We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean, charming, convenient”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean, charming, convenient”
Reviewed January 29, 2011

We were delighted with the quality of the room - comfortable bed, lots of natural light, clean bathroom, fresh towels, flowers, and a carafe of water. Jill is a terrific hostess, greeting us every morning at breakfast, and available to answer our questions about the city and to give us advice on restaurants and getting around. The 3-day streetcar pass was all we needed - so glad we didn't rent a car. We toured the zoo, botanical and sculpture gardens, museum of art, the Jean Lafitte park headquarters which has a good display on NOLA history, and the Old New Orleans Rum Distillery. Of course - the French Quarter, the French Market, and the riverfront walk, and the mansion-lined streets of the Garden District. At night we would return to our cozy room at the Chimes and sleep soundly on the brass bed under the fluffy comforter. Blissful. The Chimes is located in an attractive, safe neighborhood close to both the bus and streetcar, and within walking distance to restaurants, shops, pharmacy and bank. Roses in the garden and an owl hooting in the early morning. Charming!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 04103Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    17
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
72
166
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Perfect location for us- took St Charles streetcar for all of our sight seeing and night life- from Canal to Oak St. Took advantage of all Magazine St has to offer on foot. Charming room with light-filled bath and comfy bed. Room opened up onto lovely courtyard. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MississippiMama17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2010

We had such a lovely time at The Chimes. The hosts are so friendly and gracious that you feel like you've known them forever. They are incredibly knowledgeable about the dining scene in New Orleans which is great for their visitors. They can make great suggestions and cheerfully make reservations for you. Our room was quite comfortable and looked onto a small courtyard. The location of the The Chimes is fantastic only three blocks from Magazine Street - a great shopping and dining street. The breakfast was just perfect, juice, teas, coffee, fresh French pastries, cheeses, breads. The meal is served family style at a long dining table where guests and the hosts and neighbors who happen to drop by mingle companionably. All in all, it was a wonderful experience for us, and we look forward to staying with Jill and Charles again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikkandwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Stayed at the Chimes with my partner over Thanksgiving and was completely charmed by this lovely home and by gracious hosts Jill and Charles. I grew up in New Orleans and the house itself is a perfect example of old N.O. uptown style -- soaring floor-to-ceiling windows, high ceilings, adorable brick patio. Our room was quiet and comfortable, and we spent one warm peaceful evening with a glass of wine on the little swing on the patio, listening to the crickets.

Jill and Charles were excellent hosts, serving a breakfast that was filling and tasty but not overly heavy, with strong local coffee and chicory! On discovering that I'm a native of the city Jill even pulled out digital images she'd gotten recently of surveyors' drawings from the 19th century and gave us copies, some of which I will print and have framed for my relatives.

The location is terrific, by the way -- a quiet, safe neighborhood which is good for walking and quite close to the restaurants and shops of Magazine St. We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

I stayed at the Chimes with four colleagues. Our work schedule called for early morning wake-ups and late night work sessions. Jill arranged for breakfast when we needed it and for use of the dining room as a work space at night. She could not have been more accommodating. Her restaurant recommendations were accurate and nearby; the local food was reasonably priced and delicious. I read somewhere that the rooms were noisy. That was NOT my experience. I slept quite comfortably with the window open and did not notice noise from other rooms or from the outside. The breakfasts were extraordinary and Jill and Charles are very charming hosts. I cannot imagine how our experience could have been improved. There are many places I can stay in New Orleans, but there is only one place I will stay: the Chimes. Jill, I cannot wait until the next time business brings me to NO. Thank you for everything. Ralph

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Breakfast was delicious, with all the fresh breads, croissansa and muffins. the fresh fruit was such a treat! We enjoyed the courtyard .. your lovely house colors and the touches of the old architecture ..It was spectacular. we had so much fun sitting out there at night with a bottle of wine with family enjoying the beautiful weather. We are looking forward to staying with you again and being able to go on the antebellum home tour.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethT0646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
150 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

The Chimes is perfectly located away from the French Quarter, but near the trendy shopping/restaurant district of Magazine Street. (To easily get to Bourbon Street fun, just take a 20-minute ride on the historic St. Charles Avenue streetcar, which is just a couple blocks away from Chimes.) Our room was just off a back courtyard, quiet, beautifully decorated, clean, and extremely comfortable. We stayed in Room 4... you can check the Chimes website for excellent photos and even a video of each room--very accurate! Jill and Charles are friendly and full of advice about the area... places to eat, shop, etc.... and will help with reservations, transit passes, tour information, and whatever else you need. There is a house kitty, Julius, who is rather shy, so no problem if you don't care for cats. A continental breakfast is served each morning... cheeses, French bread, pastries, fruit, sometimes yogurt or other items for variety (we stayed for 4 nights and had breakfast there each morning -- mostly because it was SO convenient and it was delightful to talk with Jill or Charles and the rest of the b&b's guests!)
This is a quiet neighborhood setting... so if you are looking for an area with wild nights and raucous bars, this is not the spot for you. But if you would like a beautiful place to rest after long hours of touring, shopping, dining, and drinking--Chimes is perfect. There is even an "honor" refrig. full of soft drinks, beer, and wine for a late-night drink on the courtyard outside your room, if you are not quite ready for bed.
From Chimes, you can easily walk to Magazine Street, the Magazine Street bus line, and the St. Charles Avenue streetcar... a perfect location for exploring what New Orleans has to offer, without total immersion into the craziness of the Quarter.
Restaurant recommendations? We loved 2 that were near the Chimes: The Petite Grocery and Ignatius... one high end and one very funky. Both fun!
My husband and I highly recommend the Chimes.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Notjustanyhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
239 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
296 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 138 in New Orleans
926 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#23 of 138 in New Orleans
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimes Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1146 Constantinople St., New Orleans, LA 70115-2759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where you stay in New Orleans, matters. The Chimes is a hidden gem just off St. Charles Avenue in the residential Garden District/Uptown neighborhood. Restaurants, coffee houses and shops are within walking distance of this unique, private spot. The owners are on site with a singular goal: to make you feel comfortable and at home in their city. Five private guest rooms open to a courtyard that is beautiful, quiet and speaks of historic New Orleans. Queen size beds, shiny hard wood floors, private bathrooms, full breakfast, no stairs, French doors, stocked refrigerator and oh, so much more. New Orleans has cachet and when you stay at the Chimes Bed and Breakfast, you will feel it. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chimes b&b
Chimes Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing