We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming New Orleans style with comfort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Frenchmen Hotel
Ranked #46 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming New Orleans style with comfort.”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We wanted to visit New Orleans during our family road trip. When we arrived in the city our tedious search for a reasonable and clean hotel began. Since we were traveling with 3 young children many of the major hotel chains wanted to charge us for a suite averaging $180 or higher. If we found a hotel with decent reviews that was affordable, they were booked.
The Frenchmen cost us $120 for the night and they did not care about us having 3 children. Another bonus was the parking which was included in the above price. Our car was secure and unlike the others was the cheapest price quoted to us.
Our children were excitted, as was I. The room was colorful, clean, nicely furnished and spacious for us all. The full sized beds were smaller then we were used to BUT they were the most comfortable we have stayed in yet.
The best part must have been the pool and hot tub. Since we arrived late, lost an hour do to time change and it took us an hour to find a place, I had lost hope in us doing anything fun that evening. However, we had a night swim in the cozy pool that was open till 11 pm while enjoying the jazz music from the neighboring bars. Our children had a blast.
I was actually sad to go and after visiting 4 hotels on our trip through 9 states the Frenchmen was my favorite. I would love to come back and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. It made our New Orleans trip memorable!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DSBJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    286
    80
    62
    39
See reviews for
116
412
66
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My disabled mother accompanied me on a business trip and the staff was amazing to both of us. When we arrived a handicapped parking space was there for us. Everytime I left in my car for the day, the hotel staff saved the spot. The ladies at the desk and the housekeeping staff were friendly and incredible. Great night life just around the corner. Charming rooms and very clean. I would not stay anywhere else in NOLO.

Room Tip: The place can be noisy just because it's right in the middle of a great NOLO neighborhood, but y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank behindeverycloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

If you are a Marriott / Hilton snob, this is not the place for you. But, if you are wanting the nawlins' experience at its finest, they you are in for a treat. Frenchmen Street is home to the blues. We were able to walk a block from our hotel and sit and enjoy adult beverages and live music every night we were in NO, six in all. Jackson Square is a mere six blocks away, and if you are at all familiar with the French Quarter, a block is only 1/10th of a mile, so the entire quarter is within easy striking distance, including affordable restaurants and bars.

We had the teeny tiny room located right off the main courtyard and found it quite charming. Let's face it, if you plan on staying in your room, why go to New Orleans in the first place. We too had partiers but we handled it in a calm manner - we went outside and joined them for a few minutes and chatted and consumed an adult beverage with them. When we parted, telling them we were heading to bed, they quieted down and we slept like babies.

Our room was clean. The wet wash cloth on the tile floor test yielded a clean washcloth. Bed linen was crisp and fresh smelling. Housekeeping staff was very accommodating, so much so, we came back from a day in the quarter to find clean towels hanging on the door, the staff having honored our do not disturb.

I will tell you the only serious shortcoming we noted - there is no elevator, so if you are not in good shape you will not like dealing with luggage. Unfortunately the hotel does not employ a bellperson.

Oh, I forgot - you are only two blocks to the end stop of the riverfront trolley, which will take you all the way to Riverfront and the Harrah's Casino on Canal Street - $3 per day.

Will definitely put The Frenchmen on my short list for my next trip to Nawlins.

Room Tip: No elevator so insist on ground floor if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FlaStateFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here. You can not beat the value nor the location. We love the personality of the place. It is clean, and the staff is friendly and helpful. We have driven both times, so the secure parking is a plus. If you love the blues, Frenchmen street is the place to be. Everything is right up the street. Also, the French Quarter is walkable from here, and a street car stop is within an easy stroll.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TR667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Water Island, Virgin Islands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Our teeny tiny room was located right off the main courtyard, and we didn't get a moments sleep. Other hotel guests congregated right outside our door all night long, and we were kept awake by loud partiers on their way in and out of the hotel.The hotel is well situated, but in addition to the in house noise, the place across the street blared music to all hours. We were in NO for the Jazz Festival, so we are not anti revelry, but the constant barrage was too much for us. I pride myself on being an adventurous traveler, but we ended up moving after 2 nights to the Sheraton on Canal Street, and despite not being refunded our last 2 nights, we were thrilled. The room was large and QUIET. Next time I will know better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not off the main courtyard on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSS2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Becasue I an a NOLA snob I don't skimp on hotels. I want to enjoy a nice clean hotel. I am a photographer and the PPA convention was being held in NOLA this year. At first I booked a five star hotel. The girls looked around and found this hotel which one had stayed before, but I was a little nervous. What a great place! Okay so the sofa sleeper (we rented the big suit) was god awful, but because everything else was fab...we didnt care. Great pool..great hot tub (a little small but okay) great location, and GREAT STAFF! They did everything to help us. In cluding the frontdesk person leaving the desk to watch our bags on the curb while we settled into our room one by one. Honestly....I don't want to be anywhere else. I will stay here again and again and again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is where my husband and I stayed for a week on our honeymoon. We got married at the Algiers Courthouse across the river. It was such a wonderful experience. We are huge coffee freaks. We love going to the coffee houses and just lounging about. We were on a small budget and I wouldn't change a thing. The rooms are small but, very comfortable. It was very New Orleans "Old". Very cute. Just an example of how old this place is.. We tried to park our truck in the parking area right under the hotel.. We ended up scratching the hell out of the side of the truck because it wouldn't fit into the old carriage way. Our truck is nearly 30 years old so.. as long as it still ran, we were just fine. We pointed towards the parking area of their sister hotel. All was right with the world and we loved it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klinkker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#26 of 163 in New Orleans
1,008 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 163 in New Orleans
2,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#34 of 163 in New Orleans
2,266 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#21 of 163 in New Orleans
1,282 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#113 of 163 in New Orleans
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchmen Hotel

Property: The Frenchmen Hotel
Address: 417 Frenchmen St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Frenchmen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With year round front door access to the heart of NOLA's live music scene, The Frenchmen Hotel is the perfect home for your next escape. Consisting of three remodeled mid 19th century Creole town houses, a heated pool, and beautiful sky deck, The Frenchmen offers a unique blend of modern comfort, contemporary fun, and historic class. Boutique without the fuss, The Frenchmen offers a variety of room types from lofted courtyard Queens to King Suites boasting private balconies on Frenchmen St. When the brass bands line up on the corner of Chartres and Frenchmen, be the first at the scene. Located right in the action, The Frenchmen offers unrivaled access to nightclubs, bars, and restaurants, putting both the French Quarter and Marigny neighborhoods at your fingertips. In addition to the heated pool, The Frenchmen provides free wi-fi for all guests, 24 hour complimentary coffee, tea, and bottled water service, as well as gated and covered parking for a nightly fee. We also welcome pets under 50lb. with deposit, and serve complimentary breakfast every morning in our gallery. Planning a party, group adventure, wedding, or event? The Frenchmen is the perfect home for your soiree, and our staff prides itself on concierge and planning services. Get to know New Orleans hassle-free and enjoy your dream vacation at ease. Contact the Front Desk 24/7 for more info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Frenchmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmen Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing