We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rustic and Historical Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“A Rustic and Historical Experience”
Reviewed May 5, 2005

This is the 3rd year both my wife and I came down for Jazz Fest.
In the past we stayed at some pretty routine and antiseptic playes... the Hilton by the airport, and Motel 6.
I think we were very fortunate to find a booking here, as it was getting late in the booking season (2nd week of Jazz Fest). We were offered a "Mansion" room and it was very nice. It is a large room with a full and large bathroom (tub and shower). The hardwood floors were very nice.
There is a separate entrance to the inner-courtyard and when the thunder storm happened (4/30), it reminded me of being in a Central American country in the late morning during the rain... complete with the banana tree swaying in the wind.
The upside of Creole Gardens was a very friendly staff, that always tried it's best to give information, and helpful hints. The breakfast was filling, and abundant... and freshly prepared. The rooms give one a sense of Old New Orleans, the way it might have been around the turn of the century, complete with all the wild colors. Local radio was piped through the hotel all day long, which gave it an easy and fun feel. The overall feel to the hotel was one of historical bones and an appreciation of a better time in history.
The downside of Creole Gardens were few. The mattress was pretty hard and because I prefer a softer mattress, it was hard to get a really good night's sleep. Parking could be good, could be street... and because the neighborhood is in transation, it could look a little rough in some spots.
Concerning the location.... Creole Gardens is in an excellent location. It is around-the-corner from the St. Charles trolley line (the green line), and that is in easy access to Lee Square (D-Day Museum,Confederate Museum and the Ogden), the French Quarter, and a host of great local resturants too many to count easily. It is also a good access to Audibon Park (Zoo).
The two Mansion rooms are very comfortable and worth the extra expense. When there make time to enjoy the courtyard to relax and unwind. It was a break from the commotion of the Quarter.
After dark, it is advisable to be cautious... as some questionable "elements" can be prowling around.
Being a writer and history buff... I had a nice scent of what living in New Orleans might have been like... and I love it!!!

Jim Smith
Oakland/CA
TRAVEN8@HOTMAIL.COM

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    186
    45
    25
    11
See reviews for
136
391
64
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2005

We stayed here for three nights and had a mixed experience. We had one of the 'slave quarter' rooms, which front the brick courtyard in the middle of the hotel compound. This was a bit of a problem because there were guests enjoying themselves rather loudly outside our door at all times of the day and night. We went to bed to the sound of laughter one night at midnight and were woken up by a different group of guests chatting away the following morning at 7am. The walls are generally thin, and we had an exceptionally creaky bed; in other words, consider these factors if you're travelling with your sweetie. Beyond these concerns, our room was the size of a postage stamp, although that wasn't much of a problem because we were out most of the time.

On the plus side, the hotel has great architecture and style, the staff is very friendly and helpful, the location is great and the price is very good. If you are considering this hotel, definitely get one of the bordello rooms instead of the cheaper courtyard rooms. It may make or break your experience. Based on our own rather mediocre experience here, we will probably try a different place next time.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leaada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 26, 2005

I recently had the chance to stay at the Creole Gardens. and was very impressed with my visit overall. The rooms are beautifully done, each one with a feel all it's own. Everything was kept clean and well taken care of. The staff however, is what will make your stay here worthwhile. Always a friendly face and a feeling of genuine hospitality. Any questions you could think of, someone was willing to help you find the answer. To top it off you can wake every morning, stumble out of your wonderful room, into an cozy courtyard. Shuffle your feet into the kitchen and order some of the best breakfast you can find in New Orleans.
I will definatley go back to Creole Gardens and would reccomend it to anyone passing that way.

Also reccomennded - The 1891 Castle Inn, a sister inn to Creole Gardens. just as wonderful with a more historical feel.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2005

If you are already familiar with the Crescent City... and you understand the funkiness and history of the place, you will love the place we stayed this trip. The Creole Gardens is ideally located between the quarter and uptown in what they now call "the lower garden district". When I lived there, the area below the garden district was called "mid town", not to be confused with "mid-city", which is still there too.

We had easy access to the Quarter via Tchoupitulous, Uptown via St. Charles and Magazine, as well as Metairie and the Westbank because we were within a mile of freeway on ramps. If you are new to the city. You will probably not like the location. As a former resident, I can tell you it is just fine. In New Orleans, you are never very far from the projects, if you're anywhere that's any fun.

The B&B was perfectly "New Orleans" in every way, old and restored, the place was built in a time when much of that area was built. With narrow, small stairways and ornate architecture, you really feel like you're in NOLA. The best part for me was that while I felt like old N'Awlins, there was still DSL and wireless access. However, I brought a cable for my room and never tried the wireless.

Laslty, most of the staff was very cool. The resident manager was a great breakfast companion and the chef made the best breakfast you can find around there. Eggs, pancakes, bacon, sausage, fresh baked cinnamon rolls and muffins served with... yesssss, GRITS. The grits were perfect, offerred with cheese or brown gravy. The brown sausage gravy is HIGHLY RECCOMMENDED.

Well, enough of that. I loved it! Have a great trip, if you you know what it means... to miss New Oleans.

Helpful?
3 Thank MoMerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 11, 2005

I stayed at the Creole Gardens Guest House this past week while visiting New Orleans. I had a wonderful stay and would recommend them very highly. The room was clean, and creatively decorated with lovely colors and design. The bed was comfy. Breakfast is included and features scrambled eggs and delicious homemade grits. The staff was friendly and exceptionally helpful, they helped me find a yoga class, a florist, and gave suggestions for bands at the French Quarter festival, as well as directions and a great map! The toilet was a little noisy, but they fixed it as soon as I mentioned it. There's also a very pleasant garden with tables. Can't say enough great things about them. I hope I get to return soon. Also convenient to the St. Charles Street Car.
---

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 10, 2005

My wife and I stayed 3 nights in a king mansion room. The room was Large & Clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful with local information. The breakfast each morning is a very nice touch. John the onsite manager was outstanding, even mailed me a pair of shoes I left behind. Thanks for the lovely stay, Ken & Joyce Z.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 164 in New Orleans
247 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 164 in New Orleans
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 164 in New Orleans
335 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
7,289 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast

Property: Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1415 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Lower Garden District, this property features 24 rooms in several 1840's historic mansions and converted servants quarters, centered around a lush, tropical courtyard and fountain. The Creole Gardens is one block from St. Charles streetcar and Mardi Gras parade routes, minutes from the French Quarter, Magazine Street and the Convention Center. All rooms open to outdoor areas, for that true Nawlins lifestyle. FREE Hot Southern Breakfast served daily. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed And Breakfast
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing