We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A classy treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro

Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro
Ranked #15 of 1,919 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: French, American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: This beautiful two-story building was erected in 1809 by Antoine Angué where he opened the Vieux Carré’s first Creole Bistro called, The Restaurant d’Orleans. Today, the property is owned by the noted local business team of Pam Fortner and Earl Bernhardt. Lovingly renovated with its prestigious past in mind, The Orleans Grapevine continues the tradition by offering discriminating diners the best in fine dining and an extensive wine list in a beautiful, intimate yet relaxed atmosphere. We feature many unique and seasonal special dishes & specials.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A classy treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Just happened to stuble upon this great little place as I roamed the French Quarter waiting on some friends for dinner. Usually I don't like going into bars by myself, but the bartender, Sunshine, struck up a conversation with me! Friendly staff who let me try several red wines when I told them I had been a white fan my whole life. The exposed brick and soft candlelight make this a cozy spot for a relaxing girl's night or a date with your honey. Will definitely go back on my next visit! They have happy hour everyday from 4-6pm!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 123thetravelbug123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    821
    236
    60
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SugarLand, TX
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Stumbled on a great little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

After being bombarded with the crowds, sights and sounds of Bourbon St. we decided to take a break and went down a side street. It was very cold and we were looking for a place to have a drink and get out of the crowd. We stumbled on the Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro. There were seats available at the bar and we ordered glasses of the Catalpa Malbec and an order of their gluten free barbecue shrimp. The shrimp and wine were both excellent. The bartenders were very efficient and friendly. There were some locals having dinner at the bar, which speaks well of the place. We had dinner plans elsewhere, so we did not have more, but we will definitely go again and next time we plan to have dinner there.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DebJ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

we stumbled upon this lovely bistro after a ghost tour, which was also fun and informative. But back to the grapevine i know everyone is a self proclaimed foodie so I'm just going to say I've had food at really good places and really bad places but the grapevine is exceptional!! The waitstaff was friendly knowledgeable, and seemed to genuinely care if we were enjoying ourselves. Ron was our waiter and he gave us samples of wines we were unsure of that were in our price range that were amazing, he was a very smart man with a lot of information on the town the food and all the wines. the food was out go this world i had gulf fish and my boyfriend had a filet they were both so good that we shared. i couldn't and can't say enough good thing about the grapevine. if you are looking for a nice intimate atmosphere with good food and good wine(hope you have your own good company but if not) the waitstaff is great company this is truly the place to go!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lvlyldypetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lago Vista, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“wonderful bartenders”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Our bartenders were so attentive and efficient. They both had great personalities and were very professional. Sunshine was so good and Jaimee was excellent. We loved the atmosphere and personal attention that both bartenders gave us. Orleans Grapevine Bar was a pleasant oasis, the wine selection was good, the drinks were generously poured. We especially liked the Chocolate Martini, the Vampire Chardonnay and the crab cakes. Jaimee made our visit perfect!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audubon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Located right across the street from the Bourbon Orleans Hotel, this small restaurant is spectacular. The food is first rate and the wait staff is exceptional!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DMainhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing