We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, convenient hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #25 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, convenient hotel”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This Hampton Inn was in walking distance to all the French Quarter has to offer. We arrived very late, but with the valet and extra security measures we felt very safe and very welcome. The room was the largest of any Hampton we have experienced.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
3 Thank juliemA8039VF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    619
    147
    38
    24
See reviews for
415
623
76
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed here during the Essence Fest . The location was perfect close and walking distance to Bourbon Street, the Superdome, Convention Center, and steps away from a convenient store. The staff was very friendly and helpful, from the doorman, maid service, and the front desk staff.m

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsMeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel had everything we wanted...great location to walk to French Quarter, quiet, nice room, friendly staff, and super large breakfast with everything anyone would ever want. We took advantage of the stay and park special and saved about $10.00. Ask for it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank txphyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed during 4th of July 2014 weekend, there was a music conference in town as well that was bumping the price up I'm sure. The hotel was nice and close to French Quarter, but the price was very high for what we received.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
500 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Great location for a stay in Nola. The hotel is connected to a small shopping center and food court which is open during the day for a quick snack. A few blocks from pretty much everything. 10-15 walk to Superdome, 5 minutes to bourbon, 10 minutes to Harrah's and riverfront area.

The room was a decent size with just enough room for a short stay. Hotel has good amenities and the standard quality breakfasts typical at a Hampton. The staff was great and really helpful

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foreman212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
276 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

A typical Hampton Inn in a perfect location for the New Orleans tourist.

This Hampton Inn is up that chain's usual standards at its usual mid-level prices. But it has the tremendous bonus of being within two short blocks from the French Quarter. This suited us perfectly since we need our quiet and the French Quarter is notoriously active at all hours.

One of the famous streetcars runs right by the hotel. A short walk from the front door took us to Canal Street. Next door is an office building with a delightfully designed food court on the second floor. We were able to choose from all kinds of foods and eat it on a shaded balcony.

Inside, the hotel is evidently a renovated older building. This meant high ceilings, tall windows, interesting nooks and crannys, and a large and unusually shaped room for us. The 4th floor breakfast room is large and stylish. The exercise room is well-appointed too. Our 3 nights there were pleasantly quiet. No view to speak of since the hotel is surrounded by office towers, but none was expected.

Front desk service was good, as were the doormen. These one needs because curb space is severely limited and parking is elsewhere. Since the hotel is very central tourist and airport buses make stops. A taxi to/from the airport is a reasonable flat rate and the highway is not far away. Such a good location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NW_Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Hampton Inn New Orleans is in a historic building, but has been updated with elegant accommodations. I loved my spacious room and the staff was really nice. I also love the location. Just a walk away from the French Quarter and other fine restaurants and attractions. the old elevators are weird, but you get the hang of them. Adds an old sense of the place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Leonard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#13 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing