We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bartender, disappointing meal”

Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro
Ranked #23 of 1,964 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: This beautiful two-story building was erected in 1809 by Antoine Angué where he opened the Vieux Carré’s first Creole Bistro called, The Restaurant d’Orleans. Today, the property is owned by the noted local business team of Pam Fortner and Earl Bernhardt. Lovingly renovated with its prestigious past in mind, The Orleans Grapevine continues the tradition by offering discriminating diners the best in fine dining and an extensive wine list in a beautiful, intimate yet relaxed atmosphere. We feature many unique and seasonal special dishes & specials.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great bartender, disappointing meal”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Food was very disappointing, my crab cakes were not properly cooked and my husbands shrimp BBQ was not tasty. Maybe it was an off night but we were very disappointed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NOLARiverCItyCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans G, Public Relations Manager at Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We're sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your meal at our restaurant. This is the first complaint we've ever received about how our crab cakes and shrimp have been served. We normally have rave reviews about both of the plates you had. We will make sure our staff is aware of your review so they can strive to ensure that this does not happen again. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit, the owners of the Orleans Grapevine truly appreciate the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    893
    255
    66
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food, romantic atmostphere”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We heard about the Orleans Grapevine from a friend, and decided we'd go in for an appetizer before our dinner at a different restaurant. We we pleasantly surprised by how great the food was. So much, I wish we had of stayed for dinner. The atmosphere was very romantic and they had an outside patio that even though it was late December was very pleasant and comfortable. We had the gumbo, bbq shrimp and the crab cakes which were to die for!

Looking at all the food that was being served around us, I made up my mind I'd definitely go back next time we visit New Orleans.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisadd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great "find" in New Orleans”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar & Bistro is a hidden gem in the French Quarter of New Orleans, directly behind the St. Louis Cathedral. Rated by Frommer's with 2 out of 3 stars, the food was very good and the service was excellent from both our servers and the manager. On a lovely January night, we sat outside on the patio, which was very, very pleasant. Inside the atmosphere is a quaint old bar, which would have been nice on a cooler night. Some friends and I enjoyed the cheese boards (4 cheese samples, grapes, and strawberries for $15) matched with flights of wine (3 glasses for $12). We, also, sampled several of the Petit Fare entrees. The servings were generous and very good. I would recommend the Saffron Mussels (jumbo lump crabmeat is in the broth for $13), the Pan Seared Scallops (3 large ones wrapped in Neuskies bacon for $13), and the Angus Medallions (with a Marsala mushroom cream sauce for $13) for their excellent taste, quality and price. However, Louisiana is not known for its crab cakes so I'd skip this selection. Some of the other women had salads and soups and were quite pleased, also. One other thing to watch is the price of a glass of wine--a large glass of a delicious Pinot Noir was $15, which is probably correctly priced for the French Quarter and there was a lot of wine in the glass. The wine flights had 3 regular-sized glasses of wine, which was enough for most of our group. Nine women were in our group and we all were very pleased with the Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro. We're definitely going back there on our next visit to NOLA!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DogRiverLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant with good food and service”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stopped by later in the evening for drink and appetizer. Great, friendly service and good food. We did not find NOLO overall to have good service, but this passed with flying colors.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deb10pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exquisite dining”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

World class dining experience, just a few steps off of Bourbon Street. Intimate setting, in a French courtyard. Wine and food selection are second to none, and the prices are reasonable for the experience you receive. I highly recommend it....

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JerryDiazHannasReef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing