We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure”

Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro
Ranked #18 of 1,939 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: French, American, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: This beautiful two-story building was erected in 1809 by Antoine Angué where he opened the Vieux Carré’s first Creole Bistro called, The Restaurant d’Orleans. Today, the property is owned by the noted local business team of Pam Fortner and Earl Bernhardt. Lovingly renovated with its prestigious past in mind, The Orleans Grapevine continues the tradition by offering discriminating diners the best in fine dining and an extensive wine list in a beautiful, intimate yet relaxed atmosphere. We feature many unique and seasonal special dishes & specials.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We ran up on this because it was directly across the street from our hotel. The food is to die for. It was delicious, and the service was great! I would definitely come back here. The ambiance is beautiful in the court yard.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank taj702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    857
    244
    65
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crestview, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and server!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My friend and I came to NOLA for a little getaway before I had to start my new job. We went on line and found the Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro. We called for a reservation and got right in. Great wine list, great menu. Our server was outstanding! We sat out back on the patio and she even turned the fan in our direction...We asked if we could split our meal as we wanted a salad, app, and entrée. She said no problem. The wine list was interesting and her help on picking one that was compatible. They also served hot bread with a blueberry butter that was very nice. We had the mixed salad with Roquefort cheese and port pears and vinaigrette. Then we ordered the New Orleans BBQ Shrimp, again nice portion...not the best I have had but still very good. Then we ordered the Rack of Lamb with Truffled Mash potatoes and baby vegetables. OMG! There were two racks, perfectly cooked and plenty of food for two people. Very worth the $32 price tag---especially since we split! We didn't have room for dessert, but I would gladly go back for wine and dessert on another occasion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful Again”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have eaten here several times, and have tried many items on the menu. This is absolutely a wonderful place. Just had a cheese board and wine this time, but it was fabulous. Try the beef cuts (any/all) they are delicious. Have always had wonderful service and this time was no exception with 3 waitstaff members rotating around us. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food but the worst service EVER!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

After our appetizer course and having to repeatedly ask our server Ron for our wine (which we never got), we decided to forgo the test of the meal. We had to get up and get our own silverware as well...too bad because what we did order as appetizers, it was delicious.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KmBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I came here because I had heard wonderful reviews! I am a local in the French Quarter and knew that I had to check this place out. I was warmly greeted by Bennet and Sunshine! I sat at the bar and enjoyed a delicious wine flight accompanied with a cheese plate. The environment was quiet and perfect after a long day at work. I highly recommend checking out this wine bar!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brodie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing