We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed the atmosphere, but not the food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro

Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro
Ranked #15 of 1,919 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: French, American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: This beautiful two-story building was erected in 1809 by Antoine Angué where he opened the Vieux Carré’s first Creole Bistro called, The Restaurant d’Orleans. Today, the property is owned by the noted local business team of Pam Fortner and Earl Bernhardt. Lovingly renovated with its prestigious past in mind, The Orleans Grapevine continues the tradition by offering discriminating diners the best in fine dining and an extensive wine list in a beautiful, intimate yet relaxed atmosphere. We feature many unique and seasonal special dishes & specials.
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the atmosphere, but not the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Went here a couple of times for a glass of wine. Loved that they served strips of bacon as a bar appetizer! Good wine, nice atmosphere with player piano, and friendly service. Nice little courtyard. Decided to have dinner and we were very disappointed. Food was very lacking in flavor. However, the place was always packed with what appeared to be locals, so perhaps we were there when the chef was having an off night.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald G, General Manager at Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for coming in. Im glad you enjoyed our bacon happy hour and super friendly staff. I apologize for the food not meeting your expectations. There are nights when our chef is physically off. On those nights our assistant chef takes over. We had a packed house that night and had no other complaints about the food. We want to make sure that every one of our chefs is putting out the high quality food we are known for because we want every guest to leave happy. If you would email me the menu items you had that night so I can make sure those as well as all menu items are being prepared consistently. My email is gdavidgood@gmail.com. Once again thanks for coming in and if and when you visit the Grapevine again ask for me personally and I will make sure everything is the way it should be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    821
    236
    60
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HOCKLEY, ESSEX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“What a lovely place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We visited today and we were delighted with the ambience of the courtyard garden. The food was terrific and there was a great selection of wines. The staff were friendly and helpful. My only criticism was that our entrees were brought to the table before we had finished our starters but this was soon resolved. Wish we'd found the place before our last night here!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JACQUI W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carencro, Louisiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I are new to wine and decided to go into this little bar across the street from our hotel!! So glad we did!!!! It was very quiet, we were able to talk and enjoy our conversation!! Our bartender was great at wine suggestions and we love the wine he suggested and purchased!! It is a must from now on when we are in New Orleans!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“You MUST go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a hidden gem across from Bourbon Orleans Hotel. Go eat in the courtyard. The wine list is terrific and the food is fantastic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Loveagoodvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

What a great restaurant! We had just finished up a conference, and weren't hungry for a huge dinner. Our waitress was wonderful. She took her time to tell us about the house specials and gave us some recommendations Her service was excellent...All of the choices she mentioned sounded great,We settled on a crawfish gumbo and a salad with seafood and barbecued shrimp appetizer . All were fresh, flavorful and delicious. We also enjoyed the Creme Brulee and Bread pudding. They were both delicious, but the bread pudding was outstanding. It was so light and fluffy, with a delicious sauce. I would highly recommend this restaurant. Its in a good location in the French Quarter, not one of the crazy busy streets.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank fredbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing