We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #27 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Very well run hotel only 2 blocks from Canal & Bourbon. We had a corner king suite - windows on 2 sides, very spacious and comfy. A/C worked well without any annoying noises. The hotel had several large groups staying there during our 5 night stay but was well able to handle the crowds at breakfast. Good selection at breakfast. Loved being able to walk to the French Quarter, riverfront - all within a mile or take the streetcar right from the front of the hotel. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    620
    147
    38
    24
See reviews for
416
623
76
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Yes, the hotel is comfortable and affordable. But the guest room doors SLAM shut. And the neighbors seem to come and go constantly at all hours and don't bother to catch the door before it slams shut. That is compounded by maintenance staff in the halls with walkie-talkies at full volume late at night. Couldn't management get them an earpiece? Do yourself a favor and bring ear plugs and a noise machine

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MB359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViseTricia, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hi! So glad you visited us when you were here earlier this month. First I'd like to thank you for staying with us as I know you have many hotels to choose from. I do apologize about the maintenance guys having their radios too loud, but that is a great idea about the ear pieces. I am going to look into that right away so that other guests are not disappointed as you were. Please let me know if you come back to visit as I would love the opportunity to meet you and personally ensure you have an outstanding stay!

Sincerely,
Tricia Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great location and affordably priced. Walking distance to just about everywhere you'd want to go (Bourbon St. The French Quarter, Aquarium, Mississippi River, Casino). Clean rooms though a fan in the bathroom was lacking. Helpful and friendly front desk.
Great stay...I'd go back there in a minute!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albemarle, North Carolina, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel is in the tops of any Hampton Inn in which I've ever stayed. Rooms were terrific though not much of a view. Staff was friendly and the breakfast was delicious. Perfect location... Near French Quarter, Harrahs and cable cars.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowley, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel is in a great location at an affordable price. We walked to Bourbon Street, Jackson Square and to all of the restaurants that were wonderful. We stayed in a mini suite which was wonderful. Very clean and roomy. The need to use your room key to use the elevator made me feel very safe. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I came here for a girls weekend and was very pleased with the Hampton Inn. The hotel has a wonderful staff and so friendly! The bellman helped us up to our room when we arrived and then out to the car when we left. The front desk split the bill so we could each pay for a night and they also let us leave the car even after we checked out so we could go to lunch. Breakfast was very good and so was the manager's reception. The room was exceptionally clean, large, and quiet. Although it's not exactly in the French Quarter, it's within reasonable walking distance. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I had a very comfortable, quiet stay. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. I was in Room 303, a junior suite. Huge room, and very convenient to have 2 sinks (one at the wet bar). I hear the standard rooms are great, too. My understanding is that the whole place is renovated, and that most of the photos online are outdated. 3-minute walk to Bourbon, less than 15-minute walk to Harrah's. The breakfast area is packed at 10 AM but there are many seats and tables.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texguy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing