We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Screaming with Personality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2006

If you are sick and tired of the blah humbug of chain hotels, this one will knock your socks off! Each room is screaming with it's own bi-polar personality. NOT your daddy's Super-8 motel.
Parking was tight, but we got our family mini-van and my miata parked right in front during the Labor Day Holiday. The owner will be glad to give you a history lesson on how his place fared during Katrina and give you a map, with directions to the more notable Katrina stricken areas if you ask.

The breakfast on Sunday was fabulous, made to order and delivered to your table in the great dining room. Options ranged from grits, eggs, bacon, cajun sausage, pancakes, doughnuts, bananas, coffee bagles, cold cereal and orange juice.
Unfortunately on Monday, there was only a bowl of fruit, bagles and English Muffins, cold cereal, coffee and orange juice.

My 3 kids ages 14, 15 and 20 stayed in one room and my husband and I stayed in another room.
I didn't notice any "thin" walls as mentioned in another review.
But the place is quirky, funky, and a feast for the eyes. Real bananas hung down from two large banana trees in the courtyard.

If you are sick of the run of the mill motels that offer nothing but a bed, try out the Creole Gardens Guesthouse where each room is world of its' own.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NavyGirlLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

819 - 825 of 917 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2006

We stayed at the Creole Gardens at the recommendation of a friend who had stayed there numerous times. The inside and out was painted with lively colors and decorations. We loved our room. At first I thought the area around the bed was small but it ended up just feeling very romantic and cozy. The airconditioning was a great retreat from the summer heat. The bathroom was large and clean and the turndown service was very nice. The innkeepers were very friendly and helpful in our planning of what to do and more importantly, what not to waste our time on. We were suprised that there was only a continental breakfast (we were there on weekdays) so one might want to clarify beforehand. The location is great. There is a great bar down the street called St. Charles Tavern. Make sure to befriend Jim and try the Abita beer. They also have a great breakfast package. We will definately stay here again when we return to NOLA.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helene12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2006

Creole Gardens guesthouse and bed/breakfast is a wonderful place to stay with New Orlean's flare and fun. We stayed in the "cottages" each with a unique and comfortable decorated style. The staff were excellent and assisted us to make our stay comfortable. Creole Gardens also extended a sense of social responsibility in assisting us in our volunteer work at the Animal Rescue League of New Orleans. Visit them for a great stay in an open, friendly and excellent location!

3  Thank Raevegann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2006

We took a group of 14 of us down to New Orleans and had an incredibly hectic schedule from 8 am - midnight for 10 days. And the staff was simply fabulous. They were incredibly flexible with our needs (which were ridiculous), they provided us with all the extra space we needed, and made us feel both at home and at work in the common rooms. The food cooked by Ms. Girtley made us all that much more welcomed, and Uly, Maddie, and Ms. Girtley create such a warm home away from home. Even if I dont need a place to stay when I return, I'll still come by just to visit them!

If you're doing any long or short term work in New Orleans and need a solid base, this is absolutely the place to do it. Walking distance to anything you'd need (at least if its up and running in New Orleans), and everyone is friendly and wants to help you do the work you're doing. I cannot recommend this place higher - they even let us host a poetry workshop and some of the guests participated too! Amazing staff, amazing place (beautiful!), amazing breakfast, amazing place in a city that needs it. Full of love, care, and hospitality beyond belief.

3  Thank Lekker_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2006

Stayed here while attending a conference and really enjoyed our stay here within this whimsical collection of candy-colored buildings. Everytime we returned from meetings or exploring the city, it was such a welcome relief from the heat and stress to come in to our lovely yellow room with super-high ceilings and super-cool a/c. Stayed in the mansion, room 3, with large windows, nice wood floors, and a clawfoot tub in the bathroom. These are older buildings full of character, but no elevators - we'll pack lighter next time! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank hsyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Antonio, TX
13
Reviewed June 1, 2006

My fiancee and I went down to New Orleans to do volunteer work to help with the aftermath of the hurricane and the staff welcomed us with open arms! They made us feel so welcome and the place was so cozy and fun. There is a center plaza area that's really great to relax and meet people. We would definnitely go back next time in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Charleston, SC
11
Reviewed May 17, 2006

New Orleans is very much alive! We just recently stayed at Creole Gardens for second weekend Jazz Fest post Katrina. It was so reassuring to see a great smile upon arriving to the Bed and Breakfast. The staff (that was more like family) made us feel right at home. Doing small things that big hotels would most defiantly charge for made the trip that much more personal and comfortable. Would stay again and will recommend to family and friends for future stays.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#15 of 167 in New Orleans
1,480 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 141 in New Orleans
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
779 reviews
Garden District
Green House Inn
Green House Inn
#12 of 141 in New Orleans
390 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 141 in New Orleans
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1415 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $125 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Lower Garden District, this property features 24 rooms in several 1840's historic mansions and converted servants quarters, centered around a lush, tropical courtyard and fountain. The Creole Gardens is one block from St. Charles streetcar and Mardi Gras parade routes, minutes from the French Quarter, Magazine Street and the Convention Center. All rooms open to outdoor areas, for that true Nawlins lifestyle. FREE Hot Southern Breakfast served daily. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed And Breakfast
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing