We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Really impressed with this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #20 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Really impressed with this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The rooms, and especially the junior suites, are fabulous. Tall ceilings, large windows, great layouts. I was super impressed and pleased with my stay here. I was visiting on business. It was a $10 cab ride to the conv center, but only $1.25 by trolley if you're willing to walk a few blocks on each end. The proximity to the French Quarter is great. It's away from the hustle, bustle and noise of Bourbon St., but close enough to walk back and forth several times a day if you want. Theresa at the front desk was very helpful. The bell staff was always attentive, professional and friendly. The business area where the hotel is located is pretty quiet on weekends, but there are still coffee shops and decent restaurants nearby if you don't want to visit the touristy areas. I loved my stay at this hotel and would stay here again in a heartbeat. There is no pool, so I didn't see as many young kids as I normally do when I travel. The free breakfast provides a good selection and the breakfast staff were fantastic!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the trolley side of the building. The trolle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 3Magpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    543
    126
    32
    19
See reviews for
355
522
64
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This Hampton Inn was in walking distance to all the French Quarter has to offer. We arrived very late, but with the valet and extra security measures we felt very safe and very welcome. The room was the largest of any Hampton we have experienced.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
3 Thank juliemA8039VF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed here during the Essence Fest . The location was perfect close and walking distance to Bourbon Street, the Superdome, Convention Center, and steps away from a convenient store. The staff was very friendly and helpful, from the doorman, maid service, and the front desk staff.m

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsMeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel had everything we wanted...great location to walk to French Quarter, quiet, nice room, friendly staff, and super large breakfast with everything anyone would ever want. We took advantage of the stay and park special and saved about $10.00. Ask for it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank txphyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed during 4th of July 2014 weekend, there was a music conference in town as well that was bumping the price up I'm sure. The hotel was nice and close to French Quarter, but the price was very high for what we received.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
408 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Great location for a stay in Nola. The hotel is connected to a small shopping center and food court which is open during the day for a quick snack. A few blocks from pretty much everything. 10-15 walk to Superdome, 5 minutes to bourbon, 10 minutes to Harrah's and riverfront area.

The room was a decent size with just enough room for a short stay. Hotel has good amenities and the standard quality breakfasts typical at a Hampton. The staff was great and really helpful

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foreman212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 508 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

A typical Hampton Inn in a perfect location for the New Orleans tourist.

This Hampton Inn is up that chain's usual standards at its usual mid-level prices. But it has the tremendous bonus of being within two short blocks from the French Quarter. This suited us perfectly since we need our quiet and the French Quarter is notoriously active at all hours.

One of the famous streetcars runs right by the hotel. A short walk from the front door took us to Canal Street. Next door is an office building with a delightfully designed food court on the second floor. We were able to choose from all kinds of foods and eat it on a shaded balcony.

Inside, the hotel is evidently a renovated older building. This meant high ceilings, tall windows, interesting nooks and crannys, and a large and unusually shaped room for us. The 4th floor breakfast room is large and stylish. The exercise room is well-appointed too. Our 3 nights there were pleasantly quiet. No view to speak of since the hotel is surrounded by office towers, but none was expected.

Front desk service was good, as were the doormen. These one needs because curb space is severely limited and parking is elsewhere. Since the hotel is very central tourist and airport buses make stops. A taxi to/from the airport is a reasonable flat rate and the highway is not far away. Such a good location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NW_Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Carondelet Building, noted as the first "skyscraper" in New Orleans, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter area) artfully combines the city's rich history with modern conveniences. Just one block from the French Quarter's Bourbon Street, famous restaurants, antique shopping and top attractions, our Hotel in Downtown New Orleans gives you easy access to the best this world-class city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing