We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I just needed a place to stay for the night with my dog on my trip to florida and stumbled upon this cute little b&b! The staff was so helpful and nice. I was towing a uhaul and they offered to let me park in the driveway, since street parking might be difficult. The room was clean and homey. It's not a cookie cutter holiday inn type place, but I felt safe in the area, the price was right, and I can't say enough good things about the staff. Will definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 909 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

The guesthouse is in awesome part of town: very close to interstate access, 1 block from the trolley, between french quarters and garden district. The breakfast cook is phenomenal and they provide a full, home cooked breakfast made to order in addition to a continental breakfast. The room we stayed in was pretty retro, but in a good way. :) However, the overhead fan squeaked and the AC was fairly loud. For the coolness factor, location, and price, this is a very hard place to beat. P.S. Ask about the history of the place. :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 5 days and had a lovely experience. It was really clean and so friendly. Just outside town but good access via regular and very close street car. Pet friendly AC good food lovely staff
Would certainly stay there again
Variety of rooms to suit budget but we had mansion 3 which was huge
Beds really comfy TV fab shower and bath
Great

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boobydoobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Awesome location! Awesome breakfast! Amazing old historic house. Really fun, quirky decorations. Totally would recommend it. Super close to a trolley stop and great location - between the garden district and the French quarter

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emiceland9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is the place to go if you want a no-pretense, personable and well-informed stay in NOLA. The service, from making reservations on the phone to talking in person with the owners was very simple an positive. The price is better than you'd think given the location, you have a direct line with the owners should you need advice on where to go and the breakfast is great! The room was big, clean and lacked nothing. We're coming back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catfish25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The breakfast is adequate and the women who cook and manage the dining room are friendly, welcoming, and wonderful. The location is quite good, being a short walk to the street car. There are also a few bars/restaurants within walking distance. We stayed in the Lulu room and while the room itself is ok, it could use better draperies. The streetlight was annoying at night, and the morning sun flooded the room. Don’t choose Lulu if you want to sleep in. The bathroom could use a major overhaul. The flooring and fixtures are well worn, the water temperature in the shower is very difficult to control, and the water pressure is very low. We would definitely stay at Creole Gardens again, but would choose a different room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mbzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Creole Gardens is in the perfect location to ride your bike anywhere you would want to travel whether it be downtown, French Quarter, uptown, garden district, restaurants, shopping, sight seeing, whatever. The street car is also around the corner, if you do not have a bike. You really could walk almost any place, as well. The ambience at the B&B is truly N'awlins. Keith and Cathy were excellent hosts. We did not receive the room we booked, but received the room we desired, which was even better. Keith stored our bikes in the warehouse, which was an extra bonus. Breakfast was FULL SERVICE, FULL COURSE, made to order hot and delicious when we arrived in the beautiful, sunny dining area. Plenty of coffee, fresh fruit, and selection of breads for starters. Then Barbara Jean's granddaughter cooked the most amazing HOMEMADE blueberry pancakes, eggs to order, southern grits, and crisp bacon you could ever ask for. We didn't need lunch on both days. You can not beat the price of this little gem. I did read reviews about no room service, but that was NOT our experience. Our room was serviced and fresh towels replaced our used ones. There was ALWAYS someone in the office to answer any questions we had about directions, tours, history, or just to share a story and pass the time. You MUST ask to borrow the book about the history of Creole Gardens. It's a great read, even though I just skimmed the main points, would love to return and read more. Our mansion room #3 had a wonderful balcony seating area and separate wet bar with fridge for our fruit, drinks, and snacks. We road bikes to the WWII museum, a MUST see!! Walking would have been easer, it's so close. On Saturday, our self guided bike tour took us along Prytania St. mansions, a self guided cemetery tour, a movie filming on Jackson Ave, shops along Magazine, residential homes on Camp, beautiful tree lined Audubon Park, historic St. Charles Ave, inside the historic public library (FREE books were received), and much more. There is so much to see and do you really need at least 4 nights. Thank you Keith, Cathy, and all the staff for making our stay memorable!!! We WILL be returning. Laissez Les Bon Temps Rouler.

Room Tip: Tell Keith or Cathy exactly what you are looking for and they will make sure you receive it. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 166 in New Orleans
401 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 142 in New Orleans
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Green House Inn
Green House Inn
#11 of 142 in New Orleans
386 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 142 in New Orleans
503 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 142 in New Orleans
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1415 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $102 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Lower Garden District, this property features 24 rooms in several 1840's historic mansions and converted servants quarters, centered around a lush, tropical courtyard and fountain. The Creole Gardens is one block from St. Charles streetcar and Mardi Gras parade routes, minutes from the French Quarter, Magazine Street and the Convention Center. All rooms open to outdoor areas, for that true Nawlins lifestyle. FREE Hot Southern Breakfast served daily. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed And Breakfast
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing