We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh my!”

The Ruby Slipper Cafe
Ranked #115 of 1,947 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Mid-City
Description: A quaint neighborhood cafe serving New Orleans favorite breakfast & brunch all day, everyday!
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oh my!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Excellent breakfast. You can be as lean or as decadant as you want. The french toast is a dream. Egg dishes are huge. We were there for a convention and ate three days in a row. Some people in our group were very picky and others very general. It was always great service and quick. All the food was tasty. One of our group ordered just fresh fruit. It came out beautifully made. The other had issues with certain types of dairy and all were accommodated with ease. The chef even came out to clairfy a request with the dairy person and was so nice. All in all one of the great places to go!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandJ0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    145
    45
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great brunch”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Went here with my girlfriends after a VERY late night on Bourbon Street for breakfast. If you like a bloody mary, get one. They are really, really good. I got the crab cake eggs benedict and wow. We had to wait for about 15 minutes for a table, but it was no big deal. You can get a coffee or another drink while you wait. Honestly it was such a beautiful morning, it was nice to sit outside for a little bit and take in the neighborhood. Great little place and the menu looked so good that it was hard to decide. I ordered the crab cakes benedict because I LOVE crab. I would definitely go back the next time I'm in New Orleans.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cameroneit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rifle, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Breakfasts!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This restaurant was located just steps from our hotel and highly recommended by our hotel manager. First visit was on Sunday and it was quite busy as they have brunch specials. We waited outside with a crowd but were seated within 15 minutes. It was tough making a decision on what we wanted but everything we ordered was very good, hot and the portions quite large. We also went there for breakfast the day we left as we had late flights and the was no wait this time. Food was just a good the second visit and we'll definitely go back on our next trip to N.O.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sds33621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun and delicious”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a great Bloody Mary and coffee that is they're own blend, smoked salmon and eggs Benedict with dill hollandaise, and a simple eggs, bacon and grits breakfast. All of it was first rate as was the service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iluv2tv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not necessarily worth the wait”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

If you like to hangout and have some Bloody Mary's while you wait for a table then this is the place to go. Always busy. We had the special which was key lime French toast. Interesting combo of flavors. Others had traditional bacon and eggs and thought mediocre at best.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ruby Slipper Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Ruby Slipper Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing