We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old World Style... New World Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Frenchmen Hotel
Ranked #44 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Al
1 review
“Old World Style... New World Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

When we arrived at the property, we were glad to see that is located away from all the hustle and crowds of the French Quarters but close enough to walk to anywhere we wanted to go. The hotel will make you think you went back in time... charming, clean, freindly management and relaxing are the words I would use to describe it. I will be back! The rooms were large enough and the price was the best value in New Orleans. The staff and mamagement were helpful when we asked for things to visit and places to eat, they know the city well and were eager to help us.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NavymanBirmingham_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    278
    79
    61
    38
See reviews for
112
401
61
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hoover, Alabama
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

My family and i were planning a trip to New Orleans and the Frenchman Hotel was everyones choice in where to stay. So when we arrived in the afternoon, the service desk greeted us friendly and showed us where our rooms would be. The rooms had plenty of space for everyone to relax in and was very comfortable. Not only were the rooms nice, but the location of the building is great. You have delecious eateries and attractions where ever you turn and even the sightings from out of your window is amazing. The hotel is an attraction all in its own. The charm and history will make you feel as if you always belonged there. I would definitely be coming back to this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D-Yellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

We checked in this weekend for the Saints vs. Atlanta game. We were here last year and can tell a major difference!

We have room 300 a suite which has been so spacious and inviting. There are fresh flowers in the room and we had champagne waiting on us.

Last year we stayed here and were horrified! The rooms were dark and unkept. The manager we came in contact with last year seemed like he was drunk and didn't care about our concerns. WHAT A DIFFERENCE! Let me tell everyone: THIS PLACE HAS CHANGED! The front desk staff is amazing and Kenesha is a doll! She is the manager of guest satisfaction and rightfully so. I don't know what's going on here but KEEP IT UP!

We will definitley return! New Orleans is an awesome city and the Frenchmen is an awesome place to witness all the fun.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diamondambitions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LamotheHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Thanks for your wonderful remarks. Which i have shared with our staff.We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kenesha Green
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

New Orelans is a blast, we'll go again, just not to that hotel. So not worth the price.

The staff was correct, nice, I guess they were trying, but obviously just not professional. We asked for two keys for the room (room 100, btw). Only got one, the second one did not work and we could not get it replaced through the three day stay despite asking for it several times.

The pool, small and not heated, but fine. The "hot" tub is lukewarm, at most. The floors in the room were mopped everyday, but clearly with the same water they were mopping every room, not exactly clean water.

But wait, there is more!
4 of the 9 light bulbs in the room were burnt.
The nice, large sun deck, only had two chairs to lay down and tan, one of them broken!

And worst, look at the picture of the dresser in our room, not only useless, but looking at it gave the feeling of a total dump.

All this for $170 a night.!!!!
Really?

DO NOT GO THERE. NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LamotheHouseHotel, General Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2010
We at the Frenchmen would like to thank you for your comments. We know that the property has been neglected and are taking care, though we know slowly, to rectify the maladies left by the previous management. The housekeeping issue is being addressed with our head housekeeper right now and procedures will change due to the input you’ve provided. We found, after taking control that much of the maintenance such as the disrepair of the room locks, with keys sometimes not working and already have our handyman checking all the locks and the staff is testing every key. I’m afraid the dresser is vestige of the old home that became the Frenchmen. Frequently our guests aren’t aware of the more delicate nature of the antique pieces and can handle them rather roughly. You are right in that a housekeeper should have notified us immediately so that our repairman could have taken it out for repair at that time and it has been now. We apologize for any inconvenience and do sincerely thank you for the input. We are using it. It is our desire to provide a quality product with excellent service and we ask that our guests be patient with us while we undo what never should have been done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Frenchman the end of August. We were disappointed in the staff, they were cold and made us feel that we were bothering them. The rooms were small which was fine except we ended up sharing with the roaches for control over the bathroom. The only good thing about the room was the bed was comfortable. There breakfast consisted of donuts or bread for toasting some coffee and that was it, I received better in bed and breakfasts. The price was not worth it. I should have booked the Holiday Inn on Royal for less, at least I know what I would be getting. I have stayed in New Orleans over the years in may different places and this by far in the bottom of the list.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishprces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LamotheHouseHotel, Public Relations Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2010
We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better. The hotel agent gave this particular guest an option to move to another room of which they declined. I have reviewed the guest's feedback personally in detail with the hotel staff, and for any inconveniences, we sincerely apologize. We would love for everyone to come back and visit the Frenchmen hotel!


Kenesha Green
Public Relations Manager
Frenchmen Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Creek, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

We travel to NO 1-2 times per year. My first experience with the Frenchman was during June 2009 when I had traveled alone for the first time to visit our son who lives in NO. He recommended it to me for its location and security as I would have days when he would be at work. It was an excellent choice for a woman traveling alone. It is convenient for daily walks to the French Market and wonderful restaurants are right outside the door! We brought our other adult children as well as an infant this May-June. The prices were affordable and rooms were clean., Breakfast was good and certainly was a money saver for a the 6 of us! There were spaces where the whole family could gather (dogs included!). The most outstanding part of the visit however was the staff. These people made us feel welcome and certainly took care of all of our needs. Parking is ever a problem in the quarter, although there is off street parking ( limited and very tight), but once again staff worked to meet our needs.
This Hotel does not offer glamor or glitz but it does offer New Orleans charm and staff that are as friendly and as helpful as you will find anywhere! We definitely found a new home in New Orleans!

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank redfeathermama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

When we first arrived at the Frenchmen, I have to say I was disappointed. BUT we've never stayed in a hotel that wasn't part of a chain...

Pros:
* Close to everything, but not so much that you are bothered by raucous nightclubs, etc.
* Securely locked down at night
* Pet friendly! (Had we known this beforehand, we would've brought our dog along!)
* Charming and unique
* Great price! (We got our room, Room 207, for about $60 a night including tax)
* Very comfortable bed

Cons:
* Pool appeared unkempt upon arrival, but they worked on that :-)
* The noise level from other guests was a little too much, especially in the mornings
* Tiny bathroom/shower
* The covered parking is very small. It was a tight fit for our little Saturn coupe.
* Some of the things in the room didn't work well -- the bathroom doorknob, the TV remote and the ceiling fan.

In the end, the hotel felt more and more like home each day. This place has personality and will grow on you after a few days! If you don't intend on staying holed up in your room for your entire stay (and who would?), it's perfect! We are already planning on returning.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stellarmagnitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#25 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#33 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#18 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#19 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchmen Hotel

Property: The Frenchmen Hotel
Address: 417 Frenchmen St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Frenchmen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With year round front door access to the heart of NOLA's live music scene, The Frenchmen Hotel is the perfect home for your next escape. Consisting of three remodeled mid 19th century Creole town houses, a heated pool, and beautiful sky deck, The Frenchmen offers a unique blend of modern comfort, contemporary fun, and historic class. Boutique without the fuss, The Frenchmen offers a variety of room types from lofted courtyard Queens to King Suites boasting private balconies on Frenchmen St. When the brass bands line up on the corner of Chartres and Frenchmen, be the first at the scene. Located right in the action, The Frenchmen offers unrivaled access to nightclubs, bars, and restaurants, putting both the French Quarter and Marigny neighborhoods at your fingertips. In addition to the heated pool, The Frenchmen provides free wi-fi for all guests, 24 hour complimentary coffee, tea, and bottled water service, as well as gated and covered parking for a nightly fee. We also welcome pets under 50lb. with deposit, and serve complimentary breakfast every morning in our gallery. Planning a party, group adventure, wedding, or event? The Frenchmen is the perfect home for your soiree, and our staff prides itself on concierge and planning services. Get to know New Orleans hassle-free and enjoy your dream vacation at ease. Contact the Front Desk 24/7 for more info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Frenchmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmen Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing