We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value-just dump the plastic cutlery and plates please”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #28 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel is very good value for money. Because it couldn’t accommodate us for 3 nights, we booked a 3rd night in the Loews and the comparison price wise / value wise was quite incredible!
In this hotel we had free breakfast which although wasn’t one of the best breakfasts we had during our trip was adequate. The hotel should seriously consider dumping the plastic cutlery and plates though as this really lets it down....who can spread butter with a flimsy plastic knife? The cost environmentally of all the associated waste must be phenomenal! That said the bedrooms were good. We booked a corner room (on good advice and it was worth it as there was plenty of space for 4 people) with 2 double beds and they were clean and comfortable. The bathroom was small but ok....it’s time to get rid of shower curtains USA!
Free wifi was great and the hotel reception staff were very good. The lifts were absolutely fine during our stay, By the way the cookies on reception were a nice touch, the hotel is well located and near enough to the action but far enough away too. Views aren’t great but we didn’t expect them to be......request a high floor is another useful tip.

Room Tip: corner room, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,277 - 1,283 of 1,974 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

The room was nice and comfortable. The view was very poor. The elevators had many mechanical issues and didn't not work at all one day during our stay. Fortunately we were out but one couple had to walk down 14 floors because not one of the four elevators would function.

The breakfast buffet was good but the staff was not friendly or accommodating. When asked for syrup, we were told there wasn't anymore but then was told one packet fell out of a box. It appeared that they just did not want to be bothered.

If you want to be thoroughly pampered..this is not the hotel. But if you want a place to sleep close to Bourbon street and the French Quarter, the Hampton Inn is a reasonable option...just be prepared to be walking down the stairs..

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin93710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Location is awesome - just two blocks away from Bourbon Street. Valet parking is standard in that area, unless you want to park your car in a neighborhood garage yourself and walk back. Valet parking charge is less than average in area. Free Wi-Fi and breakfast. High ceilings, rooms are a bit bigger than average Hampton Inn. No bar or restaurant at night (but you are right in the middle of all the action).

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Literally 2 blocks away from Bourbon street. Parking is valet, just like any other place close or in French Quarter area. But cheaper. Room are bigger than standard with higher ceilings (older building). Breakfast is standard Hampton Inn's. Wi-Fi is free. If I ever come to New Orleans, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robinzon007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Earl works the breakfast, he was a guy with great attitude and personality.
When we spilt our food he was right there to take care of it, both times.
Hotel is also nice, one of the best breakfasts' I've had at a hotel
Nice room, no pool but good hotel

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I live in Louisiana but haven't been to New Orleans in a long time. We went this past weekend and stayed at this Hampton for the very first time. We were super pleased. We opted to walk everywhere, but there is a trolley stop right in front of the hotel (which I'll certainly make use of next time - especially in these very hot summer months!!) The staff was very friendly and accommodating - I requested a late check out on Sunday because my husband was attending a photography workshop, which had been postponed from Saturday. They were so gracious and granted me a late check out. Our room was very clean and very roomy. We had a king bed with the sofa in it. Even though it is on the fringe of the French Quarter, it was very quiet. It will definitely be our go-to place in New Orleans from now on.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnFailsDent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Being a HHonors Diamond member, I really enjoy this chain wherever I go. However, this stay in New Orleans at the Hampton French Qtr disappointed me. Not what I am accustomed to with this chain. It was so ordinary, I think next time I will find something for a better price in the quarter with a little more hospitality. Cable outages galore, some staff attitudes, etc. Though overall the room was very clean and up to date. The business center and lounge were outstanding. UPS store downstairs and other shops also.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#65 of 166 in New Orleans
1,475 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $122 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing