We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Romantic Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Frenchmen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Frenchmen Hotel
Ranked #46 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Romantic Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I spent a romantic 3 day weekend at the Frenchmen Hotel.. It was the perfect place to be.. Close to the quarter and right next door to all the music you could want. We were within walking distance to all the major sites... French Quarter attractions and restaurants. The hotel itself is very quaint. Old World charm; with modern facilities. Beautiful courtyard with a beautiful pool. We look forward to coming back during the summer. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. No complaints at all - can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
What a lovely review. Thank you so much. We always hope to provide and aspire to this sort of service. You will find your summer stay equally as lovely. Things move more slowly in the summer and there is just a nice languid feel to city. We can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    255
    72
    61
    34
See reviews for
99
361
59
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have stayed at the Frenchmen Hotel about 5 times now. Always very clean, friendly staff & very close to local music, food & sights. I like the fact this hotel isn't smack in the middle of Bourbon St., but still in the French Quarter. Rooms are small but quaint. Kenesha at the front desk is wonderful...she has worked there for years.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Frenchmen with us and others on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased to hear that you guys enjoyed your stay at the Frenchmen Hotel, Hope to see you in the near future.



Again,Thank You
Kenesha Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here before and after a cruise from New Orleans. Cute, nice hotel. Great staff. Clean, nice rooms. We were on the first floor both times. Room 101 is directly on the street and it was pretty loud outside We stayed in the courtyard second time and very quiet!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank meisen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Well thank you so much for writing. We do try to provide the most enjoyable experience possible. Some love the energy of the street and some the peace of the courtyard. We are glad you got to experience both and that you had a pleasant experience. We hope to see again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night at the Frenchmen Hotel after returning from a cruise.
The hotel staff is nice, and the hotel is just outside the French Quarter (a plus) and in a very hip area, but there are two things which people should be aware of before reserving a room:
(1) The hotel is located on a VERY NOISY street. There is a club right across the street that stays open to the wee hours of the morning BLASTING music which we could hear from what we were told would be a quiet room on the second floor. Falling asleep to the very loudly amplified music coming from the club across the street is not easy! (2) There are no elevators and getting a suitcase weighing 40-50 pounds up the twenty steps to the second floor is a challenge - and a pain! So if you have a suitcase of any significant weight you should book a ground floor room - but only you are willing to put up with the blaring music from right across the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time write. We are on one of the most dynamic streets in the city. It is the new center for music, especially Jazz, not to mention the food. I'm sorry to hear that you had a unpleasant time due to the music. If you should decide to come back please feel free to ask for a room on the ground floor and at the back of the property in the courtyard where things are a little more insulated. It is our goal to ensure you a pleasant stay. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel location is situated just off the French Quarter and has all the local flavor with great restaurants and bars for both day and night. The services at the front desk were fabulous; fulfilling all our needs and special attention. The suite, which included a balcony for viewing the street activity, was large and very clean each of our 6 days. The trolley boarding is one block away, the Pedi cabs are plentiful, and taxi service was convenient. It is a very safe location to walk both during the daytime and in the evening. I have travelled across the world and the experience at The Frenchmen Hotel was extremely pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you're here for the music...this is a great location! Frenchmen street has some of the best jazz musicians and clubs in New Orleans!
The Frenchmen Hotel, as the title states, is a quirky hotel but we found it sufficient for our stay. I would suggest calling ahead rather than confirming on line to reconfirm your room type. We booked a suite (3 adults) and from the website description looked like a bedroom with a living area and sofa bed. Our "suite" was a medium sized room with a king size bed and pull out couch directly across from it. The sofa bed however could not be opened without moving it and other furniture as when we tried we ran into the wall! If we had moved tables and sofa to open the sofa bed, you then climb over the bed to get to the closet and door...Quirky!
But we stayed and made it work.
The room was clean and again the staff was awesome! Our room was in the front with a small balcony overlooking Frenchmen Street and across from one of the Jazz clubs. There is no door to the balcony, you actually step through the raised windows! If you are a light sleeper this in not the room for you (#204) but we had no problem falling asleep to the sound of great music!
We totally enjoyed our stay and would return...just a little wiser about our specific accomodations!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for the very nice review. I am passing along the fung shui faux pas you pointed out. It's generous of you to have taken the time to comment. We are especially proud of our location to the music of the city as well as our staff. You mentioned both.

Again, thank you
Frenchmen Hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable beds, good service, great location and reasonably priced. I have known about this place for years but only started staying there recently. You have access to the restaurants in the Quarter and being in the center of the Jazz scene on Frenchmen. I usually fly in and out of N.O. but should you drive there is a garage for your car on the property.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
What a nice thing to hear. Food and music make this city. It is nice of you to mention both. We thank you for commenting on all that we have to offer and look very much forward to seeing you again.

Frenchmen Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#26 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#28 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#36 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#13 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchmen Hotel

Property: The Frenchmen Hotel
Address: 417 Frenchmen St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Frenchmen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With year round front door access to the heart of NOLA's live music scene, The Frenchmen Hotel is the perfect home for your next escape. Consisting of three remodeled mid 19th century Creole town houses, a heated pool, and beautiful sky deck, The Frenchmen offers a unique blend of modern comfort, contemporary fun, and historic class. Boutique without the fuss, The Frenchmen offers a variety of room types from lofted courtyard Queens to King Suites boasting private balconies on Frenchmen St. When the brass bands line up on the corner of Chartres and Frenchmen, be the first at the scene. Located right in the action, The Frenchmen offers unrivaled access to nightclubs, bars, and restaurants, putting both the French Quarter and Marigny neighborhoods at your fingertips. In addition to the heated pool, The Frenchmen provides free wi-fi for all guests, 24 hour complimentary coffee, tea, and bottled water service, as well as gated and covered parking for a nightly fee. We also welcome pets under 50lb. with deposit, and serve complimentary breakfast every morning in our gallery. Planning a party, group adventure, wedding, or event? The Frenchmen is the perfect home for your soiree, and our staff prides itself on concierge and planning services. Get to know New Orleans hassle-free and enjoy your dream vacation at ease. Contact the Front Desk 24/7 for more info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Frenchmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmen Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing