We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Port in a storm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Creole Gardens was there for us in a time of need. We live in New Orleans with two large active dogs. Because of Hurricane Isaac our power was off for several days. It wasn't that hot by NO standards, mid 80s with 90% humidity (at midnight). We were miserable and sleepless, dealing with the heat and anxiety. Luckily Creole Gardens had a cancellation and was able to take us including dogs for two nights. After laboring all day cleaning up the yard and house, it was great to have a clean, comfortable, cool room to rest up for the night. Having beautiful Coliseum Sq Park (yes, I have spelled it correctly) a short walk away made it manageable for the dogs. The operators were sympathetic and understanding and did not take advantage of our situation. Friendly, laid-back, honest people.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 912 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Creole Gardens when our electricity was knocked out for several days due to Hurricane Isaac. This place LOVES large dogs, which is rare to find! The room we had was quaint and made us feel right at home (we live in an 1800s shotgun ourselves). Keith and Cathy were more than friendly and helped us really feel at home. When we couldn't find the remote, Cathy came up with a bottle of wine! Love.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

They made it like home away from home. My son and I stayed in cottage 9 with our dog and we loved it. It's close to a dog park and we walked pretty much everywhere we went from the aquarium to Kim J's. (great gumbo-kathy's suggestion!) I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raevyn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I was supposed to stay 3 nights but I did not make it past one. I was very turned off by the city as we drove looking for the hotel, it seemed like a rough area, but later I realized it was not, it is just "New Orleans" We picked this hotel as we were traveling with 2 dogs, in addition, I enjoy b&bs, and prefer not being in the middle of the touristy areas.
The room was very small, But I was warned as I made the reservation. the room seemed clean, bathroom was big compared to the room. However the ac unit was extremely loud, tv was old and tiny. A person who is a light sleeper could have problems falling asleep with the noise of the AC. The room "as is" would be ideal for young travelers ('20s) that want a clean room for a reasonable price. To cater to older travelers, I would make some changes. In order to make the room more accommodating, they should put in a bunk bed against the wall to save space and a flat screen tv on the wall, that setting will open up the room and also allow space for a small chair and table. the bottom of the bunk bed could be full size, the owners should take a trip to ikea and get some inexpensive ideas on making the most of small spaces. on the other hand, front desk people were very friendly and helpful. The main house/dining area had lots of character, however the outside needs some care. Patio and entrance should be repaved, to separate the hotel from the bad shape of the street/sidewalks are in.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sporto1677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Bringing our teen to college at LUNO was a delightful experience thanks in no small part to our stay at Creole Gardens. Kathy and Keith could not have been more gracious. Our room was a gorgeous mix of Caribbean colors - I felt like I was staying in artwork! Actually, the entire B&B feels like artwork, giving a true Naw'leans slant to our stay. Will definitely book here again. Great location too. We had a car (no trouble with street parking), but the trolley is so close that public transportation would work equally as well. Only thing we missed was a hot breakfast (as we were weekday guests) - would have loved some banana bread or grits ...

Room Tip: Guests with dogs stay in the Caribbean area, which I would recommend for everyone! Free wifi on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

WOW!! This was our first ever at a B&B so we were quite nervous to say the least but Keith and Kathy were there to meet us upon our arrival with a smile on thier face and a warm greeting, even though we were late due to traffic, which helped ease some nerves. It is so charming & quaint, away from the hustle & bustle but yet just a short cab ride away from anything & everything NOLA has to offer. The courtyard is beautiful and the art decorations in the B&B are amazing. The hot breakfast was great and Barbara always served with a smile. The staff seems to really enjoy working there and it shows in how they treat the guests. We can't wait to go back and stay in a cottage next time. I would def recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: The PentHouse is the whole 3rd floor with a balcony that is good for early morning coffee or late ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlross22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
creolegardens, Staff at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

So glad we were your First and that you enjoyed your stay !!! We strive to make everyone happy and comfortable and we'll do what we can to make your stay in NOLA the best ever ! C'mon down anytime....would love to have you stay with us again !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Making a trip across the USA, the Creole Garden has been the best place we stayed overnight. If you book a night here you´ll get a lovely room where you can feel like home, you´ll be amazed by all the arty stuff hanging on the walls and the hot breakfast (eggs, bacon, grits, cereals, bagels...) will taste great. We even got a discount on the nicest room they have....and the french quarter is in a walking distance. (20-25 min) ...so all in all I strongly recommend this place. ;)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erwin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 141 in New Orleans
505 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Green House Inn
Green House Inn
#11 of 141 in New Orleans
390 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#17 of 141 in New Orleans
691 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Melrose Mansion
Melrose Mansion
#15 of 141 in New Orleans
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1415 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $124 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Lower Garden District, this property features 24 rooms in several 1840's historic mansions and converted servants quarters, centered around a lush, tropical courtyard and fountain. The Creole Gardens is one block from St. Charles streetcar and Mardi Gras parade routes, minutes from the French Quarter, Magazine Street and the Convention Center. All rooms open to outdoor areas, for that true Nawlins lifestyle. FREE Hot Southern Breakfast served daily. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed And Breakfast
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing