We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bananas Foster - Midcity location”

The Ruby Slipper Cafe
Ranked #119 of 1,948 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Mid-City
Description: A quaint neighborhood cafe serving New Orleans favorite breakfast & brunch all day, everyday!
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bananas Foster - Midcity location”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Easter Sunday brunch was marvelous! The atmosphere, food and service was great. We enjoyed the restaurant so much, we went there 4 times. Visited both the Mid-city and Magazine St. location. Highly recommend you
give it a try!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rcat02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    146
    45
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Oh, my goodness!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were bowled over by the delicious food! And the quantities were serious! I have eaten biscuits and gravy in a number of locales, but these were the absolute best. Remarkable. The scrambled eggs were perfectly fluffy, cooked-but-not-browned. The coffee was dark and delicious. Wish we lived nearby!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Me-MyHusband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
226 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast.”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Very good breakfast. The menu is interesting and the food is tasty. I had corned beef hash with poached eggs. I never had CBH like that and I loved it. My only complaint is the bathroom which should be improved. I highly recommend The Ruby Slipper for breakfast.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank FSUWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Spot”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I ate breakfast here my first day in New Orleans. It was a Thursday morning and the place was still pretty busy. I sat at the bar because I was eating alone considering New Orleans got the best of my boyfriend the night before. The bartender was very personable and helpful. I had corned beef hash eggs Benedict and it was fabulous. I also had a double mimosa which was also very tasty. I would have definitely stopped in here again on my trip but when walking by The Ruby Slipper there were always a ton of people sitting outside. I recommend trying this place during the week if you can!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Ruby Slipper for Breakfast”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a gem hiding in a residential neighborhood. We had to wait for about 15 - 20 minutes to get in, but the food was worth the wait. There are 3 locations, we tried to get in the one on Magazine Street, but the wait was over an hour. I suggest you seek out the smaller places and get there early.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous33064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ruby Slipper Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Ruby Slipper Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing