We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Frenchmen Hotel
Ranked #45 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I can't decide if this place is boutique chic, ghetto, or something in-between. Whatever it is, the staff was great, the room was unique, the building a lovingly cared-for historic structure, and the location on Frenchmen Street perfect for accessing the Frenchmen Art Market, the French Market, the Mississippi Riverfront, and the rest of the French Quarter.

Room Tip: Splurge for the Deluxe Queen in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gradresearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment. We do appreciate it. By the way, we would prefer chic if you don't mind. It is rather difficult to define us. We really rather like our uniqueness and we are happy you do also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 968 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I booked a room here based on value and good reviews and was not disappointed. Each room is decorated slightly different, which just adds to the charm. Small, intimate, and very interesting.

Very much modern accommodations with Creole hospitality. Rooms are small, but the beds are VERY comfortable. Not the place for families with small children or large groups, but perfect for couples visiting the French Quarter.

Awesome staff, they remember who you are and why you are there. Ours even greeted us by name every time we came back.

New Orleans is my favorite vacation spot, and we will absolutely be staying at The Frenchmen again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lisabmcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

And we very much look forward to have you back. Your gracious words are most appreciated. We do try to keep the place eclectic and charming and are guest are why we are in the business. Looking forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We decided to make a trip to New Orleans for a couple days to take the kids to the zoo and do some touring around. I wanted a place close to the French Quarters so we could just walk from place to place and this hotel definitely fit the bill. We enjoyed the seclusion and privacy it provided even though it was in a high traffic area. The court yard with the pool was very scenic and the kids enjoyed swimming. The patio up top was nice if you wanted to get out and relax in the sun or enjoy the morning air while you drink a cup of coffee. We had one of the loft rooms which was pretty neat and the kids enjoyed the downstairs room. This hotel is definitely an old style type and that's what we were looking for. We wanted something else besides your chain style hotels and we found it with the Frenchmen. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RonandKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

What a great recommendation. We are so happy you took to the time and appreciate your observations. We do have a rather unique location and there is nothing quite like being able to see our efforts to provide the experience you've described reflected through the words of another.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed here based on reviews I read. I couldn't have picked a better hotel! The pool was small but very lush and tropical. The room (208) was nice in size. The only drawback was the tub/shower. I think it was made for hobbits. I'm not a tall person and I had to duck under the shower head. But the room itself was very clean and charming. This is NOT a 5 star hotel so, there was only a small CRT TV but who goes to NOLA to watch TV? The staff was very attentive and friendly. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Some other reviews complained about the "noise" from the nearby clubs and bars ...It's called The Frenchmen Hotel because it's ON Frenchmen St. where all the live music clubs are! If you don't like music stay somewhere else! I loved being able to cross the street and stumble into one of the dozen or so clubs on Frenchmen.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank the11thsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We do appreciate it. We rather like our position on the Frenchmen landscape. We are too slowly moving out all of the CRTes and moving in flat screens. We so look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our experience at The Frenchman Hotel was great! I loved the aesthetics of the hotel, just my taste! Also the customer service was great, always very helpful, clean, and had coffee and continental breakfast in the mornings.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

I cannot say it enough. This is what the staff lives for. It is such a justification of all the effort we put into trying to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Please don't stay here if you are looking for a five star hotel; you will be disappointed. But this place has a lot of character and charm, and the location is fantastic. Right on the edge of the French Quarter on Frenchmen Street, so close to the French Market. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the outdoor pool and roof patio were nice touches. I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming into New Orleans!
(Felt very safe for those concerned with the location. Walked around at night, and of course there are a LOT of interesting characters, but because it's a lively street with a few bars, it felt safe.)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SevillesBarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

We cannot thank you enough for describing us so thoroughly, and just as we would like to be known. We know that our converted 19th century buildings aren't going to be able to provide 5 star service but we strive to provide clean rooms and personal service, and as you intimated the Marigny and French Quarter can provide those other amenities. Again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed at the Frenchmen Hotel this past weekend 5-31-6-1. It was a fantastic stay. This quaint, beautiful hotel is off the beaten path of Bourbon Street, but absolutely within walking distance of Bourbon. The courtyard and pool are fantastic, the beds are comfortable. On Bourbon street, it is very difficult to sleep. On Bourbon Street, once the crowds and music finally stop, then the trash trucks and delivery trucks start up creating a sleepless night; however, at the Frenchmen Hotel, the music goes on for a little while past my bed time, but it does become very quiet. Call the Frenchmen Hotel FIRST to see if there are any vacancies for your vacation before you book anywhere else. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flfitguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Such a glowing review you almost make us want to blush. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you've let others know. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#24 of 166 in New Orleans
1,074 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#52 of 166 in New Orleans
619 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#110 of 166 in New Orleans
930 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#63 of 166 in New Orleans
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchmen Hotel

Address: 417 Frenchmen St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $132 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Frenchmen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With year round front door access to the heart of NOLA's live music scene, The Frenchmen Hotel is the perfect home for your next escape. Consisting of three remodeled mid 19th century Creole town houses, a heated pool, and beautiful sky deck, The Frenchmen offers a unique blend of modern comfort, contemporary fun, and historic class. Boutique without the fuss, The Frenchmen offers a variety of room types from lofted courtyard Queens to King Suites boasting private balconies on Frenchmen St. When the brass bands line up on the corner of Chartres and Frenchmen, be the first at the scene. Located right in the action, The Frenchmen offers unrivaled access to nightclubs, bars, and restaurants, putting both the French Quarter and Marigny neighborhoods at your fingertips. In addition to the heated pool, The Frenchmen provides free wi-fi for all guests, 24 hour complimentary coffee, tea, and bottled water service, as well as gated and covered parking for a nightly fee. We also welcome pets under 50lb. with deposit, and serve complimentary breakfast every morning in our gallery. Planning a party, group adventure, wedding, or event? The Frenchmen is the perfect home for your soiree, and our staff prides itself on concierge and planning services. Get to know New Orleans hassle-free and enjoy your dream vacation at ease. Contact the Front Desk 24/7 for more info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Frenchmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmen Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing