We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lessons Learned from a First Time New Orleans Vacationer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lessons Learned from a First Time New Orleans Vacationer”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We needed a roof over our heads and didn't want to pay a fortune. We were successful at getting a roof over our heads at this B&B. That's about all I can say positive about it. I recommend calling a lot of places, not just relying on online booking tools, and booking well in advance of your planned travel dates. Oh yeah, don't forget to ask for a quote in writing before you give your credit card information. Some owners and managers feel it's okay to charge new, undisclosed fees on top of what was quoted verbally (case in point - Creole Gardens Bed and Breakfest). Also, don't let small problems ruin any bit of your trip! Just have fun!

Maybe knowlege of the pricing will be helpful here too - Our group's 4 night stay totaled approximately $1,200 ($300 per night). For a big city during a busy weekend I guess that's okay, but don't expect high quality services or facilities just because your're paying a lot. That goes for this place for sure and probably other places too.

I love New Orleans and a neighborhood in or near the Garden District is perfect if you want to avoid the busy tourism of the French Quarter. Awesome trip despite various issues with the B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
creolegardens, Owner at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
We are terribly sorry about your experience and have made some changes based on this. We have asked this guest to contact us directly about her experience and had asked our front desk person helping us during their stay to contact them; apparently they did not do that and we made some staffing changes. The guests were here during Jazzfest and there is always an extra fee for additional people, which is written on the emailed confirmation but we had asked our staff to let them know we'd waive it (the Jazzfest rate was $229 plus tax included full breakfast for 3 people). The side courtyard they overlooked are the addditional historic houses on the side (not a part of the main property) which was badly hit by wind in Katrina. We have a lot of historic building materials and other items for the houses in that side courtyard but we agree we need to find a better place to put them....Thanks for the input...we always appreciate it. Sometimes we get so bogged down with the daily stuff of the past several years that we lose sight of the overall picture!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    185
    45
    25
    11
See reviews for
134
383
61
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

My wife and I were fortunate enough to stay at Creol Gardens on the 5th and 6th of may. Our initial decision to stay here was the pet friendly policy, but we were greatly surprised and pleased at how much we enjoyed our stay. We are typically not B&B type of travelers but the individual quarters around the courtyard fit us perfectly. The great proximity to St. Charles ave made trips to the quarter easy as pie and plenty to do and see on St.Charles its self. All and all great stay. If your looking for 5 star property wit 1000 CR sheets this isn't for you. If your looking for an authentic New Orleans experience I don't think you can do better than Creol Gardens.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdllml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
creolegardens, Owner at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thanks for your great words! We loved having you and hope you can come back again soon to enjoy our amazing town and our unique inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This was a great place to stay. I think this will be our new ace in the hole. Breakfast was great and the staff was very helpful!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchamedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
creolegardens, Owner at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed our welcoming informality and hospitality and hope to see you all again! And we love that you got to take our bikes out for a ride through the area...its so close to the French Quarter and everything else and with New Orleans being so flat, its a great way to see the town! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

From the moment I walked in I was welcomed like you want to be at a B&B. The first thing I did was get a bike from the garage and rode all around the Gardens on a beautiful afternoon. The rest of my three night visit (for business) was both relaxing and enjoyable as I mixed business and pleasure. When I needed some recommendations on sites or where to eat, they were happy to oblige, and when I went to a place they were not familiar they asked questions and genuinely wanted my feedback.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Mansion are spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
creolegardens, Owner at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Wow, thanks so much for really enjoying our place and letting us know! Thanks for being part of our always growing Creole Gardens extended family...come back and see us next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

What to say, other than my visit there during this year's JazzFest was as wonderful and restful as the many other times I have stayed there in years past. The staff were efficient and helpful with everything. The fine breakfast wasn't whisked away at exactly 10am or whatever time it's supposed to be over, which I loved because I like to catch up on sleep when I'm there and not feel rushed. The coffee was excellent, too. The owners Karen and Steve are two extremely knowledgeable and interesting people, and I enjoy just relaxing and talking with them. The room was delightful, an interior design suggesting that Karen really takes the time to explore Magazine Street's superb antique stores to decorate the rooms with a discerning eye. The courtyard is so relaxing in the morning, the location in the Lower Garden District cannot be beat, and I can't wait to get back there. Thanks for a great stay - again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I was very hopeful that I would have a great experience with this B&B, but I unfortunately I had issues and cannot recommend it.

The negatives:
- From the very beginning, they messed up my reservation.The manager was rude when I tried to correct the problem and the owners were unresponsive. Be careful because they will apply additional charges to your credit card without notifying you of any changes in the invoice.
- When we arrived, we found one of the beds covered in hair (pubic and head). We had to ask the attendant for new sheets. He was very apologetic, and said that the washer/dryer is not great and sometimes hair and lint stick to the sheets. Regardless, it was gross.
- The place could be very attractive, but they do not keep it up well. The sink was clogged, but that didn't matter much because water came out of the faucet as a dribble. There were holes in the wall that had been patched with spackle, but not repainted, so it looked shabby.

The Positives:
- It is in a very convenient location to the streetcar and it's a safe neighborhood.
- The breakfasts are good.
- They are historic buildings with character.

This place has a lot of potential, but for the price, I am sure I could stay at a nicer place that places a higher value on customer service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melopoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My husband and I stay here for 3 nights. We arrived early due to the 12 hr drive and Brian allowed us to check in 2 hrs early. I loved the character and history this bed and breakfast had to offer. The owner Steve was very knowledgeable as to the history of the property and was sprucing it up but that didn't hinder our stay here. Breakfast was freshly cooked every morning. There were two stops for the st. Charles street car within a block. I loved this place and will book again with them in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sstorey75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
creolegardens, Owner at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
We loved having you stay with us too and will always try to go over above to make sure people have a great time and get a taste of real New Orleans music, culture, history and all the great things we too love this town for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
239 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
512 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
7,106 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Auberge NOLA Hostel
#1 of 35 in New Orleans
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast

Property: Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1415 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Lower Garden District, this property features 24 rooms in several 1840's historic mansions and converted servants quarters, centered around a lush, tropical courtyard and fountain. The Creole Gardens is one block from St. Charles streetcar and Mardi Gras parade routes, minutes from the French Quarter, Magazine Street and the Convention Center. All rooms open to outdoor areas, for that true Nawlins lifestyle. FREE Hot Southern Breakfast served daily. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Hotel New Orleans
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing