We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms very small”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #74 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We found our room VERY small. I hardly had space to open up my suitcase. The bed was very hard as well. It's in a good location, but I wouldn't stay there again. The tub didn't have a stopper either so I had to use a washcloth...probably should have just showered.

Room Tip: Just because the picture shows a room with plenty of room doesn't mean that is what you are goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,053 - 1,059 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here for four nights. It's a good location--not too close, but not too far from the craziness of Bourbon Street. The staff is extremely helpful and kind--they called us by name from the time we checked in until we checked out--and the room was spacious, clean, and well-appointed. My one complaint would be that, since the windows faced south, we had to keep the blinds drawn all the time, or risk being baked! It was really hot with them open! (Nothing the staff can do about that!) :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I wasn't expecting too much from this hotel, since I find hotels within the Choice chain to be average at best, and yet, I was pleasantly surprised to find that this hotel was an amazing choice in New Orleans. Upon checkin, it was evident that the staff was well trained and VERY welcoming. They had no problems with checking us in earlier, despite it being around 10am and gave us our choice of rooms. Room was on the smaller side (a king room), but was adequately sized, and clean. I wouldn't go so far as to call the room outdated, as some others have on here, but it's not the most modern room either. The strong point of this hotel though, was it's awesome location. A five-ten minute walk to the French Quarter/Bourbon Street in one direction and another five to ten minute walk to the other side where the WW2 Museum is. The fact that it's so close, but not in the middle of the mess of Bourbon Street means it's peaceful and easy to get a great nights sleep without the drunks wondering in and out of the hotel or the street.

Talking about parking in relation to this hotel is futile, only because parking is both expensive and a pain in New Orleans no matter which hotel you're staying at, so I would pay little attention to any of the comments on here from people who use that as a detractor as they seem to be painfully unaware that this is the norm throughout Nola.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, and if you're looking for a great value within New Orleans that's close to Bourbon street, but not on it specifically, this is the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Great location and service. Room was nice but the bathroom was from a 1970s motel. New vanity but cold water in lavatory didnt work--at all. Hole in the wall from doorknob. Lots of caulk. Otherwise this was a good stay. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul_l1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We got a deal through one of the hotel website, where we paid just 80 USD per night. For that price, the room was worth it, but honestly if I had paid more I would have definitely been annoyed. The room was a little musty-ish, not the freshest feeling when you enter the room, but still clean. Also small with zero view but considering all we did was sleep in the room, we didnt mind. Alright location in central district - had a small walk to get to the french quarter but because the weather was nice, it was not an issue. Take a taxi in the late night though back to the hotel.

Room Tip: If you have to pay more than 80 USD per night, I dont think its worth it. nicer hotels in better loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yk2115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Put up family at the Blake for the weekend--we had two room, they both were very nice. They loved their over sized rooms, they were very very clean and well kept! Front desk was helpful, Café at the Square was a great place for weekend breakfast...we had a large table and they took great care of us all---Andouille crawfish dish was everyone's favorite. Great summer value for the hotel, manager on duty was very helpful to our family with street car and things to do while we were away. We will be back to the Blake soon! Our family loved the location..close the French Quarter and Museums.

Room Tip: Great corner rooms! Must eat at the on site restaurant, Café at the Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Ms. Allyson, the front desk personnel, went beyond her duty to make our trip as comfortable as possible. She provided excellent directions to the hotel when we got lost in a one way street traffic. She was also flexible and understanding about our delayed checkout when we got stuck in a downpour and could not make it back to the hotel by 11 AM. Her extremely warm, witty, and humorous personality made our stay more enjoyable.
And though people complain that you can't park near the hotel that is not completely true. A street parking is free from 6 PM until 8 AM and then there is indoor parking, if not reasonable, at least affordable, available nearby. Some people said the rooms, halls, and elevators were either not working or where dirty but that was not the case; in fact, we visited a few floors and everything was pristine, even the vending room. A few people said they disliked the staff and said that they were rude. I have to say that this is not true for the current staff; matter of fact, the reason for this favorable review is that we received extremely courteous and friendly customer service. The location is also great since you can walk everywhere. We have to return to New Orleans in near future and will stay in the Blake hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bridget k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#53 of 167 in New Orleans
1,466 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#91 of 167 in New Orleans
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#31 of 167 in New Orleans
850 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#56 of 167 in New Orleans
2,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection

Address: 500 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-3410 (Formerly Blake Hotel New Orleans, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: $116 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of The Big Easy, our newly remodeled Blake Hotel, BW Premier Collection, is the perfect choice for lodging in New Orleans. Whether you’re in the area for business, traveling with family for vacation, or just passing through, you’ll be provided with a combination of sophisticated décor, modern amenities, a convenient location and helpful service. Let us welcome you to our updated New Orleans hotel, recently featured on the Today Show as a “star-worthy destination.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parc St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Best Western New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing