We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plaquemine, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Little Place to Stay”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband & I were looking for a quaint little place that was near the Garden District & out of the hustle & bustle of the ussual tourist areas. This was the perfect place. We had a nice room with the feel of an old fashioned home & all the modern convienences. The staff was friendly & helpful. breakfast was cooked fresh to order every morning & served in a nice parlor. Not the ordinary continetal breakfast at most hotels. It is between St. Charles Ave. & Magazine St. with good resteraunts' serving good food at resonable prices. Also close to the St. Charles Trolley that provides transportation to other parts of the city, including the French Quarter & the WWII Museum. We expecially enjoyed the secure interior courtyard, which included a fountain & was a nice place to just sit back & relax.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs interior room, which overlooked the courtyard with stairs leading directly to it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    185
    45
    25
    11
See reviews for
134
383
61
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mukilteo, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend and loved it! Great location-- walking distance to a lot of places and easy access to the bus and trolley. Our room was really cute and comfy and even though our 4 legged children couldn't come with us from Seattle, we love to support pet friendly places-- expecially one as unique as this!
The only problem we had is that we didn't get up in time to eat the delicious smelling breakfast (too much fun experiencing the night life) so I guess we'll have to come back and remember to set an alarm next time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed at the Creole Gardens while attending back-to-back conferences at the New Orleans conference center. The Creole gardens was a great alternative to the regular downtown hotel. I was able to easy walk to and from the convention center or to the French Quarter. There were also great restaurants nearby on St Charles St. I stayed in the Bordello annex, and my room was charming and clean. The queen size bed took up most of the room, but it was fine for one person. The bathroom was larger than in most hotel rooms. The shower head was replaced on the first day, and the new one worked great. The bed was comfortable and I also got quite a bit of work done at the small desk in the room. There was a lovely outside patio area. Wireless was available throughout the grounds and I never had a problem connecting. The breakfasts (Barbara, Rochelle) were simple but tasty with plenty of hot coffee and tea. The staff (Keith, Cathy) was friendly, available and proactive top ensure that i had a pleasant stay. The Creole Gardens is not fancy but quirky and comfortable, and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a more personal place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is our second stay at Creole Gardens, and we were just as pleased as we were the first time. Staff is friendly and laid back, breakfast each morning is delicious and inviting, the grounds and rooms are unique and comfy, and the location couldn't be more ideal.

The main reason we keep coming back is this is truly a "dog-friendly" accommodation, not just "dogs allowed". There's plenty of grass, parks, and dog-friendly restaurants within walking distance. The St Charles street car is a block away, making everything in the city easy access, but there are several great restaurants - from fast food to sports bar to high-end - within a few blocks, plus you're surrounded by the gorgeous old houses in the Garden District so you'd never need leave the area if you didn't want to! We even walked out to the French Quarter and Treme one afternoon from the Guesthouse. Parking is easy and available in case you'd rather drive around and explore.

Room Tip: The Cottage rooms are dog-friendly, and the pet fees are the most affordable we've found. We tru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaraLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a great place, perfect distance to the Quarter and the Superdome for Saints Games. We so appreciate that they love and accept us with our furry kid. She loves it and knows exactly what room to go to, its like home.

The staff is so kind and always helpful.

Thank you, see you again really soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were very disappointed by our stay at Creole Gardens, especially after it received such high marks from Trip Advisor. Our room in the "bordello" section had a strong musty odor and there was a significant amount of mildew on the bathroom walls. The room smelled better after 24 hours of running the air conditioner and the dehumidifier, but the level of mustiness was still unacceptable. I did not realize (until I read the small print) that the beds are not made up every day, and at a rate of $150 per night I do not feel this should be an "optional extra". The towels were very flimsy - the worst towels I have used in a long time. Overall, our accommodation was more like a hostel than a bed and breakfast. There are better value bed and breakfasts in the area and will not be returning to this one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llama11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
creolegardens, Owner at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
All of us here at the Creole Gardens were very disappointed to find out that you did not enjoy your time with us. We pride ourselves on our personal touch and hospitality, and we try to go out of our way to make sure each and every person who stays with us wants to return as an ever growing "family" of happy guests. The room you stayed in had sustained rain damage from Hurricane Isaac (the ceiling fell in!), and we had just finished a marathon effort to get it --and many other rooms hit by the storm--repaired and completely repainted for our guests' arrival. We are so sorry there were any residual odors or anything else that may have led to any discomfort during your stay. Hurricane Isaac left us all scrambling to get our rooms back in service, cleaned and redone as quickly as possible for our guests, and sometimes even a 150% effort is not quite enough.

Our inn (like so many larger hotels these days) tries to stay as "green" as possible by conserving energy, and we let our guests know that we won't replace towels or linens on a daily basis unless they ask us to. We do try to make sure that any guest that has a specific request is catered to as much as possible. We are sorry there was any misunderstanding about this!
We appreciate your feedback..we're a little inn and we rely on all our guests' ideas, advice, feedback, and comments, good and bad, so that we can keep trying to be the best we can be! Not sure what to say about the grade of towels, but we buy the normal hotel grade from our local supplier but we will look into a different type for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have stayed at the Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast twice in the last two months. The staff is fantastic and very accommodating. We will stay with them anytime in New Orleans. They are in a quiet area (garden district) of New Orleans, but only 5 to 10 minutes from the French Quarter. There are many places to eat within walking distance. They serve a great breakfast each morning. You will be happy you decided to stay with them!

Room Tip: We liked lucky #13 and #1 is really Funky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
239 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
512 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
7,110 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Auberge NOLA Hostel
#1 of 35 in New Orleans
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast

Property: Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1415 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Lower Garden District, this property features 24 rooms in several 1840's historic mansions and converted servants quarters, centered around a lush, tropical courtyard and fountain. The Creole Gardens is one block from St. Charles streetcar and Mardi Gras parade routes, minutes from the French Quarter, Magazine Street and the Convention Center. All rooms open to outdoor areas, for that true Nawlins lifestyle. FREE Hot Southern Breakfast served daily. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Hotel New Orleans
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing