We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible customer service--rudest staff I have ever encountered”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #78 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible customer service--rudest staff I have ever encountered”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I was shocked at how rude the check-in staff was at the Blake Hotel. When I walked up to the check-in desk, the staff attendant saw me, turned her back, and continued to talk on the phone. I waited for a few minutes while she ignored me, and then her co-worker approached the desk. Instead of greeting me, he ignored me, and looked annoyed that I was standing there. Finally, I greeted him, and explained that I wanted to check-in. From there, the level of service only got worse. Instead of warmly offering to help me with my bags because I was too early for the 3pm check-in, the staff members looked annoyed that they had to deal with my bags, and very slowly helped me handle them. I were to describe the staff, it would be aloof, rude, and slow.

Also, a 3pm check-in policy is ridiculously late, and they refuse to budge on it for even a few minutes.

Horrible, horrible hotel. Do not waste your money on this establishment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelsey1212Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    323
    142
    74
    48
See reviews for
183
320
46
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minot, North Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 10:30 pm or so, only to be told there was a problem with out room. Jennifer was extremely courteous and professional, and the hotel put us up at another hotel for the night, paying for that room and the cab fare to get there. We were able to check in with no problem the next day. The attached cafe has very good food,the hotel is right on the St. Charles trolley line, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. It's the customer service, however, that really made the place a good place to stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PaulaB212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
475 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel is nice. Its only a few blocks away from all the action. It looks like its been recently remodelled and the rooms are small in new orleans fashion but they are very clean and comfortable. Water pressue is strong but good. They let us check in at 10 in the morning which was so great after a 5 AM flight! Oh and the blackout curtains are wonderful after a night out on Burbon street!!!! I was overall very pleased with the hotel for the money we spent. The only negative I have is that they have no vaniety in the bathroom so no where to put makeup,curling iron,toothbrush etc.

Room Tip: Do the middle floors you might be hearing ground traffic from below if you are low to the ground and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteelCity13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

A/C is really loud; I just turned it off and put on all the blankets; fortunately it didn't get too cold. It's on St. Charles Street so the streetcars make noise. If you are a light sleeper get a room away from the street or a high floor as a last resort. Bed was comfortable. Location is neutral, a few blocks from the French Quarter so you don't hear revelers, just a tad dark at night so get home quickly. It's a bit farther to the Convention Center but somewhat in between the two so if you are attending a convention it's decent. For breakfast, the boutique restaurant in the lobby is awesome and a tad pricey, but if you are going to the Convention Center and want anything more than coffee this is your spot. Hotel is small, and it's in the Warehouse District bordering the CBD. Only one block from Poydras St. and some major Courts buildings so if you have business at either the location is ideal. Fitness center is small, but they have dumbbells to 50 lbs. This is the route of several Mardi Gras parades so if you want an awesome view of the parade (with the noise), rock on. I have no idea about parking but nobody rents a car in downtown New Orleans anyway.

Room Tip: Avoid the street side unless you want to see and hear the Mardi Gras parades or the streetcars
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dadda404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lathrop, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Looks nice from the outside, inside another story . Halls were dirty, elevators just kind of randomly stopped. Room was adequate but not really nice. Beds swayed from side to side........but for around a $100 I got a room with two queens and it was only a night so it served its purpose.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Heater blew cold air when we tried to warm up room but staff remedied the problem. The special we got we great. Staff was most friendly and helpful. It has valet parking or self park but not any hotel parking. We found good street parking

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

After reassuring the front desk I wasn't Irish I found my room to be nichè to say the least . It was o e of the non- renovated rooms which would explain the dampness and peeling back of wall paper. I didn't see it nessacery to fold the bed back up each night lol
Until I realised all other rooms were renovated and I had just drawn a short straw I assu Ed the room decor was in keeping with the spooky Cajun theme .
Luckily my human rights representative and good friend put things right
Gym adjacent building 1 entry per day per night stay , we'll equipped
1 km from French quarter

Room Tip: Switch on lights before unpacking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ptashrafsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#44 of 163 in New Orleans
1,265 reviews
Central Business District
The Lafayette Hotel
The Lafayette Hotel
#91 of 163 in New Orleans
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#63 of 163 in New Orleans
1,362 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#54 of 163 in New Orleans
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection

Property: Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Address: 500 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-3410 (Formerly Blake Hotel New Orleans, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of The Big Easy, our newly remodeled Blake Hotel,an Ascend Collection, is the perfect choice for lodging in New Orleans. Whether you’re in the area for business, traveling with family for vacation, or just passing through, you’ll be provided with a combination of sophisticated décor, modern amenities, a convenient location and helpful service.Let us welcome you to our updated New Orleans hotel, recently featured on the Today Show as a “star-worthy destination.” We offer complimentary wireless Internet access, 37″ LCD TVs with free premium channels, including HBO and ESPN, plush bedding and convenient blackout drapes, in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers, safes and work desks. We also provide access to our on-site fitness center with state-of-the-art ProMaxima® equipment. All of our rooms are equipped with complimentary Bath & Body Works® toiletries. We offer easy access to many local restaurants and attractionsExplore the many other featured New Orleans accommodations and amenities that help us create the perfect home-away-from-home experience!A Top Downtown New Orleans Hotel with an Unbeatable location. You and your traveling companions will be able to save both time and transportation costs by lodging right here at our Downtown New Orleans hotel, minutes from many popular local area attractions.Take a stroll through scenic Jackson Square; get in the groove with smooth music at a local jazz club; or cheer on the Saints football team at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. Whatever you choose to do in The Big Easy, you’ll never be more than a short drive or streetcar ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parc St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Best Western New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing