We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beignets!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Du Monde

Cafe Du Monde
Ranked #3 of 77 Coffee & Tea in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beignets!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Not much to say about Cafe du Monde... loved the beignets and cafe au lait. If you want a little snack and to rest your feet, definitely a nice place to stop. Be sure you have cash on you, as the cafe is cash payment only.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KrisBella1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22,994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11,476
    6,554
    3,526
    972
    466
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
212 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A can't miss experience! Beignets and people watching!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

You can't come to New Orleans and not try beignets and chicory coffee!! The fun part is getting powdered sugar all over you while you people watch. There are usually some street performers nearby too. It's a must do, enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shawnagFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toccoa, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just skip the bathrooms!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The beignets are heavenly! I enjoyed every bite and the service was friendly and quick. It gives you a feel of true New Orleans...unless you use the restroom!! You have to walk into the kitchen to get to the restrooms. I walked into the ladies room with my daughter and I felt like I was at a truck stop!! Graffiti every where, filthy floors and toilet and, of course, no soap!! I wished I'd never walked in there. It ruined the experience a little bit. My advice, enjoy the beignets but skip he restroom!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MadElis_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful NOLA experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We went early morning(7am) , and waited 3 min to sit inside. The beignets and coffee are exceptional , as advertised and hyped. When you go early you get to sit with locals that are on their way to work, reading a paper or tourists fresh and ready to have a fun day! We went by a day later on our way to another stop about 10:30-11:00 am and it was a mad house with lines, full patio and no chance getting inside haha tourists. Our tourist experience was fun.....it is what you make it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hagerdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipley, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Cafe Du Monde is one of those places that people say you just have to go if you go to NOLA. And it was OK. If you like a funnel cake, like you get at the fairs? Well, a Beignet is just like that, just one fat one. Basically this all they sell, along with drinks and coffee. They were not expensive and it was nice to take a sit and chill for a little bit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe Du Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing