We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #28 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The room was much bigger than I anticipated and ended up being a better value than the conference hotel I was going to for my meetings. Not thrilled that there was construction in the lobby during our stay, just an eye sore.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,020
    637
    154
    39
    24
See reviews for
437
639
77
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I really liked this hotel. It's in a great location for walking everywhere! The staff is very friendly and actually saved us some money on our room when we checked in. The front doorman was very friendly and polite and great with directions. The rooms were very large and well-done! Clean and very comfortable. Had one problem with the toilet and housekeeping was there immediately. There is a small renovation going on when you first come in but that didn't hamper anything. The free breakfast was ok but could have been a little more expansive. They had free wine reception on Wednesday night when we checked in. I would definitely recommend this hotel for big clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff and a great location. If I ever went back I would definitely stay here!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Location, Location, Location! Just 1 1/2 blocks off of Canal Street so away from the noise but close enough to walk to the French Quarter and waterfront and there is a street car stop on the corner of Canal. We booked a king bed and were upgraded to a corner Jr. Suite, which had 4 large windows so lots of light. No views, just other buildings, but we didn't care about that. They are renovating the lobby, but it doesn't impact your stay at all. Five elevators, which is nice for such a large hotel and the history of the building is interesting. A big shout out to LaTrenda at the Front Desk who was just awesome, super friendly and helpful. As others have said it seems as if the entire property has been recently renovated and our room feels brand new. All of the standard Hampton Inn amenities are here. We skipped the continental breakfast, I look forward to the day when Hampton Inn steps up to the same cooked to order breakfast you find at a Hilton Garden Inn. My only critique is that you can hear the rush of water when someone, in another room, turns on the shower, which woke me up each morning, but I hear it in most hotels. Parking is expensive at valet only for $30/night. There is a parking garage right next to the hotel where you can park for $13/night, but there are no in/out privileges, which is where we parked our car. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: From the layout of the floors, I think some interior rooms may not have windows, so you might ask ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
471 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

When you first arrive there is renovation going on and in the lobby area. The rooms and hallways have been renovated already and it was done beautifully. This was an awesome room, large, clean, fresh and everything appeared new,carpets and drapes. There are huge, floor to very high ceiling windows and drapes. They offer a Wednesday evening, which is when we happened to be there, managers reception, but hey, you are in NOLA, you are going out to dinner. They had an added security measure of having to use your room key to use the elevator, which was nice. The beds were comfortable and wifi worked great. The breakfast was the usual. The only parking option in valet for around $30 per day. Being in downtown in a city like New Orleans, we didn't hear a peep all night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travlingal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This property had been updated since I stayed there last, the room was very contemporary. I was upgraded to a Jr Suite and it was huge. The hotel is only a block and a half from the quarter. I think I may like this property better than the Hilton that is a little further from the quarter. The street the Hampton is on turns into Bourbon once you cross Canal. Staff was friendly. We got a great rate and is why we chose the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DallasBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, AZ, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We loved the hotel except for the two items I mentioned before. We just walked everywhere. Everyone was very friendly and very helpful. We had trouble with the internet but the host at the desk fixed our IPad right away.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Barry A. G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahlequah, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. It was very clean and the staff was Great. The only thing it lacks is a restaurant and a lounge in the hotel. I would probably pick a different one next time for this reason. But it was very convenient. We walked everywhere and it was very close to the Superdome also.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tommye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 163 in New Orleans
1,386 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing