We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem in Nola!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Frenchmen Hotel
Ranked #41 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed in The Frenchmen hotel September 17-21.

It is a very cute hotel that reminds me of a Bed&Breakfast. It is in a great location, end on French Quoter and in walking distance to every famous street, you want to visit.

If you can, try to book a room that faces the courtyard - it is a pretty view on the pool and hot tub and very quiet. The street itself ( The Frenchmen street) has lots of bars and they play loud music until, probably, 1am, after that it is quiet. We had NO problem with any kind of noise because we didn't plan to be in NOLA and go to bed before midnight! It is so much fun to walk on the street around midnight, watch great crowd, artists selling their stuff, listen to different kind of music, can't imagine people complaining about the noise -it is part of fun vacation.
Once again, after 1am, it is very quiet and peaceful.

There is a bar next door, called MOJITO. What a great place! They have a fabulous Sunday brunch with live jazz and absolutely the best french toast, socked in creme-brulet and served with berries - MUST HAVE!!!!
We were finishing our day every night at Mojito's, sipping our beer, listening great music, dancing and watching people! Awesome place!

The hotel has a breakfast that is basically just coffee, donuts and some fruits but there are tons of places around within 3-5 walking minutes to have breakfast. Our favorite was the coffee shop Envy - the best breakfast in town and 5 minutes from the hotel!
French Market is within 5 minutes from the hotel, also. Lots of fun and great place for souvenirs and some drinks.
You will be 5 minutes walk from the river and street cars, 10 mins from Bourbon street and 15 mins - from Canal street. I mean, location of that little hotel is amazing!

We enjoyed a horse carriage tour - highly recommended - so much fun and so much history! They will stop by the oldest bar in Nola and the best Hurricanes in town. The waiter will walk to your carriage and you can order your drinks right on the street. That bar was the only bar open 24/7 during Katrina.

The only disappointment for us was that the hot tub in the hotel was broken. Hopefully it will be fixed before you get there, we were thinking how cool would be to sit in the hot tub every night because we did lots of walking :)

The bed in our room was very soft and squishy. I'm sure it is a great bed for lots of people but we love very firm mattress, so that was not our best bed. Just want to mention that for people like us, who can't really rest on a soft bed.

Be aware of people approaching you on the street with tricky questions ( "I can tell you where you got these shoes on?") and don't ask people on a street for direction - they will ask you to pay them. Get a map, talk to the receptionist in the hotel - The French Quarter is very easy to navigate so , if you have a map, you can get anywhere on your own :)
You will see lots of young people with dogs who will ask you a dollar for dogs food - don't fall for that. If you really are an animal lover, get some dogs food in a sandwich bag and hand it to them - this way you will know the dog will get food, not the owner - a beer :)

The receptionist in the hotel is there 24/7 so no matter what time you are back, they will always let you in and you feel secure and safe.
We got there 2 hours early and they let us in the room without any problems.
The staff is very nice and friendly, rooms are small and clean, a bit outdated but everything you need, is there.
We will absolutely stay there next time!
Email me with any additional questions.

Room Tip: Once again, If you can, try to book a room that faces the courtyard - it is a pretty view on the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Modern_Family_in_Mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchmengm, General Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Thank you for your praise of the Frenchmen Hotel. We also adore Mojito's, Cafe Envie and the French Market - just a few of the many great spots within walking distance from our front door. We apologize for the inconvenience with the hot tub and are happy to say the hot tub is operating at a piping 100 degrees Fahrenheit and will be through the cool NOLA winter months. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (976)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

791 - 797 of 976 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2011

This hotel is very New Orleans- it's laid back, a little rough around the edges, friendly and full of good times. It's almost like staying at your old eccentric aunt's house.
I believe that Frenchmen Street is one of the most amazing streets in the world and it will not stay this way forever. Many of the music venues are cover free and full of amazing performances- we saw a band battle on the corner of a street where two bands fought for the rights to the corner with music.
Now for the hotel- we stayed in I believe it was room 210- back in the corner- it was a little dark, the floor was sticky- king sized bed- old furniture. There were rolling beds et all stored in the hall corner. My friend had sent a bottle of champagne for our anniversary. It was in the room on ice. We took it to the pool which serves as the heart of the establishment.
The pool is tiny and in the summer- everyone hangs out there- all night. It's NO and there are just less restrictions. Fun for those that like to hang out late but maybe not so fun for those that want a quieter experience.
Now- this didn't really bother us but I could see someone else getting upset- one day before we were going out- brushing our teeth in the bathroom sink- a rubber pipe below it detached and started squirting water all over the room. We told the front desk and they had the handyman come. The problem was bigger than anyone realized and they moved us to a suite. The suite was significantly cleaner and nicer than the regular room- but it was funky as well. Bed is in an upstairs loft- no tv- downstairs to bedroom - seperate ac upstairs to keep it cool. Downstairs has couch, tv, closet, bathroom, nice patio with view of pool.
The "breakfast" is pretty standard cheap hotel continental- with instant grits available of course. My husband helped a worker move some heavy furniture and they gave us a bottle of cheap bubbly. I thought that was very nice.
You walk out the door and find Frenchmen in all its glory. There may be people making out on car roofs, trumpets being played while walking, drunken ridiculousness, people dressed to the 9s and homeless squatter kids as well as neighboorhood people selling bbq and vegetarian burritos. I imagine Frenchmen is what Bourbon St. was like 100 years ago before it lost all of its goodness and turned into trash. It is amazing- particularly during the week- Sat. not as much.
I love New Orleans as it is special and not like any other place in the country- this is good in some ways and inconvenient in others. This character makes me love it even more but I can see how others would not like it or understand it. The Frenchmen is very much a character-filled NO establishment.

Room Tip: Suites and in the back for quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank amyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchmengm, Guest Relations Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the New Orleans character of our boutique hotel and had an enjoyable time on lively Frenchmen Street. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The room was facing the street with two double glass doors! We never slept the entire trip,
One employee sit on the step to the doors and was fighting with her boyfriend. Drunks
walk by all night long, talking very loudly. The dead roach was really discusting, and
never cleaned up by the staff. And, the breakfast glazed doughnuts! WOW! Loved New
Orleans, just stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esther004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Frenchmen Hotel is located on Frenchmen Street which is surrounded by night life. Kenesha a manager at the hotel and is so sweet and helpful. Eat at Adolph's is a must. Great food, not costly but small. So get there early. Lots of bars to hear music and dance all night. The area is loads of fun.

Room Tip: boutique hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BatonRougeTraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchmengm, Guest Relations Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Thank you for your praise of our hotel and staff. We hope you come see us again soon for more late-night music and dancing fun on Frenchmen Street!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The Frenchmen is a great place to stay. We stayed in a loft room with 2 adults and 2 kids, and it was a bit snug, but worth it for the price, location, and friendly staff. At the bottom of Frenchmen street, you can walk to see lots of music, and you hear the music at night, but it is pleasant. Great little pool to cool off in the afternoon. Pretty hotel, wonderfully friendly staff. This is our second time staying here and we'll definitely stay here again when we visit NOLA. You can walk to the French Quarter but not be in it. Right by the market. You can bike to lots of places, and easy drive to City Park, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maufrais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The location was fine. But the fold out sofa and the cots were THE MOST UNCOMFORTABLE I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED. I am not a high maintenance traveler; but these mattresses were so uncomfortable, even our 6 and 7 year old kids couldn't sleep on them. Literally, you could take the mattress and squeeze with your hands and it compressed down to about 1/16th of an inch. We asked that something be done, and they brought up another cot and a bottle of champagne. The new cot was exactly the same. I'd say that the rooms are fine if you only get a single room. But don't expect to sleep on the cots or fold out sofas. Hate to speak poorly of the hotel because they did make some effort to satisfy us. But keeping those beds is a tremendous disservice to guests.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlabamaGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

If you want to stay at a nice place away from the French Quarter, this is the place! It doesn't look like much on the outside because it looks small, but we had a really nice stay. Our room was clean, quiet and the staff was really friendly. The French Market is right around the corner and the trolley station. There is private gated parking lot. Its a little tricky to enter and exit the lot because the entrance is narrow but not too bad once you get a hang of it.

If we make it to N'awlins again, we will once again choose The Frenchman!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mykidsarecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#24 of 166 in New Orleans
1,097 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#62 of 166 in New Orleans
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#112 of 166 in New Orleans
957 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#34 of 166 in New Orleans
616 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#48 of 166 in New Orleans
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchmen Hotel

Address: 417 Frenchmen St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $124 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Frenchmen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With year round front door access to the heart of NOLA's live music scene, The Frenchmen Hotel is the perfect home for your next escape. Consisting of three remodeled mid 19th century Creole town houses, a heated pool, and beautiful sky deck, The Frenchmen offers a unique blend of modern comfort, contemporary fun, and historic class. Boutique without the fuss, The Frenchmen offers a variety of room types from lofted courtyard Queens to King Suites boasting private balconies on Frenchmen St. When the brass bands line up on the corner of Chartres and Frenchmen, be the first at the scene. Located right in the action, The Frenchmen offers unrivaled access to nightclubs, bars, and restaurants, putting both the French Quarter and Marigny neighborhoods at your fingertips. In addition to the heated pool, The Frenchmen provides free wi-fi for all guests, 24 hour complimentary coffee, tea, and bottled water service, as well as gated and covered parking for a nightly fee. We also welcome pets under 50lb. with deposit, and serve complimentary breakfast every morning in our gallery. Planning a party, group adventure, wedding, or event? The Frenchmen is the perfect home for your soiree, and our staff prides itself on concierge and planning services. Get to know New Orleans hassle-free and enjoy your dream vacation at ease. Contact the Front Desk 24/7 for more info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Frenchmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmen Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing