We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chimes Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We loved our stay at The Chimes. Our rooms were perfect for the 5 days we spent in New Orleans. They were spacious and beautifully outfitted. The bed was so comfortable and all the comforts of home are supplied. The breakfasts were so tasty and Jill was a fountain of information regarding best places to dine at and visit. It is a short and easy walk through the beautiful Garden District to the tram from the Chimes. We enjoyed our time in New Orleans and The Chimes was one of the best places we stayed at during our 30 day trip across America.

Room Tip: We stayed in Guest Room 2 and it was a perfect size for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kime2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
After just visiting your country you felt like family to us. We hope your American stay was great and we'll certainly meet again on either Continent. All the best......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    17
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
67
160
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The Chimes is a wonderful place to stay. Jill & Charles have cracked the code on hospitality. Beautiful place, great location, fabulous hosts. You can't go wrong with The Chimes. Tripadvisor is being a pain in the butt requiring 200 characters so I added this last sentence.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hemanwomanh8er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Our guests are the best, of the best!. Thank you for staying with us and posting it!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We had 2 rooms for larger family and we all had a wonderful time. Rooms were very comfortable, breakfast was lovely, and Jill was a delight. Good neighborhood too that was convenient to everything. We will definitely go back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for posting a note about your experience at the Chimes B&B. It was wonderful hosting your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

I am reluctant to share this gem because I want it available whenever I go to NOLA in the future. I can't give enough praise to Jill and Charles; they treated us like family. Jill gave us all kinds of tips about transportation, fantastic restaurants and nightlife that can only come from an insider. The breakfast was delicious every day. I would recommend walking around the neighborhood or renting bicycles to get a feeling for the neighborhood. Magazine Street is very close by with all kinds of great restaurants and quaint shops. St. Charles Avenue is also very close if you want to take a street car. We enjoyed going to Publiq House and fell in love with it and a new band called "Brass-a-holics" thanks to Jill's recommendation. I love this place. Thanks Jill and Charles

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank th1world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
We hope your Honeymoon was great and that you will be back every year to celebrate your marriage. You are a delightful couple. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

The rooms are clean, beautiful and thoughtfully supplied with information on sights, local restaurants, transportation, etc. Jill is just fantastic---her suggestions for evenings of jazz and other music were great and she really knows good restaurants. It was easy to walk to the streetcar and close to Magazine Street for food and shopping. Good breakfasts every day as well. I recommend The Chimes highly.

Room Tip: Room 2 is very spacious but all of the rooms are comfortable, clean and charming. We moved to a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpeders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice recommendation. We continue, due to the kindness of people like you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed staying at the Chimes Bed and Breakfast because the location is close to the St. Charles Streetcar and also Magazine St., which has many good shops and restaurants. Our hostess, Jill gave us many great tips about where to find attractions and music venues. The room was quiet and comfortable and the breakfasts were wonderful, too.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FtLauderdale-Merlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I was attending a large convention and every room in the city was booked, so I looked for a B & B, but they were booked too. The Chimes had a cancellation, a very happy occurrence for me. I have never stayed in the Garden District before, and wasn't sure I would enjoy it, but I'm so glad I did. The Chimes is a lovely, quaint, clean place to stay. Jill has a gift for creating warm, welcoming, comfortable, relaxing spaces. She is also very engaging and attends to every detail, even providing a gluten-free breakfast and making excellent dining recommendations within walking distance. The courtyard is charming and the rooms are actually little cabanas nestled around the courtyard making it very private, yet everything is convenient. This will be my go-to place for future NOLA conventions. Thank you, Jill, for making my stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,884 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#20 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimes Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1146 Constantinople St., New Orleans, LA 70115-2759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chimes Bed and Breakfast has been serving guests since 1986. The five individual guest rooms, with private entrances opening on to a tropical New Orleans style brick courtyard, are well appointed and comfortable. The Chimes is located in the residential Garden District/Uptown neighborhood where restaurants, coffee houses and shops are within walking distance. The owners are on site offering advise on restaurants,music and venues, tours, workout facilities and specific detailed information you need. Come home to the Chimes in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chimes b&b
Chimes Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing