We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Coquette

Coquette
Reserve with OpenTable
Coquette is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #80 of 1,947 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Garden District
Cross street: Washington Street
Transit: St Charles Streetcar Line- Washington Street
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Went for dinner here through a recommendation. The menu isn't extensive as they change it daily, but the quality of the food is excellent. I had a vegetable salad that was very creatively put together, delicious.
Would have given it 5 stars but there wasn't much of an atmosphere, and some of the waiting staff could have been a bit better(felt quite false pleasantly).

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LatteLaLeche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    182
    76
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude staff !”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A large group of friends and myself recently took a trip to New orleans and being returning guest we did a lot of research and Coquette came highly recommended. A friend made a reservation and we should up with one extra person. The staff member named Scott became instantly irritated and began talking about how ridiculous it was that we brought an extra person . Scott the server did not try to hide his frustration and began serveing us with disdain . After about a two and a half hour meal filled with a hair in my salad and a large bug on the table our meal finally came to an end. This place has very poor service, un -welcoming to tourists, and not very good food. I would never recommend this place to anyone and I would not go there with a large party .

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Meg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food, Average Service”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My daughter in law and I dined at Coquette last weekend. The food was good but...
While we were eating our appetizer Sarah noticed our dinners arrived to our area while we were sill eating and talking. The server placed our dinners on a bar and walked away. They sat there for about 10 minutes while we completed the first course and before the wait staff walked away, the dinner was brought from the bar area (not kept warm or away from anyone walking by), to our table. The meal was barely warm. We felt rushed. The other tables around us received much superior service. We had to ask for our wine glasses to be refilled as well as our water. As I said it was good tasting meal, but barely warm and service poor. We only drank 1/2 of the bottle of wine and when we were leaving I asked for the remainder of the bottle to be corked so we could take it with us. The waiter told me that we had finished our wine, which we knew (as he did) that there was a half-bottle sitting in the cooler at the end of the room. What is going on here? Would I return, probably not.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianna33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, Ca
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We wanted lunch at Commander's Palace, but one man in our party was wearing shorts! Down the street we went to Coquette. We sat outside on a beautiful October afternoon. White tablecloths, butter knives, the works! We all ordered the three course $20 lunch and it was terrific, everyone beyond satisfied. One had Carrot Ravioli (superb) and the rest had the local greens with pecans and goat cheese (simply great) for first course. Second course was the juicy chicken breast with lightly spicy/ sweet flavors. One had the grits and shrimp, yummy too. We all finished with the lemon tart. Perfect size and flavors. Nice bottle of white wine was easy on the wallet too. Our waitress came out refilling our glasses every so often, perfect timing. The restaurant is very charming but we sat outside with sounds of the city.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AvidTraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southold, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Sophisticated and Delicious”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The food was wonderful, our waitress Erin made sure everything went smoothly and we were seated right on time for our Saturday night reservation. We dined upstairs where the room had a nice buzz to it and it had a classy feeling. We shared a couple of appetizers, a crab salad and a beef duo that was just wonderful. The duck breast was the winner of the night!! The sea scallops, bass and pork chop were all top notch. We enjoyed a number of wine selections by the glass. This restaurant is located in the Garden district and was a short taxi ride from the hotel.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tk1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coquette also viewed

 

Been to Coquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing