We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Frenchmen Hotel
Ranked #45 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I had a booked my trip months in advance, then had my female companion flake out on me at the last minute. I went anyway and a buddy of mine met me for the weekend. I had booked one of the smaller rooms with only one bed, but without any hassle they upgraded us to a bigger room and got him a nice cot to sleep on. We had a BLAST in the Quarter and Frenchmen St. and loved the hotel. Great location, people and very clean... If you're lookking for something fun and different I highly recommend it. I will DEFINITELY be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgwatson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

sgwatson,

Good of you to have written. I remember speaking to you on the phone. Happy to hear it all worked out for you. Hope to see you again soon, maybe with your female companion next time. Again thanks for taking the time to write.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (976)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 976 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

see jazz on Frenchman and skip Bourbon St at this great location. Don't expect a nice breakfast at the hotel but hey, thats why your in NOLA. AC was cold. Staff was friendly. Room was quiet. I would go back again for sure.

Room Tip: get a room in the back to buffer from the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mtowner38107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Well thank you so much for taking the time to write. Brevity truly is virtue, especially when it so succinct. Your comment are so appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

My boyfriend and I enjoyed every amenity the hotel had to offer. The room was charming - slightly small (deluxe queen) but enough for us. The hotel's location was its strong point; proximity to the French Quarter without the crowding of Bourbon street. Frenchman street had lots of great bars and venues. The staff were very friendly and helpful. RJ gave us suggestions for sights and activities which we thoroughly enjoyed. Our only real complaint was the quality of sleep. Due to the relatively small size and closeness of the units, the maids and general bustle in the morning were very audible from inside the room. The Wifi was also very poor in our room. This is very important for travelers, and should be improved if possible. Another suggestion for improvement would be including a little more organization in the rooms - starting with towel/coat hooks. All in all, we would absolutely return to this hotel again and have a favourable review of the hospitality.

Room Tip: Don't cheap out - pick a bigger one. They're small to begin with so it will make a differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hoboboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Hoboboxer,

Thank you so much for writing. It is always appreciated. Your suggestions have been duly noted and will be taken under consideration. Thank you for that. We hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Frenchmen Hotel. Kenesha at the front desk was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The first night we had a room facing the street and it was quite loud so she upgraded us to a suite on the 2nd floor. We were there with our 10 YO twins and 13YO. I was very happy we were there during the week when the crazy element shut down by 11:00 p.m. The rooms aren't huge (though the suite was very large) and the bathrooms were a bit dingy, but the service and location was so great that it didn't matter. Very good value for the money. Walking distance to everything without being in the middle of everything.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs, but totally worth it! Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JenCoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

JenCoy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We enjoy, so much, hearing the feedback from our guests. We hope to see you again really soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

If you are looking for total luxury with room service and fancy rooms, keep looking. This hotel is not it. WHAT IT IS is a cozy getaway hotel. Instead of the stiff hotel staff you would have in your 4 star hotels, here you feel like you are staying at your favorite aunt's house in a spare bedroom. And it is awesome! It is the best time I have had in a really long time. I don't recommend this place for families unless you will be occupying multiple rooms but for that couple getaway it is perfect! Our room was perfect with a roomy balcony where we spent hours just listening to the local musicians from. The staff is amazing. No matter what time of day it is, they will help you make sure you have the best experience! This is our new home away from home! I loved it!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room if you want the best experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Adrienne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Adrienne,

Thank you so much. It is true that we are not your cookie cutter hotel and we do not want to be. We understand that some people want the same thing where ever they go. We want you to leave here feeling just as you felt and are so happy to hear that we are your new home away from home. We very much look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here July 6th & 7th. The Frenchmen Hotel is located smack dab in the middle of fantastic music venues, 1 safe block from the French Market and very near the Artisit Market which I highly recommend checking out. Our room was recently renovated and the bed is more comfortable than our bed at home. Had the best nights sleep. We took advantage of the swimming pool due to the heat of July weather in Nola which was great after spending the day walking around the Quarter. The shower was great, adequate hot water and lush, thick towels. The hotel employees are absolutely the best we have experienced in New Orleans as far as friendliness and making great recommendations of things to do and places to eat. Kenesha, the general manager is the sweetest!! Props to the Frenchmen Hotel for a wonderful stay! We will return!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

MLClement,

It is so nice of you to have taken the time to write. We appreciate it more than you know. We especially love to hear that the staff was a featured element of your stay. We try to make everyone's stay a memorable (in a good way) occasion. Please come back and see us. Maybe you can take advantage of our BOGO Tuesday and stay Mon/Tues, Tues/Weds get the Tuesday free. We'd love to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had a wonderful stay. Felt like I was at home, we live in an older house. Staff was very accommodating. Although room was small, loved that we had the pool right outside our door. It was hot and the air conditioner worked wonderfully. Loved that we were on Frechman street and right next to LMF. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terresalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Teresa,

It is so nice of you to have taken the time to comment. Thank you. We couldn't be happier that you liked the hotel and enjoyed yourself. We also are very happier to here that we will be seeing you again. Hurry back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#25 of 166 in New Orleans
1,097 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#61 of 166 in New Orleans
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#113 of 166 in New Orleans
962 reviews
Historic Streetcar Inn
#143 of 166 in New Orleans
660 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#35 of 166 in New Orleans
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchmen Hotel

Address: 417 Frenchmen St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $124 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Frenchmen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With year round front door access to the heart of NOLA's live music scene, The Frenchmen Hotel is the perfect home for your next escape. Consisting of three remodeled mid 19th century Creole town houses, a heated pool, and beautiful sky deck, The Frenchmen offers a unique blend of modern comfort, contemporary fun, and historic class. Boutique without the fuss, The Frenchmen offers a variety of room types from lofted courtyard Queens to King Suites boasting private balconies on Frenchmen St. When the brass bands line up on the corner of Chartres and Frenchmen, be the first at the scene. Located right in the action, The Frenchmen offers unrivaled access to nightclubs, bars, and restaurants, putting both the French Quarter and Marigny neighborhoods at your fingertips. In addition to the heated pool, The Frenchmen provides free wi-fi for all guests, 24 hour complimentary coffee, tea, and bottled water service, as well as gated and covered parking for a nightly fee. We also welcome pets under 50lb. with deposit, and serve complimentary breakfast every morning in our gallery. Planning a party, group adventure, wedding, or event? The Frenchmen is the perfect home for your soiree, and our staff prides itself on concierge and planning services. Get to know New Orleans hassle-free and enjoy your dream vacation at ease. Contact the Front Desk 24/7 for more info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Frenchmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmen Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing