is a spacious breakfast each night, with a good hot/cold selection, but which I hardly used in order to keep room for lunch and onward. Honorable mention to the high ceilings and high-mounted shower nozzles, not to mention free basic Wi-Fi and local calls.

This would be my first choice on a return visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Eric107_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

The hotel was extremely clean and overall very nice. It's about two blocks from Bourbon St, which was awesome! There's no hotel parking unless you want to pay the valet fee. The breakfast was very good and they provided food throughout the day as well. My only gripe with the hotel is that when the maid came through she barely picked up any dirty towels, sometimes didn't leave any clean ones, and never emptied the trash can in the room (just the bathroom). Also, the showerhead sucked and there was no fan in the bathroom. Other than these things, it was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViseTricia, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

I am very happy that you chose the Hampton Inn when you visited New Orleans, but I am so disappointed in the housekeeping service that you received. I am so sorry! Please know I take this concern very seriously, and I will be increasing the amount of occupied rooms that I will check. I want to make sure that others aren't disappointed as you were. I really appreciate your feedback; it honestly helps me better the hotel. Please don't let that discourage you from staying with us again in the future. Again, I apologize for not getting acceptable housekeeping service.
Sincerely,
Tricia Vise
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#21 of 167 in New Orleans
1,496 reviews
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#64 of 167 in New Orleans
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $133 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing